Poor tracking / tracking problem with 1.13 (single sensor setup) — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Poor tracking / tracking problem with 1.13 (single sensor setup)

xWildchildxxWildchildx Posts: 6
NerveGear
Hi all,
everything was perfect before the 1.13 update, I basically play Assetto Corsa in my Playseat Challenge setup so I just move my head from a fixed position. After the 1.13 update there's something wrong with the sensor tracking, I try to explain...
My sensor is fixed and my playseat too, so the only change was the new 1.13 software.
After the update, while driving in Assetto Corsa but also in the Oculus Home, I notice that I have random wrong tracking with my head...as the sensore lose tracking for a second and then come back again.
It appears often and is really annoying while driving, as you can imagine. I have no error or notifications.

Any suggestion? Could the 1.13 new software change something on the single sensor tracking way to operate? The head movement are smooth and works also if I turn the head 180°, the problem seems to be related only on front facing oculus in the sensor direction. Everything else on my room setup it's still the same, I tried reboot, check connections several time, check "USB 3.0" in the Oculus>Settings>Device panel and everything is ok.

Thanks in advance,
Wildchild
«1

Comments

  • kzintzikzintzi Posts: 1,068
    Wintermute
    I found the height reset option in configure devices and it solved my immediate issue - will see how often it happens.
    Though you are more than slightly incoherent, I agree with you Madam,
    a plum is a terrible thing to do to a nostril.
  • GATOxVoSGATOxVoS Posts: 440
    Trinity
    Hate to ask this question: You reset sensor tracking after updating to 1.13, right?
    PC Specs:
    Intel i7-6700k @ 4.5 Ghz
    Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 3 Motherboard
    RTX 2080 Ti - MSI VENTUS
    16 GB CAS-10 RAM @ 2400 MHz
    Startech 4-port/4-USB controller add-on card
    850W Corsair HX850 PSU
    4-Sensor, Roomscale Setup
  • crazygnucrazygnu Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Hi all,
    everything was perfect before the 1.13 update, I basically play Assetto Corsa in my Playseat Challenge setup so I just move my head from a fixed position. After the 1.13 update there's something wrong with the sensor tracking, I try to explain...
    My sensor is fixed and my playseat too, so the only change was the new 1.13 software.
    After the update, while driving in Assetto Corsa but also in the Oculus Home, I notice that I have random wrong tracking with my head...as the sensore lose tracking for a second and then come back again.
    It appears often and is really annoying while driving, as you can imagine. I have no error or notifications.

    Any suggestion? Could the 1.13 new software change something on the single sensor tracking way to operate? The head movement are smooth and works also if I turn the head 180°, the problem seems to be related only on front facing oculus in the sensor direction. Everything else on my room setup it's still the same, I tried reboot, check connections several time, check "USB 3.0" in the Oculus>Settings>Device panel and everything is ok.

    Thanks in advance,
    Wildchild
    Hi all,
    sadly I have exactly the same issue and a relay similar setup.

    And yes I did run "Reset Default View in VR" and even full setup, but it didn't change anything.
    I also tried the beta channel, without any noticeable difference. 

    Playing nearly exclusive seated flight sims (WarThunder / DCS) this kind of tacker hopping is hardcore annoying.

    Hoping for a fix or workaround  :-/

    BR
    crazy
  • xWildchildxxWildchildx Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    Xsjadia said:
    Hate to ask this question: You reset sensor tracking after updating to 1.13, right?
    Don't you worry, Yes I did, I ran a full setup too without difference after that.
  • mike5560mike5560 Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    Same issue here. I have my sensor plugged into a USB 2.0 port; but tracking has been great until recently it's unplayable.
  • Micro666Micro666 Posts: 19 Oculus Start Member
    I have 2 front facing sensors (I know the thread is for people with one), but just wanted to add that I got upgraded from 1.12 to 1.13 yesterday, and have had no issues at all. Tracking is spot on, no height issues, no jitter at all. Tracking is as good as it was in 1.12 for me.

    I'm on Windows 10, Intel Core i7 3770K, 32GB RAM, and an nVidia GTX 1080 if it's relevant.

