New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

SpaceEngine

SpaceEngineerSpaceEngineer Posts: 47
Brain Burst
edited March 2016 in Games and Apps
1310701.jpg

Hi there! I am Vladimir Romanyuk aka "SpaceEngineer", here my project called SpaceEngine. It is a 3D space simulator with procedural Universe generation. It features real-scale planets with 3D landscape, physically based generation of solar systems, real-scale generation of galaxies and entire Universe structure. All transitions are seamless, you can land on any planet and explore it, then take off and fly to another galaxy. Known astronomical objects are also here, including ultra-high resolution textures for Solar system planets and moons (20+ gigs, available as separate download).

This engine is in a form of a free space exploration planetarium, but I am going to make a game based on it. It will feature realistic physics and exploration based gameplay. More info on the forum (look for a sticky threads). Space ships are already implemented, with basic physics and controls.

Website and forum: http://en.spaceengine.org/

Main program: download (960 Mb)
Hi-res Solar system textues: coming soon

Trailer:



This version should work with Oculus Rift DK1. I have only DK1, but I tried to make DK2 support by feedback from beta testers. Here is a relatively old dev video for DK1 (warning it may make you sick iw watch in Rift):



To run in Oculus, first switch it to the extended desktop mode. Then run SpaceEngine, fly there a bit using monitor :) Learn controls, they are easy: WASD + left mouse drag mouse to move, mouse wheel changes speed, click to select object, G key to fly to it (double G for faster flight), and F2 key to bring up the planets list (left and right mouse click to navigate). Advanced controls including speedup and reverse the time flow: JKL and Space keys. You always can use a toolbars, but in Oculus you probably will close them. After this, configure a joystick. Needed actions are move, rotare and chage the speed (very important!).

Then go to Display settings menu (Ctrl-F8) and choose Oculus Rift mode. Moving the window to the Rift is easy: just hit Shift-Enter. Don't forget to toggle fullscreen (Alt-Enter). To move the window back, hit Shift-Enter again. Note that mouse cursor must be in the window to allow rotation and GUI navigation.

If SE crashes on attempt to enable Oculus mode. So you are have AMD graphics card, aren't you? Try to disable mipmaps generation for the framebuffer texture. Open the config/user.cfg and change these parameters to false:
EnableMipmapsGUI false
EnableMipmapsFrame false
EnableMipmapsWarp false
The last parameter could fix crashes on approaching black holes, neutron stars and white dwarfs. Disabling mipmaps reduces quality, but at least fixes crashes.
PS: does anybody know how to implement a CRASH FREE manual shader-based mipmaps generation on ATI on OpenGL? I had a problems with it since the beginning.

There a lot of things what should be done for perfect support of the Rift. The main task is obtaining a DK2, but this is hard because I live in Russia - the country where Oculus did not ship their devices. Other issues are bad tracking latency and lack of direct mode support. I using OpenGL in SpaceEngine and can't make it work in direct mode. Lack of good OpenGL example code is also an issue. Also this release was built with 0.4.3 SDK, because I has weird glitches with the 0.4.4. Interface should be completely reworked to use in Rift, this probably will be made in the next version.

But anyway experience in Rift is just amazing. I hope a nice feedback from this community. Enjoy!
«134

Comments

  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    Great work.

    For the YouTube tag, use just the video code (the part after the &v=).
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • bud01bud01 Posts: 169
    Hiro Protagonist
    edited December 2014
    cybereality is there any way to get this guy a dk2, there comes a point when some one deserves an olive branch.

    I read about this guy, he has a huge loyal following and look at his product ffs, if this kind of guy cant get a dk2 then whats the point of any one doing vr in life.

    Vladimir are you saying you have tired all means at your disposal to get a dk2 and you are completely unable to get one?

    I read it was possible to get a dk2 through a vendor that special Oculus partnered with?


    All jokes aside this is a pretty bad sate of affairs when guys like this guy who are basically on totally the right wave length are punished by regional local.

    can some one from Oculus post what is the current global status regarding shipping.

    Vladimir what about taking a flight to a region that supports inbound delivery and confirm ahead of time that customs would not be an issue between that country and Russia?

    Sorry to keep going on about it, but just a small part of me here is quite upset this guy cant dev, he is defiantly worthy to have a dk2, he should be being paid sponsored and backed to push forward vr never mind about him posting here saying he cant get a dk2, this is disgusting.

    Has any one actually composed a list of regions not deliverable by Oculus and then matched that with products which would be liked to be dev'ed

    Did the guy that make city car driver ever manage to get a dk2? he was from Russia as well.

    Vladimir please make sure continue what you are doing for Space Engine, I really hope some one at Oculus reviews your work and then get some thing arranged.
  • bud01bud01 Posts: 169
    Hiro Protagonist
    we cant look back in 3 or 4 years and remember that this space engine guy did not get any support from the community and was left out in the cold and had no support to get a dk2.

