cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why can't I use Gear VR while laying down?

TheMarco
Explorer
I'm completely baffled by the fact that the Gear VR cannot be used while laying down. I thought nothing would be nicer than to enjoy VR content, play games, watch Milk VR videos etc. while laying in bed before going to sleep. But alas, it does not work. At best you can watch Netflix in Void theater but that's about the only thing that works when you're not sitting upright.

Whyyyyyy???? Samsung, Oculus, being an engineer I know there's really no technical reason for this to not be possible. I sincerely hope this will be fixed in an update. I'm really disappointed that I can't use my Gear VR in this way, Was this use case deliberately overlooked or is this some kind of huge 'oops!' on Samsung / Oculus' side?
26 REPLIES 26

SD-777
Protege

Yeah I can't watch adult sites sitting up, that is just so weird and wrong call me old fashioned they need to allow usage laying down

You can recalibrate the Samsung internet browser to work well while lying down.  Some other apps have the capability like Netflix, for example.  I agree with you though, it's infuriating to be unable to do a system wide adjustment so I can use my GearVR lying down.  Just last night I was putzing around on mine while in bed and after remembering it wouldn't work that way just shut it off in disgust.

diogofigueiredo
Protege
I believe it has to do with the fact the seeing the horizon in front of you whilst laying down would make most people instantaneously sick, as your inner ear (your vestibular system) feels you should be seeing the sky, but your eyes see the horizon. That discrepancy is vomit inducing.
Owner of a DK2 since October 2014. Anxiously waiting for the delivery of the CV1.

Anonymous
Not applicable