cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Washed out colours in Elite: Dangerous after Oculus Home 1.12 update

sloth77
Honored Guest
I've been playing E:D on the Rift CV1 for over 6 months and it looked great. I started it today and straight away I noticed that the colours were washed out. What was once black is now an unpleasant dark grey.

This happens regardless of whether I run E:D from Steam or from a separate install in Oculus Home.

I've tried removing the graphic settings in the user profile area but still the effect remains. I've reinstalled the latest NVIDIA driver and this hasn't fixed it. The only thing I can think of that has changed in the last few days is Oculus Home. I've tried reinstalling the Oculus Home but that hasn't help either.

No other games seem to be affected, just E:D. 

Any ideas?
27 REPLIES 27

sloth77
Honored Guest
>Wait, so it was or wasn't related to the 'limited' vs 'full' RGB setting for HDMI?

Dunno to be honest.  Certainly my NVIDIA settings always showed "Full" even when I plugged the monitor into the HDMI port used by the Rift.  But that might be because I couldn't hot-swap the monitor and had to reboot when switching cables.

>What was in the Appdata folder that was causing it to revert??

No idea, I had a quick look but the settings appear to be stored in an SQL database and not human-readable.
But only after re-running the initial setup (by deleting the %APPDATA%\Oculus) did the full contrast return.

JesseDeya
Expert Protege
Did that also delete all your game data? Is your Elite Oculus Store or Steam?

kzintzi
Trustee

Bloodlet said:

kzintzi said:

I've occasionally seen this when the tracking on my rift is flakey due to USB ports being offlined for power saving (stupid windows 10). when it's working as it should, you can replicate the issue by covering the majority of the LED's on the headset so the camera loses tracking.

unplugging and replugging the headset sorts it.

@kzintzi