New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

HTC finally gives in! The Vive price cut has arrived

Comments

• kzintzikzintzi Posts: 1,068
    Wintermute
    [warning, in a mood - not sick for the first time in two weeks, and the wife has already said "thank gods I'm going out today" to me twice]

it's going to be very interesting to see how AR/MR is integrated into our lives in the next 10-15 years.. Microsoft (and Apples) constant reinvention (or outright purchase) of a Technology and trying to make it seem like they started the whole thing is fairly typical for them. sometimes it works (MS-DOS, Office, Visio), and sometimes it fails badly (Zune, Windows Mobile 8).

:smiley:  and before anyone gets on the "open office/Lotus Domino/<insert some esoteric community solution here> is better" bandwagon, alls I can say is I've been working in the Enterprise space for 20+ years and it's rarely (I'd say never but Lotus Domino/Notes was a contender back in the day) been a mainstream thing. sure the backbone of the internet is built on Linux (have 1000's of servers running it at work), but if you want lots of people to use it every day, it's windows (unless they're an artiste then it's OSX).

I suspect that Microsofts attempt will either work well and a lot of (uninformed) people will say that it's the mainstream VR and unit's like the Rift is the goto when you want quality (though the price drop will help there I hope, I like my Rift), or it'll be another case of them climbing on the bandwagon too late and they'll drop it for normal users. regardless of which way it turns out, we'll be visiting VR places, and having information overlayed onto the environment from here on. which is friken amazing regardless of who you are.