Hmd Tracking Stutters with more then one sensor - Page 3 — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Hmd Tracking Stutters with more then one sensor

1356

Comments

  • UberwolfeUberwolfe Posts: 123
    Art3mis
    Having major sensor tracking issues (jumping around) particularly when playing any of the standing games.

    Arizona Sunshine, for example, is basically unplayable though it happens in every game/application.

    My setup includes two frontal sensors mounted upside-down above me.

    Logs attached - thanks.
  • bucheebuchee Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    I have the 3 sensor setup using the 360 experimental diagram and am getting the jumping back and forth between cameras. Log files included.
  • SanbornSanborn Posts: 58
    Hiro Protagonist
    But is your camera actually moving?

    Maybe Oculus software is being too quick to respond to erroneous camera IMU data and should not be "resetting position" @cybereality
  • beelibeeli Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    edited December 2016
    No, the cameras are definitely not moving. But there are many such log entries, about 200 in 25 minutes:
    {WARNING} [Tracking:Manager] Sensor moved
    I just got 4 jumps again while playing Superhot VR. No issues for the first 20 minutes, then the "Too much camera movement" occured again.

    Will try USB 2.0 instead of 3.0 next. Tracking should be only slightly less accurate, according to a @cybereality post on Reddit, but the USB load should be less.
  • nroskonrosko Posts: 954
    Neo
    Tried several swapping round of usb's & problem is still present & more hours of my life wasted. My log file is full of errors like everybody elses but nothing about sensor moved. There seems to be an issue with the 3rd sensor using usb 2.0 it doesn't work as well as the other 2 using usb3.0. Notable glitch as rear sensor starts to track. Seems support have given up on my issue as have not got back to me. There seems to be 2 distinct problems one as described above & the other seems to be more rare but happens over time & touch seems to lose tracking hands start to stick & spiral out or just jerk around on there own.  
  • bucheebuchee Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    After viewing the event viewer I am seeing so many errors with oculus especially this one

    17/12 13:23:21.084 {!ERROR!} [HMDCalibration] 
    Gyro offset could not be read from HMD

    If the gyro keeps offsetting would the image keep bouncing around like it does. I don't have a clue but thought I'd throw it out there.
  • beelibeeli Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    @nrosko: I think you're right, the "VR world jumps" and the "hand spiraling out" seem to be two separate problems - but both seem to occur after about 20 minutes.

    At least the jumps started to happen after this time in my last few tries - perfect tracking before, even >180° with two cameras. Then, once the jumps start, they keep happening again and again.

    USB 2.0 cables on 3.0 ports didn't improve anything. Last try will be dedicated USB 2.0 ports tomorrow. After that I'll wait for a software solution.
  • XlordBXlordB Posts: 289
    Nexus 6
    edited December 2016
    i get the same problems with tracking as mentioned here rotating hand etc world movement except my sensors are side mounted on the wall  same height up 7ft 2 meters apart one on a wall over to my left 

    I actually have quite a bit of room. and always manage to get optimal guardian space. However if i set the sensors up further apart to make optimal use of the optimal space the tracking is much worse. . its still pretty annoying as is though i only have two sensors cant afford the third right now if i even need one to be honest my ceiling is a high one can reach it without ladders.
  • SanbornSanborn Posts: 58
    Hiro Protagonist
    @XlordB You should use Deskscene to examine the FOV of those cameras. Not saying there's anything front with it, but it seems like the cameras see less of your room in a sideways orientation.
  • XlordBXlordB Posts: 289
    Nexus 6
    edited December 2016
    already checked that bud where my centre is completely covered in deskscene the problem is that tracking is totally fine even set up like that but the problems are intermittent i.e they happen occasionally if the problems were constant with the controllers not working at all then i would put it down to sensor placement but since this isn't the case then im suspecting its software related because of the delay between the problems. if it was sensor placement or position the controller would rotate constantly its a confusing glitch to try fix 

  • SorithSorith Posts: 8
    NerveGear
    Literally this is so annoying. Just bought a pci usb card hoping it was maybe a bandwidth issue. Still did not fix the problem. Tried all variations of usb ports and different controllers. Nothing works besides one sensor. Add anymore and the jutter and shifting starts. Anyone seem to find a solution yet ???? 
  • wwwCicaedawwwCicaeda Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    3 sensor roomscale.

