New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Fresco or Microsoft drivers? - Inateck PCI-e card

elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
edited January 2017 in General

I'm guessing that the share tech support have in Inateck have pad off since the launch of the rift, but just wondering what driver everyone is using for this?

I've heard conflicting reports from people, so want to get everyones opinion.

My personal preference has been to use the latest Fresco driver because it gets rid of the update driver message, but after recent trouble shooting I ended up rolling back to the microsoft driver in a vain attempt to get rid of the sleep/jittery hand bug that occurs with 4 sensors. needless to say i've not noticed any difference lol.

so cmon peeps, feel free to educate me.

::EDIT::

For anyone that wants it, I've attached a script that will set you power options for you, i initially downloaded it from redit, but added a few lines at the begining and end so it could be put in a .cmd file and run the powershel script. note: run as administrator

if you prefer just open notepade, paste in the following code and save as whatever.cmd
;@echo off


This is my forum signature.
There are many others like it, but this is mine.

Fresco or Microsoft drivers? - Inateck PCI-e card 28 votes

Microsoft Driver
39%
bigmike20vtPercy1983maggotdcDoriathe_m_d88BrokenArrow69Triad79EcacpatatonakaLucIsTheDudevstdj 11 votes
Fresco Driver 3.5.106
10%
Cookiez111spetkedburne 3 votes
Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
50%
RedRizlamaxpare79elbofforsnowdogVRoaaarforesterrdreimer1986MrM0ngooseHornet_F4CBaz_uKhoochyukdougchismthroughtheiris25Helterr 14 votes
«1

Comments

  • hoochyukhoochyuk Posts: 330 Poster of the Week
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    Latest although made no differance
  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    edited January 2017
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    I'm leaning to go back to them tbh.
    Even though I don't see them, knowing the warnings are there in devices is really winding me up.

    @Doriath, is there any particular reason you are using the M$ ones?
    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • Hornet_F4CHornet_F4C Posts: 214
    Nexus 6
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    Latest Fresco. All fine, no issues that I know of.
  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    right sod it then, I'm going back to them
    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • DoriathDoriath Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    Microsoft Driver
    @elboffor, I have fewer issues when running the MS drivers.  I've gone back and forth between them.  I have my sensors on my Intel controller right now anyway.  The Inateck has the HMD, and sometimes my SimPit.
  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    I'm liking the simpit, i assume you use something like banana to split the audio?
    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • DoriathDoriath Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    Microsoft Driver
    I'm not splitting the audio.  I'm using SimVibe, which is software that takes telemetry from various racing games and outputs its own low frequency sounds to the transducers.

    I do need to get some split audio going for Elite: Dangerous, but I haven't yet.  I'm kinda hoping Oculus will start supporting it directly.
  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    nice, will have to use that when i build my sim pit ;)
    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,995 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.5.106
    Fairly new Rift owner here,  I am running the 3.5.106 drivers. Only problem I have is occasional sensor disconnects and I have to reboot the pc to get it to recognize again. I wonder if upgrading to the 3.6.9.0a might be of benefit?
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    I'd recommed updating them, also i've attahced a script to the first post. run it as admin and it should set all the power options and what not for you.
    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,995 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.5.106
    Gotcha, thanks!
    So should I uninstall the previous drivers first then install the latest, or will running the 3.6.9.0a take care of all that for me? Also ok to leave the Rift plugged in during the process?
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    some may say otherwise, but the way i see it just install over the top. if you uninstall first all that will do is replace them with the microsoft dravers whch you will need to then replace with the newer ones anyways lol
    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,995 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.5.106
    elboffor said:
    some may say otherwise, but the way i see it just install over the top. if you uninstall first all that will do is replace them with the microsoft dravers whch you will need to then replace with the newer ones anyways lol

    Ok good, I will have a go at it many thanks!
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,995 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.5.106
    Hmm did not go to well, the installation aborted as it was almost done saying no fresco logic host controller found.
    I looked in device manager and now show three unknown usb devices listed there.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,995 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.5.106
    Ok I got it. I rebooted the pc and tried the install again, and this time it went successfully. Then I rebooted the PC again, and now the Fresco Logic USB 3 entries are showing up properly in device manager. Loaded up the Rift, and sensor showed as not connected. Rebooted again and it is now connected and working.
    Whew lol... My drivers do now show as the 3.6.9.0a version.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    Its made tou work for it then lol.
    Id recommended running the power fix btw so your sensors dont go to sleep as that could cause disconnects 
    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,995 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.5.106
    elboffor said:
    Its made tou work for it then lol.
    Id recommended running the power fix btw so your sensors dont go to sleep as that could cause disconnects 

    Does setting the Fresco Logic USB 3 root hub power management to off accomplish the same? I know it has to be set again after each reboot. Also question on the Script - will it also need to be run again after each reboot or does it set it permanently?
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    i run it ever reboot
    most of the time is says no changes required and does nothing. every now and then it changes the power settings again.
    it also puts ina  registry tweak (forgot twhat that does) but aparently it stops disconnects on this chipset
    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,995 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.5.106
    Ok thanks for the info. So does this file need to be placed in any specific area? I run it as admin from Powershell correct? Sorry little new to running something from there... thanks for all your help! If I could stop these sensor disconnects and keep form having to reboot  I would be home free.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    put it anywhere you want, right click and run as admin

    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,995 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.5.106
    elboffor said:
    put it anywhere you want, right click and run as admin


    Ok thanks again so much!
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    no problem bud, hope it works out for you :)
    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,995 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.5.106
    elboffor said:
    no problem bud, hope it works out for you :)

    I have the file downloaded, but going to run  a bit before executing it to see if these newer drivers make any difference at all in my sensor disconnects. I highly doubt they will, so after it happens again I will try it by running your file and see how it goes.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • RedRizlaRedRizla Posts: 6,855 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    @dburne - I might be barking up the wrong tree, but this fixed all my sensor disconnects on the card the OP uses.

    https://forums.oculus.com/community/discussion/48826/warning-usb-driver-update-recommended#latest
  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    Which post exactly dude?
    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,995 Valuable Player
    edited January 2017
    Fresco Driver 3.5.106
    Well it was working fine for a bit, even after a shut down and restart - took it off and shut down Oculus, waited a bit and put it back on, and once again have a sensor disconnect.
    I will try your script elboffer, going to be out of pocket for couple of days so may be later in the week before get a chance and report back.

    Edit - hmm just heard the sound of something connected, so put the headset back on a voila it is working again. First time that has happened without me having to do a reboot. So maybe small improvement with these drivers in that regard, but not ideal.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • RedRizlaRedRizla Posts: 6,855 Valuable Player
    edited January 2017
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    @dburne - You need to have it start in windows in the setting of the Oculus Rift tray tool. Just tick the start when windows boots up.

    Edit: After reading your post I'm a bit confused? You said: "Well it was working fine for a bit, even after a shut down and restart - took it off and shut down Oculus, waited a bit and put it back on, and once again have a sensor disconnect." 

    Why did you take it off? Are you responding to my post or some other post? Makes no sense to me what you just said tbh.
  • elbofforelboffor Posts: 2,572 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    Ive had a look. the tray tool does what the script does lol.
    Oh and its elboffor not elboffer, what sort of stupid ass name would elboffer be. Silly leeds person that you are @lovethat
    This is my forum signature.
    There are many others like it, but this is mine.
  • RedRizlaRedRizla Posts: 6,855 Valuable Player
    Fresco Driver 3.6.9.0a
    elboffor said:
    Ive had a look. the tray tool does what the script does lol.
    Oh and its elboffor not elboffer, what sort of stupid ass name would elboffer be. Silly leeds person that you are @lovethat
    I'm sure elboffer is somewhere in the Spanish dictionary. I think I got a little confused lmao.
Sign In or Register to comment.