cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VR in Classroom - Purchasing options

rlehman
Honored Guest
Hello everyone!  

I was hoping for some opinions/advice on the topic of VR in the classroom.  First a little background: my school district has multiple funding sources for Next Generation Learning Environments.  I am a STEM teacher at my school district and recently I have demoed my personal Rift for my Superintendent's office.  They have asked me to coordinate a new VR Program at our district and I have a budget of $200,000 to get the program up and running for this school year.  I am hopeful that everything will be ready by September 1st, but I am realistic and understand that there will likely be some wait time for certain products.  Here is what I plan to purchase:

Three Google Cardboard Expeditions Mobile Labs 
-Nexus 6P ($499 x 90)
-Google Cardboard ($12.50 x 90)
-Google Cardboard Storage Solutions ($4,500)

Two GEAR VR Mobile Lab  
-Samsung Galaxy S7 ($695 x 60)
-Gear VR ($100 x 60)
-Mobile Storage Cart ($4,000)
-GEAR VR App budget

FULL Oculus Rift VR/Computer Lab
-convert one current open computer lab at High School into open VR Lab for all teachers to share
-Oculus Rift VR Headset ($599 x 30)
-VR Computer System ($1449 x 30)
-Monitors (possible we already have 30 extra in district, if not $200 x 30)
-possible to get bundle discounts depending on availability
-Software budget