cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Medium Mesh Import Guide

duncankeller
Protege
Hey all,

My name is Duncan, I'm a dev on the Medium team. I know some people have been asking for an import guide, so I wrote up some short guidelines. This guide is targeted specifically to Reference Meshes, though there's certainly some overlap with stamps. There isn't all that much to it, but with textured meshes coming online it seemed like as good a time as any. If there's anything you'd like more detail on, let me know and I can update it.

Thanks!
37 REPLIES 37

timflee
Explorer
Hi all.
Let me first start by saying how impressed I am with Medium. I find it very richly featured (at least for my needs), intuitive and the controls very well thought out.

I’m a mechatronics engineer developing medical instruments and the company I work with has just started dipping its toe into the VR space. Medium gives us many (almost all) of the features we are initially looking for, but, a problem with importing colours and textures in through reference meshes is really limiting the potential.

Specifically, I am exporting files from Solidworks (3D CAD) and trying to import them into Medium WHILE still retaining the colours and textures of the original CAD model in Medium.

I believe I’m following the instructions in the various guides and manuals (but very happy to have any mistakes in my process pointed out) and have tried pretty much everything I can think of to get things working. Almost all of my attempts result in grey meshes in medium with no texture or colour. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!!!

So, down to what I am confident is working and what I have tried so far.

I am successfully able to export .obj and .fbx texture and coloured models from Solidworks using the following tools: