cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CV1 - Lags, Stuttering, and Unusable

Kevinaki
Heroic Explorer
Background: This is the second Rift I purchased for when I have friends/family over. It's only been used 2 times and today was the third time I went to use it and discovered the issues. Never had a problem with it before but now it glitches to the point it's unusable as you'll see in the video. I didn't update any of my Nvidia drivers until after I noticed the issue thinking it may resolve it but it did not. I tried everything I could think of except reinstalling Windows and that seems alone seems like a ridiculous way to narrow down what the real problem is.

PC Specs: 
CPU: i9-7900X
GPU: Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
MOBO: Prime X299-DELUXE
RAM: Corsair 64GB DDR4

Video of Problem:
https://youtu.be/JprIW2KWCNQ

Is there a solution or are these signs that I have a defective Rift???
14 REPLIES 14

vannagirl
Consultant
I am no expert but it does not seem the hmd is defective at this point i have had tracking as bad or worse from time to time

Have you opted back out of beta 1.22 to see if this clears

Do you use a usb card or motherboard only?

How many sensors in the setup?

Would also suggest posting the logs
Look, man. I only need to know one thing: where they are. 

vannagirl
Consultant
Also

Do you run the tray tool and have it setup for disabling usb power saving etc??
Look, man. I only need to know one thing: where they are. 

Kevinaki
Heroic Explorer
@vannagirl thanks for the reply. This happened before I opted in the beta but I didn't think it was a major issue that I couldn't quickly fix so I didn't record it. Prior to 1.22 I had 1.20 and older Nvidia drivers.

Yes, I only use usbs on the mobo but never had an issue with that even on two of my other custom PC builds. 

I only have 2 sensor setup now. 

I don't run the tray tool but just downloaded it.

Syrellaris
Rising Star