    Intermittent judder/drifting in controllers every 20~40 seconds, even when standing motionless directly in front of any of the 3 sensors. Controllers judder when when spinning 360 degrees and switching between cameras. HMD also occasionally juddering.

    No combination of USB slots between my motherboard and Inateck USB hub seem to make the tracking any better or any worse. USB 3.0 vs USB 2.0 also seems to make no difference.
  • Callidus80Callidus80 Posts: 24
    Brain Burst
    Thanks @Sorith  @wwwGhost

    You have saved me from buying a PCI-E USB 3.0 card at least.

    I had a reply to my support ticket advising that:
    "this is something they are aware of and looking into on the software side of things. The resolution will most likely come in the form of a software update to Oculus Home."


  • str8Astud3ntstr8Astud3nt Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    When using multiple rift sensors, they will disagree about the world position, causing a 'jumping' behavior of the environment. I have attached a video recorded in Desk Scene that shows when looking at different sensors their position will suddenly change. I have also attached logs from that time. The video will correspond to around 17/12 23:15:50.251 in the logs and the issue seems to be associated with the "17/12 23:15:50.250 {WARNING} [Tracking:Manager] Sensor moved :WMTD302K500KSB" events. For reference the sensor that is the highest up that I am looking at is WMTD302K500KSB and the other sensor I am looking directly at is WMTD303K301QPM.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=soSQzQG93sg
  • StreetPreacherStreetPreacher Posts: 224
    Nexus 6
    edited December 2016
    I've been noticing some odd tracking issues as well, even after the update that was automatically applied last night.

    And as you've discovered, it seems to occour when the controllers are operating in the region where the sensor FOVs overlap...  

    For instance, in oculus home i can hold a controller up in full view of both sensors, but as the controller passes through the overlapping area I see the virutal hands stutter slightly...

    Now I'm just wondering if I can blame the tracking for my horrible aim when throwing things in Superhot? :)
  • SanbornSanborn Posts: 58
    Hiro Protagonist
    When using multiple rift sensors, they will disagree about the world position, causing a 'jumping' behavior of the environment. I have attached a video recorded in Desk Scene that shows when looking at different sensors their position will suddenly change. I have also attached logs from that time. The video will correspond to around 17/12 23:15:50.251 in the logs and the issue seems to be associated with the "17/12 23:15:50.250 {WARNING} [Tracking:Manager] Sensor moved :WMTD302K500KSB" events. For reference the sensor that is the highest up that I am looking at is WMTD302K500KSB and the other sensor I am looking directly at is WMTD303K301QPM.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=soSQzQG93sg
     How did you record?
  • str8Astud3ntstr8Astud3nt Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Sanborn said:
     How did you record?
    On windows 10 with the xbox app. You can hit win+g on just about any application and record.
  • WildlyfeWildlyfe Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Same here I ended up getting a fourth sensor bUT seems like the more sensors I add the more my whole play area keeps jumping around while switching from sensor to sensor. Two up front or two diagonal wasn't too bad but 4 in each corner or 3 sensor reccommened setup is just unusable. I also have my sensors upside down it is the only way I can mount them with out buying a bunch of tripods. This is just ridiculous. Especially after all the USB extensions I bought and returned trying to find ones that worked. Vive is seemingly better by the day.

  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    Thanks for the logs. I have shared them with the engineering team.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • SanbornSanborn Posts: 58
    Hiro Protagonist
    @cybereality I just e-mailed this into support but I recorded this tonight, using 3 camera:



    After this I unplugged my rear camera and re-cal'd and the exact same thing happened again, but it happened inside the Oculus setup app where it scans me when I click trigger. Are you supposed to restart your PC between adding and removing cameras?

    Log: 
  • Mnem0nicMnem0nic Posts: 57
    Hiro Protagonist
    Wildlyfe said:
    Same here I ended up getting a fourth sensor bUT seems like the more sensors I add the more my whole play area keeps jumping around while switching from sensor to sensor. Two up front or two diagonal wasn't too bad but 4 in each corner or 3 sensor reccommened setup is just unusable. I also have my sensors upside down it is the only way I can mount them with out buying a bunch of tripods. This is just ridiculous. Especially after all the USB extensions I bought and returned trying to find ones that worked. Vive is seemingly better by the day.

