Oculus Setup: KB2670838 and KB3033929 required, but already installed — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Oculus Setup: KB2670838 and KB3033929 required, but already installed

paranoidcoderparanoidcoder Posts: 8
NerveGear
So i'm trying to run the Oculus setup, however, every time I try it will not allow me to continue because i do not have the windows updates KB2670838 and KB3033929, but I do have them installed!

The setup file i grabbed from here:
https://www.oculus.com/en-us/setup/

And I've verified through Windows "Installed updates" that both of those updates are present on my Windows 7 machine.


Against my better judgement, I even went through and uninstalled the windows updates, and installed them again, but this problem still persists!

Help? I've been trying to get this thing to work for the last 6 hours!
«13

Comments

  • johhovjohhov Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    I'm having the same issue. No idea how to solve it. Possibly with a clean windows install but I'd rather not do that if it is avoidable.

    Edit: There is another thread with the same issue from two and a half week ago. No solution proposed besides installing windows 8. https://forums.oculus.com/developer/discussion/32463/runcheck-if-on-windows-7-must-have-hotfixes-kb2670838-and-kb3033929-installed-failed#latest
  • paranoidcoderparanoidcoder Posts: 8
    NerveGear
    .8 will at least let me install it--- while giving me a warning that it requires the windows updates (which, again, i have installed!)


    I have a debugger output from that, if I could get .8 to work that'd be enough.

