cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Washed out colours in Elite: Dangerous after Oculus Home 1.12 update

sloth77
Honored Guest
I've been playing E:D on the Rift CV1 for over 6 months and it looked great. I started it today and straight away I noticed that the colours were washed out. What was once black is now an unpleasant dark grey.

This happens regardless of whether I run E:D from Steam or from a separate install in Oculus Home.

I've tried removing the graphic settings in the user profile area but still the effect remains. I've reinstalled the latest NVIDIA driver and this hasn't fixed it. The only thing I can think of that has changed in the last few days is Oculus Home. I've tried reinstalling the Oculus Home but that hasn't help either.

No other games seem to be affected, just E:D. 

Any ideas?
27 REPLIES 27

flexy123
Superstar
>>
I've reinstalled the latest NVIDIA driver and this hasn't fixed it.
>>

Here we go!

You need to unplug your rift from the HDMI port and plug a normal monitor in the same port. Then, with the monitor plugged in, go to NV control panel, click to "Change resolution" --> "Output dynamic range", and change to "Full".

Then re-plug your Rift.

(This is an old and still unsolved annoyance that every new Nvidia drivers install sets the colour range wrong since they assume everything connected to HDMI is a TV, with a limited color range). Once you set the range to full, it should stick, until the next time you install a new Nvidia driver)

(Alternatively, you can skip the entire issue with a DisplayPort/DVI --> HDMI adapter for the Rift.)

kzintzi
Trustee
I've occasionally seen this when the tracking on my rift is flakey due to USB ports being offlined for power saving (stupid windows 10). when it's working as it should, you can replicate the issue by covering the majority of the LED's on the headset so the camera loses tracking.

unplugging and replugging the headset sorts it.