    Its no good the guy getting a CV1 in 15 months or what ever.

    cybereality can you ask around the office there what is required that this guy gets a dk2, does he need to ship it to another region then go to that region, what route can he take if any at all.


    Look at this product and were it could be in 3 years, its a 30 to 100million dollar vr application ffs.

    this guy is not just some standard dev, he is hugely impressive and worthy of respect,

    Vladimir set up some kind of donation page for your flight to pick up a dk2 or some thing, there are many people that will donate.

    Wish this guy lived in the US, Oculus would be all over him.
  • NEO_RACERNEO_RACER Posts: 127
    Hiro Protagonist
    If this had headtracking...holy cow..even now its impressive, keep up the good work
  • SpaceEngineerSpaceEngineer Posts: 47
    Brain Burst
    bud01 wrote:
    Vladimir what about taking a flight to a region that supports inbound delivery and confirm ahead of time that customs would not be an issue between that country and Russia?

    I have got DK1 in this way. I come to Finland, and take it from a guy who has ordered it to himself. Finland is really close to my sity (Saint-Petersburg), going there for one-day trip in the bus is something around $50. I just needed to renew my visa (another $50).
  • bud01bud01 Posts: 169
    Hiro Protagonist
    Is there any one else here that wants to support this guy getting a Dk2?

    I am down for donating to him 75$ but id like to see some one else also donate and if some one from Oculus could make any care towards the guys order.

    Please if we all see some dev making some magic happen support them, that's the whole point its not just about money its about doing things right by VR to the best of your ability.

    Vladimir I see you have a donate page, I am going to send 75$ now please hold this back towards the Dk2 and these aspects you are mentioning.

    hugely disappointed with the community that dec 2014 im still reading this guy does not have a flipping dk2,... whose job is it at Oculus to scot for promising apps/games and provide some level of support.

    Vladimir please keep us updated how you get on and great work on your space engine its a real highlight of my day I get to help you, thanks for taking the time out from your day for posting here its very much appreciated. You have a great and warm day there.

    ---
    Confirmation Number: 42G65505W0202173A Placed on 27 Dec 2014
    Purpose Donation amount
    Support SpaceEngine $75.00 USD

    Total Amount: $75.00 USD
  • govnygovny Posts: 105
    Hiro Protagonist
    already done long time ago.

    it's been released the 0.9.7.2 version with the oculus support.
    I have tryied but doesn't work.
  • richhard1richhard1 Posts: 606
    Art3mis
    Yeah, tried it too, doesn't work. Got it to load up on the monitor, won't accept oculus output. Hope it's fixed soon!
    I7-4790K - GTX980ti - 32GB - PB287Q - G502 - A50 - GAMEZ4RO - G19s - E17k - Xonar7.1 - Xenyx502 - AT2050 - H105 - T300RS - XBox1Elite - X55- 4K/DK2/CV1/VIVE
  • SpaceEngineerSpaceEngineer Posts: 47
    Brain Burst
    Thank you bud01, received. I'll look into a ways of going to Finland soon.
  • HornetHornet Posts: 82
    Hiro Protagonist
    Awesome, a lot of thanks SpaceEngineer

    It would be nice to create keyboard shortcuts for konvergence (distance of cameras) but AWESOME !!! Interesting - it is the used near completely screen the FOV is awesome, real good Rift implementation. Oculus please HIRE THIS MAN !!!!
  • richhard1richhard1 Posts: 606
    Art3mis
    It's broken dude, no dk2 support
    I7-4790K - GTX980ti - 32GB - PB287Q - G502 - A50 - GAMEZ4RO - G19s - E17k - Xonar7.1 - Xenyx502 - AT2050 - H105 - T300RS - XBox1Elite - X55- 4K/DK2/CV1/VIVE
  • HornetHornet Posts: 82
    Hiro Protagonist
    Its working with DK2 absolutely problemless (4.3 software) IT IS WORKING WITH DK2 ! One from the best experiences in Rift
  • Protocol7Protocol7 Posts: 297
    Nexus 6
    It works beautifully on my system using a DK2, headtracking is working too. I am using extended mode and I have set the rift as my main display in windows. In SpaceEngine I selected fullscreen 1920x1080 @ 75Hz and Oculus Rift.

    Thank you SpaceEngineer, this is incredibly amazing.
  • SpaceEngineerSpaceEngineer Posts: 47
    Brain Burst
    Hornet wrote:
    It would be nice to create keyboard shortcuts for konvergence (distance of cameras) but AWESOME !!!

