"The Climb" wont start on headset, gives error "Sorry you are having issues starting The Climb" — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

"The Climb" wont start on headset, gives error "Sorry you are having issues starting The Climb"

captaintripscaptaintrips Posts: 313
Hiro Protagonist
Just purchased "The Climb" and it's the only app that's causing any issue... all other apps/games/oculus home open no problem.

Displays error in headset "Sorry we are having issues starting the climb. Please check your desktop for any menus, options or errors required to run the game". I've tried unistalling the game and reinstalling.

system specs: 

Intel 5960x 8-core
EVGA X99 FTW, latest bios
(2) Nvidia Titan X 12GB gpu's (SLI disabled for Oculus), latest NVidia drivers installed
64GB DDR4 ram
Windows 10 with latest updates

I've tried rebooting, uninstalling game, reinstalling, rebooting again, still same issue. Any work arounds?

Comments

  • captaintripscaptaintrips Posts: 313
    Hiro Protagonist
    additional note:   though the headset displays that error, I can see the preview window of the game on the desktop monitor and it seems to be running fine, and detecting the face sensor of the rift (if I hold finger over sensor, preview window goes black, if I lift finger off sensor, I can see game and tracking working correctly on desktop monitor.
  • mambo1888mambo1888 Posts: 796
    Neo
    When you disable SLI are you using the same card for both monitor and the rift or a card for each? Not sure if it would make a difference either way but might be worth trying. 
  • jusbottjusbott Posts: 108
    Art3mis
    edited May 2016
    I had this and just reset pc then it worked. Sorry I know that won't help you has you have already tried this also check your antivirus isn't blocking it has I read a few places that this could be a cause and fix for it.
  • captaintripscaptaintrips Posts: 313
    Hiro Protagonist
    edited May 2016
    mambo:  thought of the same thing. I do leave SLI off so I can use hdmi ports on both cards (video ports do not work on second card if SLI is on, at least to my knowledge). On my top primary Titan X, (1) HDMI port is being used for my 4k LG monitor and (1) displayport used for my Vive.  On the bottom second Titan X GPU, only the (1) hdmi is being used for the Rift.

    I actually unplugged my LG monitor and Vive, and plugged the rift into the HDMI on the 1st card (no other video connections to either card except for that) when testing, reset Oculus settings, rebooted PC... still same issue. I even reinstalled Nvidias latest driver  via clean install(released May 2nd), made sure SLI was off, no special configuration, rebooted, same problem.


    It's strangest thing, because other than this specific game,  Rift/Oculus Home and all other games and apps work flawlessly. During setup, when it asked me to select what drive I wanted to install it to, I selected my game drive (d:), and I see all the game files installed under the Oculus software folder.

    I thought maybe it was my Vive or Leap motion interfering with it, so I disabled all those services and unplugged them, but still same issue. Nothing else special or plugged in to cause any issues.

    Literally just like the Rift doesn't detect the game to output to headest. Game launches fine and looks fine on desktop in rift preview screen, can see it tracking head movement and sensors. Also, all rift hardware has recent firmware.

    Was going to ask on crytek KB forum, but they stated to inquire with Oculus support.
  • mambo1888mambo1888 Posts: 796
    Neo
    Not sure what it could be mate sorry. You dont have VorpX or similar running, I know that stops proper Rift games from loading if thats on (I guess you've not as you would have noticed it with other games)
  • captaintripscaptaintrips Posts: 313
    Hiro Protagonist
    edited May 2016
    mambo1888 said:
    Not sure what it could be mate sorry. You dont have VorpX or similar running, I know that stops proper Rift games from loading if thats on (I guess you've not as you would have noticed it with other games)



    Yep, I've made sure any configuration (hardware or application, even down to firewall/av) that could interfere or cause issue has been eliminated or ruled out.

    All UE4 games run perfect, no issue. All other Oculus Apps and stuff (eve valkyrie, luckys tale, farlands, video, Henry, Ocean Rift, Lost, dreamdeck, jaunt, etc etc). All fine.