    Micro666
  • DanG1DanG1 Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    crazygnu said:
    Hi all,
    everything was perfect before the 1.13 update, I basically play Assetto Corsa in my Playseat Challenge setup so I just move my head from a fixed position. After the 1.13 update there's something wrong with the sensor tracking, I try to explain...
    My sensor is fixed and my playseat too, so the only change was the new 1.13 software.
    After the update, while driving in Assetto Corsa but also in the Oculus Home, I notice that I have random wrong tracking with my head...as the sensore lose tracking for a second and then come back again.
    It appears often and is really annoying while driving, as you can imagine. I have no error or notifications.

    Any suggestion? Could the 1.13 new software change something on the single sensor tracking way to operate? The head movement are smooth and works also if I turn the head 180°, the problem seems to be related only on front facing oculus in the sensor direction. Everything else on my room setup it's still the same, I tried reboot, check connections several time, check "USB 3.0" in the Oculus>Settings>Device panel and everything is ok.

    Thanks in advance,
    Wildchild
    Hi all,
    sadly I have exactly the same issue and a relay similar setup.

    And yes I did run "Reset Default View in VR" and even full setup, but it didn't change anything.
    I also tried the beta channel, without any noticeable difference. 

    Playing nearly exclusive seated flight sims (WarThunder / DCS) this kind of tacker hopping is hardcore annoying.

    Hoping for a fix or workaround  :-/

    BR
    crazy

    Hi,

    Same scenario for me. 

    Is there anyway to downgrade to 1.12?

    Thanks
  • vicpopovicpopo Posts: 27
    Brain Burst
    Hi ,
    i havé the same problem on my motion rig since the last update !
    I wrote a thread with the same subject !The view bounces each 20 secondes on my simulator with assetto corsa and pcars exactly the same problem !!
  • xWildchildxxWildchildx Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    kzintzi said:
    I found the height reset option in configure devices and it solved my immediate issue - will see how often it happens.
    Tried this but doesn't works for me... :(
  • rkodeyrkodey Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited March 2017
    I'm also having tracking issues after the update, in Elite Dangerous.  But not all the time...  In areas of lower CPU utilization, tracking is solid.  But, going into a conflict zone where CPU increases noticeably, that's when the tracking issues started.  As soon as I left the CZ, the CPU usage dropped again, and the tracking was solid again.

    So...  smooth tracking somehow bound to CPU?

    (I have a 6700k @ 4.4Ghz, GTX 1080, so plenty of horsepower.)
  • vicpopovicpopo Posts: 27
    Brain Burst
    Hi , 

    just to complete the problem for me .With assetto corsa and pcars ( with motion simulator ) the view bounces only in a vertical axis .Sometimes my head is in the car roof top ( vertical high point compareted to the normal vision ) and sometimes the view drops down just in front of the virtual wheel ( I can't view the track anymore :-/ ) , so also in a vertical axis.The distance between the both wrong points is about 70 cm ( real dimension in the virtual view ).My sensor is about 1,2 metres far from the headset just in front of it .
    i5 3770k oc @ 4,2 Ghz , 16Go ram, zotax 1080 6gb win10
  • vicpopovicpopo Posts: 27
    Brain Burst
    edited April 2017
    i made some tests with the new release oculus debug tool and the results are below .
    First with my simulator not in motion i noticed any bouncing view .i drove the Nordschlefe 8 minutes without needing to re-center the view .
    With 1,5 pixel per display : 
    framerate often less than 45 Hz
    latency app in mition 47 ms
    headroom performance : always between - 80 - 100 % ?? (don't understand the minus sign )
    With no pixel per display improvement (0 i in oculus debug tool ): 
    framerate  45 Hz most of time
    latency app in mition 40ms
    headroom performance : always between -40 - 60 % ?? (don't understand the minus sign )

    But as written no bouncing view when simulator still stays
  • KillCardKillCard Posts: 1,078
    Wintermute
    I'm having this trouble as well. It wasn't too noticeable at first .. but now for some reason its really bad. I'm noticing it most in New Retro Arcade: Neon ... every minute or so the head tracking "bounces" for no reason even if I'm sitting completely still. I have 3 sensors, everything was working perfectly in 1.12.