    Shift + mouse wheel
    Protocol7 wrote:
    I am using extended mode and I have set the rift as my main display in windows. In SpaceEngine I selected fullscreen 1920x1080 @ 75Hz and Oculus Rift.

    You may use Shift-Enter in SE to switch to the secondary display.
  • richhard1richhard1 Posts: 606
    Art3mis
    doesn't work here on my dk2, every other game/demo works fine, tried contacting customer support, they just don't want to know.
    I7-4790K - GTX980ti - 32GB - PB287Q - G502 - A50 - GAMEZ4RO - G19s - E17k - Xonar7.1 - Xenyx502 - AT2050 - H105 - T300RS - XBox1Elite - X55- 4K/DK2/CV1/VIVE
  • SpaceEngineerSpaceEngineer Posts: 47
    Brain Burst
    richhard1 wrote:
    doesn't work here on my dk2, every other game/demo works fine, tried contacting customer support, they just don't want to know.
    I added a notice how to fix that in the OP.
  • govnygovny Posts: 105
    Hiro Protagonist
    richhard1 wrote:
    doesn't work here on my dk2, every other game/demo works fine, tried contacting customer support, they just don't want to know.
    I added a notice how to fix that in the OP.

    now it works, thanks.
    That's great.
  • richhard1richhard1 Posts: 606
    Art3mis
    richhard1 wrote:
    doesn't work here on my dk2, every other game/demo works fine, tried contacting customer support, they just don't want to know.
    I added a notice how to fix that in the OP.

    great, I've tried that now and works beautifully. thank you!
    I7-4790K - GTX980ti - 32GB - PB287Q - G502 - A50 - GAMEZ4RO - G19s - E17k - Xonar7.1 - Xenyx502 - AT2050 - H105 - T300RS - XBox1Elite - X55- 4K/DK2/CV1/VIVE
  • NEO_RACERNEO_RACER Posts: 127
    Hiro Protagonist
    DK2 DOES work, it didn't first time I tried but I had another go and BAM it works. Shift+Enter to pop it into the rifts view. Wish I could hide the menu frame around the edge -is there any way?? Ctrl-~ only gets rid of the gui text not the actual menu, it kinda ruins the view to have it on all the time, otherwise looks amazingg
  • SpaceEngineerSpaceEngineer Posts: 47
    Brain Burst
    AAAAAA wrote:
    Wish I could hide the menu frame around the edge -is there any way?? Ctrl-~ only gets rid of the gui text not the actual menu, it kinda ruins the view to have it on all the time, otherwise looks amazingg
    Press the pin button (small circle near the edge).
  • NEO_RACERNEO_RACER Posts: 127
    Hiro Protagonist
    Thank u sir! It truly boggles my mind how you were able to create this its truly a masterpiece of coding & vision!
  • LV426LV426 Posts: 72
    Hiro Protagonist
    AAAAAA wrote:
    Thank u sir! It truly boggles my mind how you were able to create this its truly a masterpiece of coding & vision!

    I echo user AAAAAA ...

    I am blown away with this. Im using the DK2 and wow, just wow :o The flag icon with its many locations are truly beautiful! :shock: To the developer: You Sir are truly gifted. Thank you for sharing your work with the rest of us. Amazing coding and vision as the above poster also points out!

    Everyone should try this.

    Thank you thank you...!
    Intel Core I7-3770K OC 4.2ghz Intel® High Performance Liquid Cooling MSI Z77A-GD65 Crucial DDR3 BallistiX 16GB Kingston HyperX SSD MSI GTX 980 Twin Frozr. DK2
  • HappyHimitsuHappyHimitsu Posts: 990
    Art3mis
    I really want to try this, but the game won't start at all even with a re-install.
    I've tried running in extended, Rift as primary, and everything else I can think of but nada.

    I'm running Nvidia GTX 780 so it's not the AMD issue obv...

    Looks so awesome, I want to see it work lol!!!

    :D

    Edit: NVM figured it out, running as admin in win 8.1 did the trick.
    This is amazing. Simply amazing. All it needs is a de-coupled GUI that we can look around at, and the ability to disable it altogether for immersion purposes and we would be golden.
    Excellent work OP! :)
    “If you are willing to look at another person’s behavior toward you as a reflection of the state of their relationship with themselves rather than a statement about your value as a person, then you will, over a period of time cease to react at all.”
    (~I really gotta remember this shiz~)
    ― Yogi Bhajan
  • SpaceEngineerSpaceEngineer Posts: 47
    Brain Burst
    HappyHimitsu, press pin buttons on the GUI toolbars to hide them.
    Why no one understand how to do this? Is it counter-intuitive?

    PS: how to force this forum to remember my login? I bothered to enter email and password each time I trying to write a reply.
  • HappyHimitsu, press pin buttons on the GUI toolbars to hide them.
    Why no one understand how to do this? Is it counter-intuitive?