    That's the feeling I'm getting too,, bouncing between sensors as you move 360.. I have an inateck card on the way (Don't think I'm gonna use it as I have the ports required tbh).. I'm using a Z97 chipset with 6 USB3.0 ports and 4 USB 2.0 ports...

    Plugged my Vive back in with zero tracking issues, it's pure bliss after troubleshooting Oculus 3rd sensor tracking issue's since Dec 9th with no success.. Its such a shame as I like the Rift and prefer the comfy feel of it but the tracking issues are a deal breaker for me.. I was gonna show the family when they come around for Christmas but that's not going to happen with the Rift at least... sux...      
  • HoIIywoodHoIIywood Posts: 325
    Trinity
    Mnem0nic said:

    .....
    Plugged my Vive back in with zero tracking issues, it's pure bliss after troubleshooting Oculus 3rd sensor tracking issue's since Dec 9th with no success.. Its such a shame as I like the Rift and prefer the comfy feel of it but the tracking issues are a deal breaker for me.. I was gonna show the family when they come around for Christmas but that's not going to happen with the Rift at least... sux...      

    At this point, if someone figures out how to use Touch with Vive, I may consider checking out the competition.
  • jehuda73jehuda73 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    hi there

    I v got good specs (1080 gtx i7) two sensors,  touch controllers and the CV1 and got the same problems.

    Then I came across that video 

    He doesn't seem to have any of these problems, Maybe there is a perfect sensors setting where display never jumps from one sensor to another but right now I can't figure it out
    I don't own bullet train so maybe it s software related (the problem seems to be more problematic with job simulator on my setting for instance)

    By the way I also used to own a vive. The frennel lenses of the Vive where a no go for me (the door effect was killing game experience and immersion I can finally enjoy emite dangerous+I prefer the pixel density and comfort of rift+ touch) but regarding motion tracking it s day and night

    the stutter issue we discuss is not the only one with rift
    - from day one my rift vr display has been tilted to the left and the calibration tool did not solve the issue
    - vr doesn't feel as stable than htc vive or even psvr. The display is never stable on the rift always swimming or wobbling as soon as you move your head look behind windows etc even when you r looking straight at something, It s actually really killing the immersion, especially when you tried a vive before

    The vive is completely flawless regarding track motion, occlusion is always a problem but vr feels so stable so present on a vive it s due to the stability and the precision of tracking.

    I know that media said how vive was better than rift concerning motion tracking but I am quite surprised when touch controllers were out how every video game site said how it was now the best experience without saying a word about how buggy vr felt sometimes on rift.

    I really think that the rift is a good compromise in terms of ergonomy and display compared to vive and psvr but the motion tracking and sensors issue have to be solved, I almost want to plug my psvr to enjoy a good job simulator nonsense time .......



  • EliteSPAEliteSPA Posts: 1,560
    Project 2501
    edited December 2016
    @cybereality does it really matters usb 2.0 instead of 3.0? I mean the sensors. Does usb 2.0 add more ms to the tracking response? My USB innateck 4 ports still having blue screens when installing fresco logic drivers, when I install the windows default drivers got disconnection alerts from the sensors.....so for now they are using the usb 2.0 instead.
    i7 6700K @ 4.2 GHz | Corsair 16GB DDR4 PC2300 | GTX 1080 Ti | Asus z170-Pro | Corsair RGB Strafe Keyboard | Logitech G27 | Oculus CV1 + Touch + 4 Sensors | Win 10 64 bit | Acer Predator x34 @ 100Hz
  • Mnem0nicMnem0nic Posts: 57
    Hiro Protagonist
    edited December 2016
    EliteSPA said:
    @cybereality does it really matters usb 2.0 instead of 3.0? I mean the sensors.
    Is this guy (Cybereality) the only OC Tech Support forum guru here ? I mean, it seems a bit daft to have just one guy cover this entire board, he has no real answers apart from "upload logs" and "I'll pass it on to the team" etc pretty much generic scripts lol. 

    With Touch being out and oculus selling extra sensors I would of thought the Support would be a bit more switched on than it is now... No disrespect to this Cyber guy I'm sure he's doing his best, but come on Oculus give this guy some help as it seems he is in over his head with issues since touch launched.. The Support needs Support :D

    For what its worth EliteSPA, Personally I've tried all ports (Just Sensors) on USB 2.0 and USB 3.0 and everything worked fine but the issues with tracking are still there.. So right now for me at least it makes no difference at all what ports to use..  
  • UberwolfeUberwolfe Posts: 123
    Art3mis
    edited December 2016
    I finally had to time to rearrange my setup. Moved my sensors from upside-down on the ceiling to the "conventional" method directly beside my monitor. This seems to have fixed all my tracking issues...

    I just got through a solid 2 hours in Arizona Sunshine without a hitch when previously the tracking was jumping from sensor to sensor every few minutes making the game completely unplayable.

    So for me the issue was definitely related to mounting my sensors upside down.

    Hope this is a coding glitch they can sort out as the ceiling is still the best place for me to mount my sensors and not have to move my speakers etc.

    For reference, here's how I have had to set them up.




  • beelibeeli Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    @Uberwolfe: Thanks for sharing your solution. That's exactly how my setup looks like and I still have this problem. How did you distribute your cameras / headset to the USB ports, did you use special drivers?
  • UberwolfeUberwolfe Posts: 123
    Art3mis
    edited December 2016
    @beeli Nothing special, I just use a TP-LINK powered USB 3.0 hub for one sensor and the XBONE controller dongle. The other sensor and headset are plugged directly into USB 3.0 ports on the mobo.
  • Gravity1368Gravity1368 Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    jehuda73 said:
    hi there

    I v got good specs (1080 gtx i7) two sensors,  touch controllers and the CV1 and got the same problems.

    Then I came across that video 

    He doesn't seem to have any of these problems, Maybe there is a perfect sensors setting where display never jumps from one sensor to another but right now I can't figure it out
    I don't own bullet train so maybe it s software related (the problem seems to be more problematic with job simulator on my setting for instance)

    By the way I also used to own a vive. The frennel lenses of the Vive where a no go for me (the door effect was killing game experience and immersion I can finally enjoy emite dangerous+I prefer the pixel density and comfort of rift+ touch) but regarding motion tracking it s day and night

    the stutter issue we discuss is not the only one with rift
    - from day one my rift vr display has been tilted to the left and the calibration tool did not solve the issue
    - vr doesn't feel as stable than htc vive or even psvr. The display is never stable on the rift always swimming or wobbling as soon as you move your head look behind windows etc even when you r looking straight at something, It s actually really killing the immersion, especially when you tried a vive before

    The vive is completely flawless regarding track motion, occlusion is always a problem but vr feels so stable so present on a vive it s due to the stability and the precision of tracking.

    I know that media said how vive was better than rift concerning motion tracking but I am quite surprised when touch controllers were out how every video game site said how it was now the best experience without saying a word about how buggy vr felt sometimes on rift.

    I really think that the rift is a good compromise in terms of ergonomy and display compared to vive and psvr but the motion tracking and sensors issue have to be solved, I almost want to plug my psvr to enjoy a good job simulator nonsense time .......



    I know this feeling I was hoping with touch coming out I could sell my vive since I prefer the Rift in every way, but I dont think Im going to do that till these tracking issues are solved. I love my Rift + touch combo but these tracking issues are killing me.
  • seanstashukseanstashuk Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited December 2016
    Mnem0nic said:


    Plugged my Vive back in with zero tracking issues, it's pure bliss after troubleshooting Oculus 3rd sensor tracking issue's since Dec 9th with no success.. Its such a shame as I like the Rift and prefer the comfy feel of it but the tracking issues are a deal breaker for me.. I was gonna show the family when they come around for Christmas but that's not going to happen with the Rift at least... sux...      

    I was giving Oculus the benefit of the doubt when it came to nailing the tracking, but it seems like they just can't figure it out yet... :(
Sign In or Register to comment.