    {
    	"Time":	"2016-04-16_17:31:56",
    	"SDK Version":	"0.8.0.0",
    	"Local SDK Version":	"0.8.0.0",
    	"Service Running Time":	{
    		"Hours":	0,
    		"Minutes":	1,
    		"Seconds":	59
    	},
    	"Display Status":	{
    		"Display Mode":	2,
    		"Win10 Native":	{
    			"Capable":	0,
    			"Available":	0,
    			"ResultCode":	-3005,
    			"Status":	"DXGI 2 Preview requires Windows 10"
    		},
    		"IHVDirect":	{
    			"Capable":	1,
    			"Available":	1,
    			"ResultCode":	0,
    			"Status":	"Direct Display available"
    		},
    		"Legacy Direct":	{
    			"Capable":	1,
    			"Available":	1,
    			"ResultCode":	0,
    			"Status":	"OVRDirect available"
    		},
    		"Summary ResultCode":	0,
    		"Summary Status":	""
    	},
    	"System Specifications":	{
    		"Operating System":	"Microsoft Windows 7 Professional ",
    		"Processor":	"Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4770K CPU @ 3.50GHz",
    		"Graphics Adapters":	[{
    				"Name":	"Intel(R) HD Graphics 4600",
    				"Video Controller RAM (MB)":	1024,
    				"Driver Version":	"10.18.10.3960",
    				"Video Mode":	"1920 x 1080 x 4294967296 colors"
    			}, {
    				"Name":	"NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770",
    				"Video Controller RAM (MB)":	2048,
    				"Driver Version":	"10.18.13.6472",
    				"Video Mode":	"10.18.13.6472"
    			}],
    		"Total RAM (GB)":	32,
    		"USB Tree":	[{
    				"name":	"Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller",
    				"deviceid":	"PCI\\VEN_8086&DEV_8C26&SUBSYS_50061458&REV_04\\3&11583659&0&E8",
    				"caption":	"Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller",
    				"manufacturer":	"(Standard USB Host Controller)",
    				"Devices":	[{
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard USB Host Controller)",
    						"name":	"USB Root Hub"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Generic USB Hub)",
    						"name":	"Generic USB Hub"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Generic USB Hub)",
    						"name":	"Generic USB Hub"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Generic USB Hub)",
    						"name":	"Generic USB Hub"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard USB Host Controller)",
    						"name":	"USB Composite Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"USB Input Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard keyboards)",
    						"name":	"HID Keyboard Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"USB Input Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"Microsoft",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant mouse"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"Microsoft",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant consumer control device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"USB Input Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"Netgear",
    						"name":	"NETGEAR WNA3100 N300 Wireless USB Adapter #2"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Generic USB Hub)",
    						"name":	"Generic USB Hub"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"USB Input Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant device"
    					}]
    			}, {
    				"name":	"Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller",
    				"deviceid":	"PCI\\VEN_8086&DEV_8C2D&SUBSYS_50061458&REV_04\\3&11583659&0&D0",
    				"caption":	"Standard Enhanced PCI to USB Host Controller",
    				"manufacturer":	"(Standard USB Host Controller)",
    				"Devices":	[{
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard USB Host Controller)",
    						"name":	"USB Root Hub"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Generic USB Hub)",
    						"name":	"Generic USB Hub"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard USB Host Controller)",
    						"name":	"USB Composite Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"USB Input Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"Logitech",
    						"name":	"Logitech Gaming Mouse G600"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"Logitech Gaming Mouse G600",
    						"name":	"Logitech Gaming HID Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"USB Input Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard keyboards)",
    						"name":	"HID Keyboard Device"
    					}, {
    						"manufacturer":	"(Standard system devices)",
    						"name":	"HID-compliant device"
    					}]
    			}]
    	},
    	"Drivers":	[{
    			"Path":	"\\system32\\OVRDisplay64.dll",
    			"Version":	"1.2.8.0"
    		}, {
    			"Path":	"\\system32\\OVRDisplayRT64.dll",
    			"Version":	"1.2.8.0"
    		}, {
    			"Path":	"\\syswow64\\OVRDisplay32.dll",
    			"Version":	"1.2.8.0"
    		}, {
    			"Path":	"\\syswow64\\OVRDisplayRT32.dll",
    			"Version":	"1.2.8.0"
    		}, {
    			"Path":	"\\system32\\drivers\\RiftEnabler.sys",
    			"Version":	"1.2.8.0"
    		}, {
    			"Path":	"\\system32\\OVRDisplay32.dll",
    			"Version":	"C:\\Windows\\system32\\OVRDisplay32.dll not found"
    		}, {
    			"Path":	"\\system32\\OVRDisplayRT32.dll",
    			"Version":	"C:\\Windows\\system32\\OVRDisplayRT32.dll not found"
    		}, {
    			"Path":	"\\system32\\drivers\\OCUSBVID.sys",
    			"Version":	"C:\\Windows\\system32\\drivers\\OCUSBVID.sys not found"
    		}],
    	"Video Device Tree":	[{
    			"Name":	"NVIDIA GeForce GTX 770",
    			"VRAM (MB)":	1989,
    			"Monitors":	[{
    					"Name":	"\\\\.\\DISPLAY1",
    					"Width":	1920,
    					"Height":	1080,
    					"Refresh Rate":	60
    				}]
    		}],
    	"Devices":	[{
    			"HMDNRFVersion":	"",
    			"TrackerNRFVersion":	""
    		}]
    }
  • paranoidcoderparanoidcoder Posts: 8
    NerveGear
    edited April 2016
    There was somebody else who had the same problem--- but he deleted his comment, not sure why.
    EDIT: he was suggesting reinstalling windows as a solution 

    Here's another log running .8, this is the serverLog.


    04/16/16 21:40:01: OVR::Win32::HIDDevice - Opened '\\?\hid#vid_2833&pid_0021#9&a79e60d&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}'                    Manufacturer:'Oculus VR, Inc.'  Product:'Rift DK2'  Serial#:'MSCEMBR6K9DAKM005200'  Version:'212'
    04/16/16 21:40:01: [FirmwareVersions] Reading firmware file: C:\Program Files (x86)\Oculus/Tools/Firmware/firmware.zip
    04/16/16 21:40:01: [Sensor2Impl] Repeated 139 IMU samples: 139000 139 0
    04/16/16 21:40:01: [FirmwareVersions] WARNING: Unable to load the firmware file. Version checking for device firmware will be disabled and will report that firmware data is "not found".
    04/16/16 21:40:01: OVR::SensorDevice - Closed '\\?\hid#vid_2833&pid_0021#9&a79e60d&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}'
    04/16/16 21:40:01: OVR::Win32::HIDDevice - Closed '\\?\hid#vid_2833&pid_0021#9&a79e60d&0&0000#{4d1e55b2-f16f-11cf-88cb-001111000030}'
    04/16/16 21:40:02: [AppFocusObserver] Reacting to display change notification (WM_DISPLAYCHANGE).
    04/16/16 21:40:22: {ERR-027} [WatchDogObserver] Deadlock detected: LongPoll

