cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How many Oculus headset can I connect to a single powerfull PC simultaniuosly?

robvaz5857
Honored Guest
Hey guys, I'm an educational software developer and I want to know how many Oculus Googles can be connected and used at the ssame time to a single powerfull PC? I want to build a laboratory and I want to know if can use a server with terminals and connect multiples Oculus headset at the same time with differents desktops(users)? I will buy a couple hundreds if it works to a single PC.
26 REPLIES 26

that may be getting towards the realms of... better off buying 2 PCs territory... but I love the tech behind these ideas

kojack
MVP
MVP
On the virtualisation side, it depends on how the display is handled. The rift needs special support inside of the nvidia/amd drivers (for direct mode display connection), so those would need to support virtualisation (so it would depend on where the gfx drivers were sitting, above or below the virtualisation layer). Who knows.

One thing we know, the rift is extremely fussy about usb and hdmi ports and some people have enough trouble getting it to work on a typical PC. Making it jump through extra hoops is going to reduce it's chance of working.

Author: Oculus Monitor,  Auto Oculus Touch,  Forum Dark Mode, Phantom Touch Remover,  X-Plane Fixer
Hardware: Threadripper 1950x, MSI Gaming Trio 2080TI, Asrock X399 Taich
Headsets: Wrap 1200VR, DK1, DK2, CV1, Rift-S, GearVR, Go, Quest, Quest 2, Reverb G2

LZ, you have the job (and the resources) to undertake this mission, good luck

(I suggest starting by lowering yourself from a cable suspended from the centre of the ceiling)

LZoltowski
Champion

LZ, you have the job (and the resources) to undertake this mission, good luck

(I suggest starting by lowering yourself from a cable suspended from the centre of the ceiling)

Should I fail you will disavow all knowledge of me tho!

mission impossible GIF