USB Driver Update Recommended - I have latest? — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

USB Driver Update Recommended - I have latest?

deansouth8deansouth8 Posts: 16
NerveGear
So, I'm seeing RED triangle that usually indicates issue. It seems to be just a warning though below there is a yellow triangle message on the two USB devices that are connected to my Fresco USB.  "Your headset is plugged in correctly. If you encounter tracking issues, updating your driver (Fresco Logic) may improve performance."

Is there an updated driver I don't know about somewhere?  I'm pretty spiffy with these darn computers thingies and I'm pretty sure I have the most supported drivers that are available to me are installed on here.  I'm running 3.8.33709.0 in device manager and it's what plants crave.

The thing is I looked at the driver version in device manager and the driver version on the Fresco Logic website and they are identical. I did a repair with the downloaded copy. Rebooted. Unplugged all USB devices. Removed all hidden drivers  and hardware listed in device manager. Rebooted. Reinstalled Oculus drivers from program files support folder. Tossed my keyboard really hard on the ground whywl my b2dtteries f3ll out. Not because of this but because of the incessant flashing and temporary and sometimes permanent loss of HDCP my TV does when connected to my computer when on a mostly white webpage or image. It's just the TV, doesn't do it on the secondary monitor. It also seems to coincide with what I type and where I type it. I just played with typing a, p and, b in one spot and consistently got it to do it over and over but not with other characters. GOD! Weird. BOINK HDCP! Yes Oculus anything makes it very hard to deal with because of the mostly eye piercing all white themes.  I don't think I have ever seen it happen with Oculus app completely closed but, can't confirm fully that observation.  Alright enough sharing.


Comments

  • BoneboysBoneboys Posts: 68
    Hiro Protagonist
    I had the same issue yesterday using the same Fresco drivers after updating my Logitech Gaming Software.
    Everything else including W10 is up to date.
    I tried everything, reinstalling and checking Fresco driver page for updates without success.

    I finally fixed the issue by completely removing the Fresco Driver, rebooting and letting W10 update the system with Fresco Logic USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller - 1.0 (Microsoft).
    This has in fact improved the system in general, tracking is good (3 sensor) and everything boots directly into USB 3, where previously I often needed to re-start Oculus and quickly unplug / plug in the sensors to get everything in order.
    I also reset the whole play/sensor setup, which for some reason asked if I wanted to run the setup every time I opened Oculus.

    Might help, might not.
    Good luck.

    Get a Grasp, get a Grip, get Rifting.
  • deansouth8deansouth8 Posts: 16
    NerveGear
    Like out of the toilet?
    Thanks sooo much for the response Bu buu Boneboys. :o  :# :D  Your saving me a lot of time. Pic0o too me thinks.  I'm going to try this as soon as I can.

  • maxx11111maxx11111 Posts: 91
    Hiro Protagonist
    Pic0o said:
    I too have the 'USB driver update recommended" for my sensor plugged into a Fresco FL1100EX controller.  I have the OEM driver from here installed currently https://support.frescologic.com/portal/kb/articles/latest-drivers
    But I will try the Windows 10 ones out.  Also of note with the Fresco Logic drivers, it also shows that sensor as USB 2.0 in the Oculus software under devices.

    Giving that a try and I'll update if any issues.  Thanks for the info!
    Edit: I uninstalled the Fresco drivers version 3.8.33709.0, rebooted and got the Fresco Logic USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller - 1.0 (Microsoft) Drivers in Device Manager.
    Just for reference, the Microsoft Driver version in device properties is 10.0.16299.15.
    Error in Rift went away under devices.  Thanks again.

    TL;DR fix: Remove the Fresco drivers and let Windows update put the Microsoft ones in place.

    doing this removes the warning but my 3rd sensor now says usb2 no matter how i swap the leads around i have 2 inatek cards and have the third sensor on it own card.
  • Hornet_F4CHornet_F4C Posts: 214
    Nexus 6

    This is madness. If Oculus gives warnings they should explain them or leave them out. Unbelievable how end users are starting to waste time again with this stuff...


  • deansouth8deansouth8 Posts: 16
    NerveGear
    Agreed, Hornet.  I performed the actions that Boneboys o   D  suggested.  It worked for 24 hours but, now presented with my longest USB 2 run missing completely and the same errors. I'm upgrading to the Alpha Not Quite Ready For Prime Time Brawndo Monster Truck Challenge Beta Public 2.0 Total Annihilation version to see what happens.  While installing I just split my pants like the Incredible Hulk and found a way to win at winning. I even won at exorcise like riding a dinosaur attached to a rocket ship.  I somehow don't think it's going to work though.  BTW, I wouldn't worry about the USB 2 thing. Everyone including me say that it runs fine on USB 2.  For some reason I'm a fan of keeping the HDM portion hooked to USB3 in good shape.
  • deansouth8deansouth8 Posts: 16
    NerveGear
    Oh... Hey...  After that install I was prompted by the ha...Alpha Not Quite Ready For Prime Time Brawndo Monster Truck Challenge Beta Public 2.0 Total Annihilation version to update my damn video card drivers.  I wonder if the (dear god) Beta version is a false positive. 
  • BoneboysBoneboys Posts: 68
    Hiro Protagonist
     I wouldn't worry about the USB 2 thing.
    The trick now is to restart the computer (check that the headset is running on USB 3).
    On reboot all devices will show as USB 3 connected (my 3rd sensor is connected to a USB 2 port).
    The quickly unplug/plugin sensor trick no longer works, neither does restarting Oculus services.