    I have tried multiple different setups with the sensors, can't seem to get rid of the tracking loss.
  • KillCardKillCard Posts: 1,078
    Wintermute
    edited April 2017
    rkodey said:
    I'm also having tracking issues after the update, in Elite Dangerous.  But not all the time...  In areas of lower CPU utilization, tracking is solid.  But, going into a conflict zone where CPU increases noticeably, that's when the tracking issues started.  As soon as I left the CZ, the CPU usage dropped again, and the tracking was solid again.

    So...  smooth tracking somehow bound to CPU?

    (I have a 6700k @ 4.4Ghz, GTX 1080, so plenty of horsepower.)
    After playing a few more games, I noticed they didnt have any problems. The biggest offender is just New Retro Arcade: Neon. Considering that my NRAN is modded so that it has over 30 games emulated + Attract Screens + Attract MP3's + Custom Background Music + some 30 custom cabinet skins, it could just be that its over the top for CPU usage. I noticed that I'm only really getting the tracking loss while playing a game withing NRAN, so that highly points to some kind of CPU usage link to the tracking.

    I tried setting NRAN to high priority in task manager, didnt seem to make a difference. I set the 3 OculusClient.exe's to high priority in task manager and it seemed? to improve, but it was still there. I don't know, it happens intermittently so maybe my mind was playing tricks on me making me think it was improved.

    I definitely think there is something linked to CPU usage though.

    My NRAN is unchanged from when 1.12 was active and it had 0 problems with 1.12.
  • Devastatin_DaveDevastatin_Dave Posts: 6 Oculus Start Member
    Seeing the exact same issues in elite dangerous since the update, doesn't manifest itself in much else that is super obvious, I'm running 2 sensors however so not sure if related but the "bounce" and "grey out" in ED that indicates loss of tracking are exactly what I'm experiencing.  Wish I could easily roll back, 1.12 was perfect.  
  • vannagirlvannagirl Posts: 2,002 Valuable Player
    Seeing the exact same issues in elite dangerous since the update, doesn't manifest itself in much else that is super obvious, I'm running 2 sensors however so not sure if related but the "bounce" and "grey out" in ED that indicates loss of tracking are exactly what I'm experiencing.  Wish I could easily roll back, 1.12 was perfect.  
    the greyout i had it is apparently a driver update issue that i also had after 1.13 fixed changing to a dvi adaptor i had, it is something nvidias side but its is all as it should be now

    https://forums.oculus.com/community/discussion/comment/501871#Comment_501871

    my also stutters terrible but then it just stopped when i first updated and put the cv1 on. I will run full setup again if it comes back.


    Look, man. I only need to know one thing: where they are. 
  • rkodeyrkodey Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited April 2017
    I think I found a temporary solution that works for me (so far):  process affinity.

    I restricted "EliteDangerous64.exe" to cores 1-6, and "OVRServer_x64.exe" to cores 7-8.  After that, the tracking problems disappeared in my first test!  I'll try a couple more test runs today to make sure it remains stable.  But, thought I'd throw this idea up to see if it helps anyone else.

    Note:  I'm running 1 sensor.

  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,262
    Wintermute
    edited April 2017
    I noticed for the first time that Win10  Power Management keeps swapping on it's own between Balanced, Power Saver, and Max Performance when running games. Could it be the Win10 Update at fault here?

    We need a proper Oculus Tech at hand on this forum. Oculus Support are quite rubbish as they work on cue sheets like a foreign call centre.

    *Nevermind. In another thread it's confirmed to be fixed in a Beta version. The Debug Tool is also now updated also.
  • Devastatin_DaveDevastatin_Dave Posts: 6 Oculus Start Member
    rkodey said:
    I think I found a temporary solution that works for me (so far):  process affinity.

    I restricted "EliteDangerous64.exe" to cores 1-6, and "OVRServer_x64.exe" to cores 7-8.  After that, the tracking problems disappeared in my first test!  I'll try a couple more test runs today to make sure it remains stable.  But, thought I'd throw this idea up to see if it helps anyone else.

    Note:  I'm running 1 sensor.

    Just tried this and I'm also seeing no more tracking glitches.  It was really easy to see in steamvr itself previously, the entire hmd would "grey out" for a second regularly.  
  • KillCardKillCard Posts: 1,078
    Wintermute
    rkodey said:
    I think I found a temporary solution that works for me (so far):  process affinity.

