New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Touch Controller Concerns

AdralineAdraline Posts: 5
NerveGear
I have had my Rift for about a month now and have not regretted investing the money at all. I'm a student studying 3D environmental design and being able to craft worlds for VR is insane! I am so excited for the integration of the new touch controllers. After looking at them online, I saw that they ship with another motion tracking sensor. This got me thinking...How many USB ports are going to be needed to run this? I am literally using almost all of my ports as it is, hopefully the new sensor doesn't require USB 3.0 or I'm screwed. 

Comments

• TwoHedWlfTwoHedWlf Posts: 2,234 Valuable Player
    Adraline said:
    I have had my Rift for about a month now and have not regretted investing the money at all. I'm a student studying 3D environmental design and being able to craft worlds for VR is insane! I am so excited for the integration of the new touch controllers. After looking at them online, I saw that they ship with another motion tracking sensor. This got me thinking...How many USB ports are going to be needed to run this? I am literally using almost all of my ports as it is, hopefully the new sensor doesn't require USB 3.0 or I'm screwed. 
    Well...You're going to needs the same number as now, plus 1.

Actually, you should be able to run it without the second sensor, but you'll run into occlusion issues when you're facing away.  And USB 2 usually works fine.
  • RedRizlaRedRizla Posts: 6,989 Valuable Player
    edited September 2016