Doom 3 BFG Edition (RB + OpenVR) - Page 3 — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Doom 3 BFG Edition (RB + OpenVR)

13»

Comments

  • JD-UKJD-UK Posts: 2,289 Valuable Player
    edited December 2016
    I've been trying to sort this for a while now, but am unable to.

    Everything appears to be working just fine as far as the graphics and movement goes, but I am unable to speak to anyone with the Y button and also can't seem to get anything to work as E. I did look in the control options but was none the wiser.

    The other problem is that my chin is on the ground except for the cutscenes, which are fine (I set up SteamVR roomscale just fine) but I can't get the console to come up, to enter the necessary commands. I have a UK keyboard and tilde is doing nothing - nor are the other keys that are usually used for consoles in games.

    Could do with some help, please :)

    Edit: I have also tried using the autoexec.cfg with the console enable command but it also doesn't work with this.




  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    edited December 2016
    @Brixmis

    What controls are you using? The "Y" is for gamepads only, if you are using the Touch controller, you talk to people with the trigger only, the graphics in the game are not updated to reflect this.

    Does the keyboard work in otherways (arrow keys, enter key, escape key, etc) or only the console key doesn't work?

    Also make sure that the game has focus in Windows, otherwise keyboard input will go to what ever application has stolen focus. Sometimes this occurs if SteamVR isn't started before running the game, SteamVR when it launches will steal focus (and keyboard input with it) and the game will end up being unresponsive until you use the mouse to select it or alt-tab to the game.

    Console should be enabled by default.

  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    @Leyland
    @Samson
    You guys really should merge efforts and give us all a nerdgasm with your combined release.

    I've used both mods but not recently (waiting for santa to release the touch controller that I pre-orderred n paid for :/ )

    Also Samson, can I please request that when you release you source you don't edit your comments. early development comments are fucking beautiful to read, It's what I imagine reading a book to be like (I've never read a book all the way through).
    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • JD-UKJD-UK Posts: 2,289 Valuable Player
    Thanks Leyland. I was using Touch - but had to return them, so I'll be back on the gamepad (or preferably mouse & keyboard) now.

    I started the game via the exe in the root folder. This got SteamVR started. Everything else seemed to work okay.
    I used the tilde key, and tried the @ and ` keys for the console, as they sometimes seem to get changed around in some games for the console due to keyboard differences, I guess. The other keyboard keys worked fine in the game.

    I'll have another go later today




  • One-shotOne-shot Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    edited December 2016
    Just tried it today with touch and pretty much is perfect except I am having trouble with movement. The analog stick to move seems to work when strafing left, right and backward, but forwards most of the time doesn't work at all. Sometimes after fiddling around in game I can get it to go for a bit, but then the issue comes back. Anyone else have an issue like this, or is it simply because it's meant for a Vive touchpad currently?
  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    edited December 2016
    One-shot said:
    Just tried it today with touch and pretty much is perfect except I am having trouble with movement. The analog stick to move seems to work when strafing left, right and backward, but forwards most of the time doesn't work at all. Sometimes after fiddling around in game I can get it to go for a bit, but then the issue comes back. Anyone else have an issue like this, or is it simply because it's meant for a Vive touchpad currently?
    I've heard issues like this from others. I am not getting my Touch until friday, so I will not be able to fix them, but I released a new build that should work better for joysticks.
  • One-shotOne-shot Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    edited December 2016
    Leyland said:
    One-shot said:
    Just tried it today with touch and pretty much is perfect except I am having trouble with movement. The analog stick to move seems to work when strafing left, right and backward, but forwards most of the time doesn't work at all. Sometimes after fiddling around in game I can get it to go for a bit, but then the issue comes back. Anyone else have an issue like this, or is it simply because it's meant for a Vive touchpad currently?
    I've heard issues like this from others. I am not getting my Touch until friday, so I will not be able to fix them, but I released a new build that should work better for joysticks.
    Yup I just gave the new version a try, and it made the right analog stick better. Before you had to press down and move the stick to change weapons and now you can just move the stick. Left analog stick to move is still having the same issue I said before.
  • One-shotOne-shot Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    Just a little more specific info after messing a bit more with it. It seems that moving forward works only when you put a little pressure on the stick, but not enough to where it fully clicks in and toggles sprint.
  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    edited December 2016
    One-shot said:
    Just a little more specific info after messing a bit more with it. It seems that moving forward works only when you put a little pressure on the stick, but not enough to where it fully clicks in and toggles sprint.
    This is interesting, I think I may know what is going on, I just am confused why it doesn't happen to more people. OpenVR has a concept of touch, which comes from the fact that Vive has touchpads, and I may NOT be ignoring touch for joysticks like I should be. The razer hydra openvr drivers I recall artificially set touch when the joystick is moved.