  • MrGhostbonesMrGhostbones Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    Hello

    Can anyone please help me, iam also having the same problem and i have also tried the command prompt as show above but it still pops up with the same hotfix request which is definitely installed. Any help would be amazing! thanks in advance.
  • jadoonsjadoons Posts: 2
    is there any thing good for DK2. HAHA
  • jadoonsjadoons Posts: 2
    THE PLATFORM IS NOT FOR DK 2. SHAME ON OCULUS TEAM . THE NEW WAY OF EARNING
  • falken76falken76 Posts: 2,739 Valuable Player
    I'm having the same problem, I tried to skip the hotfix through the command prompt and it loaded setup right to the screen saying I need the updates.  How do you install this $600 paperweight?  I've been waiting to use this thing for so long, now that I finally get a video card that isn't defective, I can't install this.  Good lord.
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    Do you have Windows Update fully updated?
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • falken76falken76 Posts: 2,739 Valuable Player
    I tried but it hung forever, so I just did a search for both of the updates themselves.  One was already installed the other was not.  Now it fails on install, where are the logs saved?  I have to keep downloading an 809 mb file, it tries to install, then says it failed and gives no explination.  This is infuriating, how do you install this?!
  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • falken76falken76 Posts: 2,739 Valuable Player
    Thank you, I'll try it
  • falken76falken76 Posts: 2,739 Valuable Player
    I installed that, it did not work.  Is there a log somewhere for failed install of oculus software?
  • falken76falken76 Posts: 2,739 Valuable Player
    Actually here is the log



  • falken76falken76 Posts: 2,739 Valuable Player
    Is this being caused by anti virus?  I have avast, I disabled all shields for 10 minutes then did the install, is avast not disabled that way?
  • quickitquickit Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    Hi, Did you find an answer.?
    Got the same issue here. Tried all I could find, but no hope..
  • quickitquickit Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    ok... was case sensitive ! Don't forget to push MAJ key ...installing now..
  • kalliasxkalliasx Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    This is the most awful, buggy, inept setup in the history of computing, when it doesn't say can't connect, it will say you miss updates even if you don't, it's like a setup requires an animal sacrifice for it to work. It's unacceptable. This level of incompetence from a company selling expensive hardware and you can't even enjoy it until you wipe your disk clean, spend a full day on it and then it still will find a way not to install!!!! ENOUGH! If you don't want us to NEVER EVER buy another product from your company, you will give us an offline setup with the option to bypass any sneeze that the setup think will block it. Drop an offline setup already!
  • kalliasxkalliasx Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    I've never been so infuriated with a piece of software... Oculus is now at the top of my list of shittiest company on the surface of this planet. I bought DK1 (for which you dropped like an old sock, it's a paperweight now, thanks!), DK2 and now CV1, and every time I try to install it, something goes wrong, every time. I've had it. 
  • BrokenSymmetryBrokenSymmetry Posts: 250
    Nexus 6
    It ran fine for the majority of us... So maybe a little more patience? Software at this scale in its early age is no doubt buggy. It takes some time.
  • sconescone Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    I was having similar issues with the Oculus installer. Windows Update started hanging on "checking for updates," I tried installing the hotfixes manually, and OculusSetup claims they're not there. Re-running the manual installers would abort saying they were already installed.

    I ended up trying every trick in the book (mostly from this post https://www.howisolve.com/checking-for-updates-stuck-solved-windows-7-sp-1-8-1-10/) and still no luck.

    For some reason I tried changing my update settings. I had selected no automatic updates (bottom, not recommended option) when first installing. Then I guess SP1 set that to auto-install. The hang on checking for updates started happening right after installing SP1, so I think that's probably what did it.

