cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

auto ASW - performance issues

Syndroid
Heroic Explorer
So I was messing a bit with ASW, and so far, I'm not 100% happy with how the automatic ASW performs on my system,
In my understanding it is supposed to fix positional judder and ghosting on low fps (and also allowing lower spec PCs to enjoy VR).
While it is very good in fulfilling that promise, what it also does is reducing the overall performance (at least on my system).
I'm not a tech expert and and my english isn't that good, so I've recorded a video.

In the video you can see how I was switching between ASW disabled (ctrl+NUM1) and auto ASW (ctrl+NUM4)
As you can see, without ASW I get steady 90 fps most of the time. 
That "performance headroom" chart is scratching along 0 and dips a bit below 0 occasionally. However, everything is butterly smooth throughout this time. I only get noticible position judder and ghosting artefacts on more drastic dips(something like 87fps).

Now having auto ASW enabled, it seems to kick in way too early and I can notice the difference immediately. it is worse than the native 89-90 mode. 
In an ideal world, auto ASW kicks in at 88fps or respectively when there is true juddering.

That being said, I hope Oculus doesn't plan to force auto ASW in the next updates. 
That would be bad since I optimize most graphic-settings in a way that it is scratching along that 90fps mark and it is working just fine with ATW alone. 

What are your experiences with auto asw? 
11 REPLIES 11

DeanOfTheDriver
Protege
What are you system specifications? Clearly whatever you're running here is just right on the edge of making 90 fps (as shown by the perf headroom being -8 to 0%). This means ASW is triggered early to prevent significant, expected drops below 0% perf headroom. Knowing your system specs may help explain what's going on.

Syndroid
Heroic Explorer
Hi, thanks for the quick response
Specs:
GTX 970 gaming 4g
i7 4790k
8 gb DDR3