  • One-shotOne-shot Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    edited December 2016
    Leyland said:
    One-shot said:
    Just a little more specific info after messing a bit more with it. It seems that moving forward works only when you put a little pressure on the stick, but not enough to where it fully clicks in and toggles sprint.
    This is interesting, I think I may know what is going on, I just am confused why it doesn't happen to more people. OpenVR has a concept of touch, which comes from the fact that Vive has touchpads, and I may NOT be ignoring touch for joysticks like I should be. The razer hydra openvr drivers I recall artificially set touch when the joystick is moved.

    Seemed like that might have been the case. Like I said the right stick works fine now opposed to before the update yesterday where you had to press in and then move it to the left or right while held down to select a new weapon.
  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    @One-shot I just updated it to ignore touch state when it is a joystick type axis, so it might fix it, either way I think it is a good find, Thanks a Lot!

    It's version 12.2   https://github.com/Codes4Fun/RBDOOM-3-BFG/releases/tag/1.1.0-openvr12

  • One-shotOne-shot Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    Leyland said:
    @One-shot I just updated it to ignore touch state when it is a joystick type axis, so it might fix it, either way I think it is a good find, Thanks a Lot!

    It's version 12.2   https://github.com/Codes4Fun/RBDOOM-3-BFG/releases/tag/1.1.0-openvr12

    Looks like that did it! You're awesome, now time for me to play.
  • maxx11111maxx11111 Posts: 91
    Hiro Protagonist
    edited December 2016
    Hi this works great, im using vr_rightAxis 1 with touch but want to disable the up for jump, down for crouch doesnt work but thats fine  as i dont want that anyway, thanks for any help :)
     it apears down for crouch does work but doesnt apear to as im standing but you can use it to enter vents on the floor and you flow through the wall.
  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    maxx11111 said:
    Hi this works great, im using vr_rightAxis 1 with touch but want to disable the up for jump, down for crouch doesnt work but thats fine  as i dont want that anyway, thanks for any help :)
     it apears down for crouch does work but doesnt apear to as im standing but you can use it to enter vents on the floor and you flow through the wall.
    Yes, it is a bit weird in standing mode, but if you play in seated mode ("vr_seated 1") crouching will actually lower your view. In standing mode ("vr_seated 0") it will only lower your view when you enter a crawl space.

    To disable jumping:
    vr_turnJump 0

    To disable crouching:
    vr_turnCrouch 0

  • maxx11111maxx11111 Posts: 91
    Hiro Protagonist
    Leyland said:

    To disable jumping:
    vr_turnJump 0

    To disable crouching:
    vr_turnCrouch 0

    Thanks :)
  • Comic_Book_GuyComic_Book_Guy Posts: 1,195
    3Jane
    Anyone able to disable the blue arrows? Personally I can't stand it and want it gone but it seems to ignore "vr_headingBeamMode "0" in the config file.
  • Comic_Book_GuyComic_Book_Guy Posts: 1,195
    3Jane
  • FlyinglivershotFlyinglivershot Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    console brings up unknown command when i try "vr_turning 1" and seated commands.
  • Greyhawk101Greyhawk101 Posts: 49
    Brain Burst
    Can't run it - get "couldnt load default.cfg" error.
  • LeylandLeyland Posts: 77 Poster of the Week
    Can't run it - get "couldnt load default.cfg" error.
    That is because it can't find your base directory, make sure it is decompressed/copied to the same directory as the original game Doom3BFG.exe file.
  • ParadiseDecayParadiseDecay Posts: 510
    Neo
    jayhawk said:
    just got this working. Wow being in VR sure shows it's graphical age.
    Make sure you get the HD graphics mod, massive difference in quality, makes it very modern:

    ☆ YouTube 'Content Creator' and 'Steam Curator' ( https://www.youtube.com/user/ParadiseDecay ) ☆ Devs! I'm always on the look out for new and interesting VR experiences! ☆ Oculus Rift CV1 ☆ Windows 10, 64 bit ☆ Intel Core i7-3770 ☆ 16.0GB Ram ☆ GeForce GTX 1060
  • Myztkl-KevMyztkl-Kev Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    is there a way to slow player movement? I'm playing with a rift in seated mode with m/kb and it works fine but i start to get queezy after 15 minutes or so from the movement speed. There is a console command that says it scales speed but it doesn't seem to do anything
  • JD-UKJD-UK Posts: 2,289 Valuable Player
    edited February 2018
    Must admit, I haven't played this in 18 months because it used to make me feel sick. Reinstalled and restarted the campaign yesterday and now I have no such issues - until I take the headset off. But that only lasts a few minutes.

    I think the big game changer was last time I played stood facing my PC desk, or sat down. This time I have made a small VR room and the difference is huge. The only issue now is how many times I'm slapping the wall (my guitars are hanging on the walls so that's a bit worrying). Yesterday when I took the headset off I was gobsmacked at where I had ended up in the room without realising.

    Just like to repeat my thanks to all involved - it's a great VR experience.




Sign In or Register to comment.