    PS: how to force this forum to remember my login? I bothered to enter email and password each time I trying to write a reply.

    I wasn't able to see the pin buttons very well, since A: the GUI toolbars are locked to the user's view and it can be difficult or straining to move my eyes to those corners of the screen, and B: the screen-door effect, specifically in that it makes smaller icons difficult to see or figure out what they are.

    In regards to the forum password thing, I share your frustration. I wish they would fix that.

    And I do have to say, I've been a Space Engine fan for many years now. It's simply incredible to experience your creation in VR!
  • SpaceEngineerSpaceEngineer Posts: 47
    Brain Burst
    sjblake83 wrote:
    I wasn't able to see the pin buttons very well, since A: the GUI toolbars are locked to the user's view and it can be difficult or straining to move my eyes to those corners of the screen, and B: the screen-door effect, specifically in that it makes smaller icons difficult to see or figure out what they are.

    Just hide them in usual (not Rift) mode.
    sjblake83 wrote:
    And I do have to say, I've been a Space Engine fan for many years now. It's simply incredible to experience your creation in VR!

    Thank you! :)
  • FengShuiEngineFengShuiEngine Posts: 32
    Brain Burst
    I love Space Engine, I can't wait to try it on the Rift!
  • SpaceEngineerSpaceEngineer Posts: 47
    Brain Burst
    Oculus SDK bug report

    I am using Visual Studio 2013 and found that libovr made SpaceEngine incompatible with Windows XP. SpaceEngine simple won't run with the error message like this:

    Can not find entry point "InitializeCriticalSectionEx" procedure in the dynamic link library KERNEL32.dll.

    Unfortunately I detected what causes the issue only today, almost a month after SE release (I will made a patch soon).

    I installed Windows XP and installed the latest Visual Studio available on it (2010). Compiled using the lib files provided with SDK, and it works. So I decided to check compatibility of all new libraries (static and dynamic) what I am using in this SE version. They are SDL, libbpg and libovr, and the last was the cause.

    So, libovr developers, please make the next SDK version compatible with Windows XP! Just compile VS2013 lib files (and maybe VS2012 ones - don't know about that) with the configuration v120_xp (Project properties -> General -> Platform Toolset). And probably you can remove usage of the old DirectX SDK headers, because it won't compile without them in this configuration (I was forced to install a 4.5 years old July 2010 DirectX SDK). I am using OpenGL, so it is badly that I can't compile the library without DX. Maybe it is possible to create a profiles/build options/defines that can switch libovr to clear OpenGL? I saw that libovr already used defines for DX versions, so why not adding the OpenGL one.

    Edit: fixed typos.
  • bud01bud01 Posts: 169
    Hiro Protagonist
    Hi
    wanted to ask community following question.

    I had a small issue with my first dk2, so bought another one.

    When I contacted support they said there was a work around to get my first dk2 unit working, by just connecting a standard USB cable to it

    Here is the situation, the very thin SYNC link cable between the tracker and that little box on the cable near the PC, the end bit snapped off.

    Well I just checked with my second Dk2 kit by disconnecting at the display (slid plastic down) and connected it with the first Dk2 and it is fully working.Oculus have said they are going to send me a replacement cable.

    What I might do is go to maplin on the way home and get this macro usb cable and see if possible to connect straight from PC to DK2 (first one) , obviously HDMI cable is fine to device from back of 980.

    Space Engineer, I have a main body Dk2 fully working here let me know your address or place I can send it and Ill send it any place globally shipping totally free, also if you need any train fair to go collect it ill try to help that.


    [I did some pictures so can see what I am talking about]
    I will send every thing in the picture.

    bEEkbTbl.jpg
    xSVkYCUl.jpg
    uyseUnil.jpg
    TdSkjdol.jpg
    YknefJ3l.jpg
    Uolf9Vil.jpg
    bZ5pcRAl.jpg
  • bud01bud01 Posts: 169
    Hiro Protagonist
    Space Engineer,

    I will verify I have a full kit dk2 working, it looks like I need to buy a new link cable ( I have working example cable so can take to maplin on Friday lunch time)

    Can you arrange a safe delivery address it would be good to deliver to, also train fare estimate, I can cover up to $60 if it means the Space Engineer does get a Dk2.

    ---


    Ticket fef from Oculus support.(#79267

    This sounds like something that can be fixed very easily. While the HDMI/USB combo cable looks like something that cannot be replaced, you are able to remove both plugs from the front end of the HMD.

    You can then replace with your own USB and HDMI cables. The Sync cable can plug directly into the HMD as well, so you will not need the sync box.

    Let me know if you have any questions!

    William H.
    -




    thanks all
    bud
Sign In or Register to comment.