    I restricted "EliteDangerous64.exe" to cores 1-6, and "OVRServer_x64.exe" to cores 7-8.  After that, the tracking problems disappeared in my first test!  I'll try a couple more test runs today to make sure it remains stable.  But, thought I'd throw this idea up to see if it helps anyone else.

    Note:  I'm running 1 sensor.

    I'm going to give this a try, I'll let you know if it works for me in NRAN.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    Sorry for the delay, I am just seeing this thread. Can you please ticket into support if you are still experiencing issues? We will need logs to investigate further. Thanks.
    https://support.oculus.com/
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • SilentChillSilentChill Posts: 28
    Brain Burst
    I have the same problem with a 6DOF motion platform all was good until the 1.12 update. I have tried to create a thread but its not been approved yet.

    I have only extensivly tried Dirt Rally and it only uses 1 sensor for tracking.

    All these problems have nothing to do with our systems, it all worked before the updates its the Oculus runtime messing things up for us. 
  • SilentChillSilentChill Posts: 28
    Brain Burst
    edited April 2017
    .
  • vicpopovicpopo Posts: 27
    Brain Burst
    edited April 2017
    Hi SilentChill ,

    thanks to report this .I Already opened a thread about this subject here : 
    https://forums.oculus.com/community/discussion/comment/509798#Comment_509798

    @cybereality : As you can notice I'm not the only one facing this tracking issue with a moving platform since the 1.13 release .
  • SergeMeister1234SergeMeister1234 Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Same problem here, have never even seen a poor tracking msg for close to a year but now with 1.13 its constant. Only play Assetto Corsa and the rift is now unusable, the jumpiness is making me sick. Changing USB port, re running the config and all the other suggestions so far around the net have had no impact. Please fix ASAP or allow reverting back to 1.12. No motion platform here either



  • SergeMeister1234SergeMeister1234 Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited April 2017
    Quick update on the above for anyone who is having stuttering issues with Assetto Corsa, I plugged the sensor in to one of the incompatible USB3 ports on the board (Asus X79 Formula, AS Media USB3.0) and while Oculus home is complaining that the sensor is in an incompatible port Assetto Corsa work REALLY well
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,262
    Wintermute
    Thank you RKODEY you fixed it...

    Jumps and Flashes are fixed by setting Affinity settings: -
    Run ED then go to TASK MANAGER>DETAILS: Right-Click Affinity

    ED64: cores 1-6
    OculusVR: cores 7-8 (this file may be new in latest Public Test update)
    OVRServer_64: cores 7-8

    OCULUS must now code this so we do not require manual or autohotkey programs.
    Source: https://forums.frontier.co.uk/showthread.php/121355-Getting-the-Best-DK2-CV1-Vive-VR-Experience-Guide-Compendium?p=5404960#post5404960
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    Thanks for sharing. I will get someone to investigate this lead.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • KillCardKillCard Posts: 1,078
    Wintermute
    edited April 2017
    I've also had success with messing with affinity, but for me the cores are different.

    I have to have cores 4 and 6 set enabled on OculusServer_64 or the tracking just dies. The moment I cut Core 4, regardless of what other cores are enabled .. It starts experiencing exteme judder. If I drop Core 6 it works but it has slower tracking update on the HMD (black border becomes visible as I rotate).

    I settled for going cores 0-3 set to the game and 4-7 set to OculusServer_64 and OculusVR and this appears to have solved my problem when playing New Retro Arcade. No longer any bouncing of the HMD after about an hour testing so far.

    Note: That Im referring to the cores as my Task Manger refers to them with Core 0 being the first (not Core 1), as above post appears to have the cores starting at core 1 (I'm assuming this is how Windows 10 sees it, I have Windows 7). So, as an 8 core CPU, I have Cores 0-7.
  • AussieStigAussieStig Posts: 233
    Nexus 6
    Hey guys, I too have noticed this jittering in Assetto Corsa after update 1.13. Is there no-one that can direct us on how to roll back to the previous driver version? That seems to me to be the most simple solution to the immediate issue. I am not sure if disabling cores in Task Manager are applicable for AC? It is a shame as 1.12 drivers were working absolutely perfectly with my DK2 and single wall mounted sensor. I also have a motion rig and it did/does hop now and then, but I can live with that, the jittering is far worse. Cheers guys, AussieStig
Sign In or Register to comment.