    Anyway, I switched back to no automatic updates and almost immediately the check finished and I was able to click Install. I've been installing updates ever since. It's back to the usual song and dance of check all, install, reboot, check for updates, repeat. Probably on my 10th restart... Thanks Microsoft.

    I'll reply back if I ever get the installer to work.
  • DavidwandrDavidwandr Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    So there is a trick to skip that part of the setup. Open the command prompt (and navigate to the folder where the setup file exists) and run this:
    OculusSetup.exe /bypassHotfixCheck
    However, if the hotfixes *are* missing you will have lots of problems after that point.
    Awesome thanks for the help.  everyone pls note this is Case Sensitive.  does not work otherwise...type exactly as cybereality says. 
  • lepterlepter Posts: 62
    Hiro Protagonist
    Davidwandr said: 
    So there is a trick to skip that part of the setup. Open the command prompt (and navigate to the folder where the setup file exists) and run this:
    OculusSetup.exe /bypassHotfixCheck
    However, if the hotfixes *are* missing you will have lots of problems after that point.
    Awesome thanks for the help.  everyone pls note this is Case Sensitive.  does not work otherwise...type exactly as cybereality says. 
    great advice. oculus really need to sort this though. my rift would be an expensive door stop without this advice. 
  • lepterlepter Posts: 62
    Hiro Protagonist
    So there is a trick to skip that part of the setup. Open the command prompt (and navigate to the folder where the setup file exists) and run this:
    OculusSetup.exe /bypassHotfixCheck
    However, if the hotfixes *are* missing you will have lots of problems after that point.
    So there is a trick to skip that part of the setup. Open the command prompt (and navigate to the folder where the setup file exists) and run this:
    OculusSetup.exe /bypassHotfixCheck
    However, if the hotfixes *are* missing you will have lots of problems after that point.
    pray tell.....what kind of problems will happen? i had to do the bypass hotfix thing to get the software just to install after spending 600 pound oon this thing!  what else is abuyer supposed to do? oculus really need to get this sorted out. i wouldn't buy a car only to discover i need to push it around to get anywere. i skipped the hotfix check and it works. if you knowits a problem, get a patch out or something. 

    its a great peice of tech but this will put off alot of buyers. 
  • bo3bbo3b Posts: 67
    Hiro Protagonist
    Just noting that this is a still a problem today.  

    Was testing a full reinstall as required by Oculus Support, and ran into this again.  This is for a fresh install of Win7 about a month ago.


    One tidbit that might be related is that I used the sort-of SP2 convenience rollup update to bypass the 24 hours of updates.  

    If anyone ever looks into this problem, that would be a scenario to test.
  • bo3bbo3b Posts: 67
    Hiro Protagonist
    So, it doesn't look like the installer supports Win7 at all anymore, not directly anyway. 

    I just did a bare-metal install of Windows 7, and let it go through the normal update cycle through Windows Update, not using the rollup.


    I still get the blocking error about missing KB2670838, which is false.  

    This is part of the Windows installation itself, and does not show up in the "Installed Updates."  Other software that also requires this updates also succeeds.


    It looks to me like you have no choice but to run the cmd line, as Oculus seems uninterested in fixing this problem.


  • bo3bbo3b Posts: 67
    Hiro Protagonist
    More details.  

    When the Windows Update KB4015549 (April Rollup) is installed, that locks out the KB3033929 required update.  The KB3033929 is apparently included as part of the rollup, but is no longer visible.  

    It is both installed so that manually attempting to install will say it is already installed, but also not-installed, because it does not show in Installed Updates, and Oculus setup cannot see it.

    That means that anybody doing complete windows updates is going to get the error message about needing the KB updates when doing Oculus install.  And need to use the cmd /bypassHotfixCheck approach.

    If you manually install KB3033929 and KB2670838 *before* the rollup, it all works correctly.

  • cyberealitycybereality Posts: 26,156 Oculus Staff
    That's good to know. Thanks for following up.
    AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i
    Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV
  • apexmasterapexmaster Posts: 41
    Brain Burst
    hello, I am having same issue, with those Kn hotfix, how to do I use command promt to open oculus .exe?
Sign In or Register to comment.