    Must be a issue with Cryengine and Oculus client somewhere. Hmmm. Will investigate further when I get home.
  • captaintripscaptaintrips Posts: 313
    Hiro Protagonist
    @Cybereality (or anyone from Oculus support team)... anything you might be able to suggest? Any logs from diags that I might be able to copy to help determine what the issue might be?
  • HanoverHanover Posts: 544
    Neo
    edited May 2016
    I get that message when a game takes more than a few seconds to start.  It happened to me with The Climb.  I just gave it about 30 seconds after receiving that message and it started anyways.  It ALWAYS does it on Elite Dangerous too.  Before removing your HMD, give it a few more seconds.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • SyntheticSynthetic Posts: 704
    Trinity
    I know this is a bit silly but you tried disabling second card in device manager
    or actually taking it out mobo?
  • captaintripscaptaintrips Posts: 313
    Hiro Protagonist
    @cybereality ;

    Thanks much for the quick response :)

    As requested, attached are the diag files. Just looking at the AutoAnalysis log file in the gatherer tool shows clear issues with "The Climb" launching.


    @synthetic

    Haven't tried completely disabling the second card yet (just disabling SLI via NVidia control panel, of course) but I will and will update if that resolved.


  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    OK, I'll have someone take a look.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • captaintripscaptaintrips Posts: 313
    Hiro Protagonist
    edited May 2016
    Synthetic said:
    I know this is a bit silly but you tried disabling second card in device manager
    or actually taking it out mobo?

    @Synthetic ;

    YOU, SIR, ARE A GENIUS. THIS WORKED!!!

    I disabled the 2nd GPU entirely in the Device Manager, so Windows didn't even recognize the second Titan X installed. I connected the Rift to the HDMI on the single GPU that was still enabled (unfortunately, my LG TV had to be unplugged because it was using that port). I also unplugged the Vive from the displayport on that card. Then I rebooted my PC... start up "The Climb" (had to blindly type in my windows password as I had no monitor, lol), put on the headset, it went to oculus home, started the climb, saw the loading screen, and then... boom.... right into the game no issues.

    While this is a workaround, I can't see this being a permanent fix. That would mean I would have to disable that card, unhook all but the rift, re-hook the rift to the hdmi port on the single gpu, and be monitorless (my LG TV does not support displayport). Would be huge pain in the butt to have to do each and everytime I wanted to play that game (which is actually pretty awesome from the half-hour I played)

    @cybereality
    Seems that Oculus Client and Cryengine games have issues getting the game to the headset display on machines that have dual-gpu's, and only workaround is disabling the second gpu completely (not just disable SLI if its enabled, but completely disable the device in Windows Device Manager. Maybe Oculus could look at patching this in future, pretty please? :smiley: 


    EDIT:  Yep, looks like a couple more Apps dislike having more than one GPU in the machine. Video and 360 Photo give the same warning in the headset, only they show this error on the desktop when run:

    "Multi-GPU LUID Mismatch - This Application requires the Oculus Rift to be plugged into the primary video adapter. Please Plug your rift into the other HDMI port, or switch your primary monitor to be the one connected to the same video adapter as your rift." 

    Which is sad, because the Titan X only has a single HDMI port, and my Rift and LG TV monitor can only use HDMI, thus I have to plug each one into a different card. Hope Oculus can resolve this in the future.


  • VRaciousVRacious Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    I am having this issue too.  My 970 only has a single HDMI and I have this hooked to my TV for spectating also over HDMI on the integrated adapter.  Other games work fine but The Climb fails in this way.  Actually, I don't even get video on the display, it just soon crashes after some sound effects of the intro with DXGI_ERROR_DEVICE_REMOVED and needs a force quit on the desktop.

    If I disable the integrated card in the Device Manager, then I get past that error, only to be presented with the skin-tone selection but it doesn't respond to any of the xbox controller's buttons except when the Home button preempts back to Oculus Activity screen.  The controller works fine everywhere else.

