cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Touch Controller Concerns

Adraline
Honored Guest
I have had my Rift for about a month now and have not regretted investing the money at all. I'm a student studying 3D environmental design and being able to craft worlds for VR is insane! I am so excited for the integration of the new touch controllers. After looking at them online, I saw that they ship with another motion tracking sensor. This got me thinking...How many USB ports are going to be needed to run this? I am literally using almost all of my ports as it is, hopefully the new sensor doesn't require USB 3.0 or I'm screwed. 
41 REPLIES 41

Zenbane
MVP
MVP
Someone could just email Big Screen and ask them to release HMD logs >:)

falken76
Expert Consultant

Adraline said:

I have had my Rift for about a month now and have not regretted investing the money at all. I'm a student studying 3D environmental design and being able to craft worlds for VR is insane! I am so excited for the integration of the new touch controllers. After looking at them online, I saw that they ship with another motion tracking sensor. This got me thinking...How many USB ports are going to be needed to run this? I am literally using almost all of my ports as it is, hopefully the new sensor doesn't require USB 3.0 or I'm screwed. 

Do you not have a free PCI slot?  The USB 3 card they recommend is under $30 at Amazon.  That will give you more than enough of the required ports.

falken76
Expert Consultant

lovethis said: