cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Are there any severe health risks?

Razor13
Honored Guest
I am 14 and I am kind of worried about the health risks. Will my eyes be negatively affected. Will my brain be negatively affected? Would appreciate help!
6 REPLIES 6

WreckLuse68
Heroic Explorer
Will my brain be negatively affected?
That depends on what you consider a 'negative affect' is.
When Einstein was asked how it felt to be the smartest man on Earth, he replied, “I wouldn’t know. Ask Nikola Tesla”.

Anonymous
Not applicable
As VR is totally new, it is hard to tell with absolute certitude.
Personnally, I've been using it for more than 2 years now, almost everyday (in average, I would say 2 hours everyday), and I don't have any severe or permanent health issues.

- For your eyes, no need to worry at all ^^. VR is not worse than normal screens (for the record, it uses smartphone screens). The only thing you will experience is visual fatigue after long sessions (which I don't consider a "health issue", as there is no severe consequences to it and you feel it less and less when you get used to it).

- For your brain, there's still some doubts, to be honest. VR does trick your brain. The question is, "does it trick it in a bad way, or just in a fun way?". For now, never heard of any bad consequences on the brain. Basically, it's just an optical illusion.

- Finally, the one true problem you will encounter is motion sickness. Although it's become less of a problem today (the devs now know how to counter it), you may still encounter experiences that make you sick.
But once again, there is no permanent consequences to it ^^. You may just feel sick for a few hours xD. And once again, you get used to it with time : you will grow what people call "VR legs" (resistance to motion sickness).