    The Climb support says they haven't seen this issue in their test setups.
  • DoctorFateDoctorFate Posts: 168
    Art3mis
    I know it's not the climb, but I am experiencing the same issue with Pinball FX.  It is so frustrating as this was a game I was truly excited for.  Every other game is working perfectly, but every single time I try to load this sucker it fails saying: "A problem caused the program to stop working correctly.  Windows will close the program and notify you if a solution is available" and on the headset itself it simply warns me it is taking a longer time then it should and that I might need to check messages on my CPU.  I don't get it at all.  I have a brand new Oculus ready Alienware computer and shouldn't have any issues.  Any thoughts anyone has for me?
  • amayes.meamayes.me Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    Same issue with Pinball FX, Oculus 360 Videos and Photos. Also a brand new Alienware rig...
  • paesanpaesan Posts: 51
    Hiro Protagonist
    amayes.me said:
    Same issue with Pinball FX, Oculus 360 Videos and Photos. Also a brand new Alienware rig...

    I have dual 970 cards with sli disabled and had the same issues with those games. I was able to get around the app failing to load  by connecting my monitor using a dvi connection and connecting the rift to the hdmi connection on the same card. I don't have anything connected to the other card.
    I am also having the xbox controller issue where the only button that responds is the home button.
    The app failing to load issue in a dual graphic card setup needs to be addressed because many users run dual graphic cards.
    Intel i7 7700k | Asus ROG Strix Z270E | G Skill Ripjaws 32GB 3200 | Asus GTX1080-O8G
    EVGA Supernova 850 G2 | Samsung 960 Pro M.2 500GB | Swiftech H240 X2 | WD Black 5TB | WD Black 4TB
    Toshiba 1TB | Corsair Graphite 760T | Windows 10 64 bit | Rift CV1 + Touch | StarTech 4 port PCI Express USB 3 - 5Gbps
  • RobHermansRobHermans Posts: 712
    3Jane
    @VRacious & @DoctorFate : you guys are not having the same issue as other posters in this thread. Don't use the HDMI on-board connection while the Rift is plugged into the HDMI on the gfx card. Both Rift and monitor/TV must be connected to the same video card. (The other posters in this thread are already doing that.)


  • VRaciousVRacious Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    @RobHermans ;- What shows on the TV when the Rift is in use when you use the same graphics card for both devices?  I don't have a DVI to HDMI adapter laying around to try it and since my configuration works for most other games, not supporting this configuration without extra dongles seems like a bug that needs fixing in those games or in CryEngine.  (But I get that there might be nuances among the symptoms.)
  • RobHermansRobHermans Posts: 712
    3Jane
    edited May 2016
    VRacious said:
    @RobHermans ;- What shows on the TV when the Rift is in use when you use the same graphics card for both devices?
    ...
    It's the same mirror view as when you use the other HDMI port. This solution is only aimed at users who have a problem when using that port. Clearly, if you don't have that problem there's no need to use an adapter.
  • brent161brent161 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    I am also having the same issue, and I have tried all of these fixes. None seem to work. I am on a laptop, so I can't actually change anything with the hdmi port. I would love to try this game out (the climb) but I keep having this issue and don't know what to do
  • hir0_pr0tag0nisthir0_pr0tag0nist Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    edited November 2016
    I am having the same problem when using multiple GPUs. I have SLI disabled and my monitor plugged into one GPU with the Oculus plugged into the other. This configuration causes my monitor to render what should be displayed on the Oculus, while the Oculus never displays the game at all. I've tried with many other games and do not have this issue. I am unwilling to alter my display GPU or display configuration just to play this game. If there is no fix or reasonable workaround, then I would like a refund, which would be unfortunate because this is a fun game. However, this thread is six months old, so it is a shame that this is still an issue for this game.
  • OpticKingOpticKing Posts: 1,185
    Wintermute
    I am unwilling to alter my display GPU or display configuration just to play this game. If there is no fix or reasonable workaround, then I would like a refund, which would be unfortunate because this is a fun game.
    If you're unwilling, then that's on you. You can't expect a refund because you won't change your configuration to the recommended one (since it would work just as well as your current one.) Just like people can't complain if they get a laptop (not supported) and it also doesn't work with the rift.
Sign In or Register to comment.