    Rebooting works everytime (for me anyhow).
    Might help, might not !
    Get a Grasp, get a Grip, get Rifting.
  • Urma.GurdUrma.Gurd Posts: 30
    Brain Burst
    Pic0o said:
    Edit: I uninstalled the Fresco drivers version 3.8.33709.0, rebooted and got the Fresco Logic USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller - 1.0 (Microsoft) Drivers in Device Manager.
    Just for reference, the Microsoft Driver version in device properties is 10.0.16299.15.
    For me after uninstalling the Fresco drivers from "Add or Remove Programs", the Microsoft auto-installed drivers are "Fresco Logic USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller - 1.0 (Microsoft)" version 10.0.16299.125 dated 07/12/2017.

    And yes, the red triangle warnings on Oculus Devices went away after this fix. Nice. Shame oculus help doesn't explain this.
  • NetheriNetheri Posts: 215
    Nexus 6
    Pic0o said:
    I too have the 'USB driver update recommended" for my sensor plugged into a Fresco FL1100EX controller.  I have the OEM driver from here installed currently https://support.frescologic.com/portal/kb/articles/latest-drivers
    But I will try the Windows 10 ones out.  Also of note with the Fresco Logic drivers, it also shows that sensor as USB 2.0 in the Oculus software under devices.

    Giving that a try and I'll update if any issues.  Thanks for the info!
    Edit: I uninstalled the Fresco drivers version 3.8.33709.0, rebooted and got the Fresco Logic USB 3.0 eXtensible Host Controller - 1.0 (Microsoft) Drivers in Device Manager.
    Just for reference, the Microsoft Driver version in device properties is 10.0.16299.15.
    Error in Rift went away under devices.  Thanks again.

    TL;DR fix: Remove the Fresco drivers and let Windows update put the Microsoft ones in place.

    Yeah, this works nicely! Thank you PiC0o! It is shame that the same ppl (Oculus) who says that only FL1100 is supported doesn't say anything about it's manufacturers drivers to be incompatible..
    i5-8600K@5GHz, Gigabyte 2080 Gaming OC, Corsair 32gb 3000MHz@3100MHz DDR4, ROG Strix Z370 H Gaming, 2 x Inateck 4 port USB 3.0 cards.
    Non-mandatory Home 2.0 and/or Dash in memoriam
  • ivan.stangivan.stang Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    I do not have fresco drivers but have seen my sensor showing as usb 2.0
    Did anyone read the manual?  2 sensors are for USB 3 and 1 USB3 for the headVRgear and the third sensor must be placed in a USB 2.0 slot.    I am sure this is all about power requirements.    

    I did not follow directions and my PC kept rebooting  because all 3 sensors were in USB 3.0     

    So just a heads up.
  • SpaceHexagonSpaceHexagon Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    edited June 2018
    Hey everyone, I've had to re-install windows twice after updating my ASMedia usb drivers, as recommended by Oculus Home. Updating it breaks windows and prevents booting, startup-repair and requires a full re-install. Have any of you experienced this?
  • SpaceHexagonSpaceHexagon Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    edited June 2018
    Hey everyone, I've had to re-install windows twice after updating my ASMedia usb drivers, as recommended by Oculus Home. Updating it breaks windows and prevents booting, startup-repair and requires a full re-install. Have any of you experienced this?
    It's an Asus Motherboard; Z170
  • SpaceHexagonSpaceHexagon Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    I do not have fresco drivers but have seen my sensor showing as usb 2.0
    Did anyone read the manual?  2 sensors are for USB 3 and 1 USB3 for the headVRgear and the third sensor must be placed in a USB 2.0 slot.    I am sure this is all about power requirements.    

    I did not follow directions and my PC kept rebooting  because all 3 sensors were in USB 3.0     

    So just a heads up.
    did you get past the POST screen, to windows at all, during that?
  • ThrudaWirezThrudaWirez Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    edited June 2018
    You guys are awesome!  I had same issue, got an Asus P8H61 motherboard and just recently bought the Inateck 4 - 3.0 usb hub express card.  Installed driver from website and all seemed perfect at first but after the first reboot I started getting the "USB update recommended" error for any sensor plugged into the card.  I tried to update the driver a couple different ways but all said i had the latest driver, found this and tried it...uninstalled driver from website, rebooted and let Win10 install the driver and it fixed all issues I had. ..thanks again!
  • HeadRusch1HeadRusch1 Posts: 67
    Hiro Protagonist
    edited June 2018
    Probably the one instance in the history of windows where the windows default driver was the proper path to getting hardware working.
  • tontonfraguertontonfraguer Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Thanks for the tip ! That's help me too B)
    You guys are awesome!  I had same issue, got an Asus P8H61 motherboard and just recently bought the Inateck 4 - 3.0 usb hub express card.  Installed driver from website and all seemed perfect at first but after the first reboot I started getting the "USB update recommended" error for any sensor plugged into the card.  I tried to update the driver a couple different ways but all said i had the latest driver, found this and tried it...uninstalled driver from website, rebooted and let Win10 install the driver and it fixed all issues I had. ..thanks again!

  • TheAquilaSamuraiTheAquilaSamurai Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    Removing and rebooting doesn't seem to be working for me :/ i uninstall it and after restart I just get the same drivers back again :(
  • CyberMax007CyberMax007 Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    I can confirm that this workaround worked for me. I had this problem forever... Thanks!
  • Shenmue-is-lifeShenmue-is-life Posts: 18
    NerveGear
    edited June 7
    Thanks for the tip. This was so confusing.
Sign In or Register to comment.