New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Been gone a while, some issues I have with CV1 versus Vive and also.. what happened to this forum??

karrtoonkarrtoon Posts: 120
Art3mis
Ok so I see a lot of things have changed here, I am a dev that would come here a lot over the years but have been gone the last 3 months. Where is the Unity/UE4 support section for devs? Where is cyberreality, dave, etc.. where can I leave feedback and bug reports I have found? It feels like this forum has regressed quite a bit. (let's choose functionality over form I say!)

I have been messing with the Vive for about a month now and just got the CV1 today. The first thing I noticed when I put it on is the edges have some seriouss lense distortion/stretching going on when you look around. I can see geometry on the edges of the FOV stretch, which does not happen on the Vive or DK2.

Second, it immediately felt like low persistence mode was off for some reason, all blacks feel very grey and there's a subtle blur when looking around. But I would say the slight lense warping issue on the edges is the most important at this time, It's subtle but noticeable. I think this could be fixed in software actually because something has changed here. Whoever eyeballed the new distortion setting and put them in for the new lenses was a bit off in his judgement.

Third, the instruction need to be better for removing the battery on the remote. It makes no mention of sliding the back plate off.

Finally, the calibration I did standing so it made the floor and me way too high in the Dreamdeck. I would recommend making it so it doesn't matter if you are seated or standing when calibrating. I did not see if it mentioned to sit down or not, but I could see this same issue happening to a lot of other people.

Hope this feedback is helpful, and I hope the forum is still the same great place it once was and I am just overlooking something.