New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Upon startup i get Fatal Error: Medium has crashed

UnityboyUnityboy Posts: 1
NerveGear
Medium was working fine until a few days ago.
I got a displayport to hdmi converter for my 2nd monitor and that caused both monitors to be unstable, going on and off, or displayed no signal at all. This is the only notable change I can think of. I'm using one monitor via displayport (no converter) and a second via DVI now with no issues. 

I tired a number of fixes but none work for me including: 
making sure i don't have overclocking software running
cleaning my system of all things oculus and reinstalling 
getting rid of all ad blockers
reinstalling graphics drivers

I'm hoping that looking in the right place in the oculus logs could shed some light on the issue? Can anyone tell me what I should be looking for? 

Much thanks.    

Comments

  • MattHickmanMattHickman Posts: 359 Oculus Staff
    Have you tried running the rift and only a single monitor? We have seen some issues related to a second monitor cause instability but usually when it's run off a video output not on the main GPU. 

    The Medium specific logs are at: *UserName*\AppData\LocalLow\Oculus\Medium\log
  • SypherxSypherx Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    I'm getting the same error.  I use one monitor but my rift is connected to my GPU via a HDMI to DisplayPort.  Could this be the issue?  Every app on Oculus works except Medium.  I've tried all of the troubleshooting above.  I've sent Oculus my logs.  Can't figure out why i can't use this app.  Any ideas please help
  • SypherxSypherx Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    I'm getting the same error.  I use one monitor but my rift is connected to my GPU via a HDMI to DisplayPort.  Could this be the issue?  Every app on Oculus works except Medium.  I've tried all of the troubleshooting above.  I've sent Oculus my logs.  Can't figure out why i can't use this app.  Any ideas please help
  • SypherxSypherx Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    I just changed my ports and put Rift on HDMI and my monitor on DP...No change.  I can't use this app because of the Fatal Error.  If anyone can find a solution that would be great :expressionless: 

  • SypherxSypherx Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    I feel like this line in my log may shine some light on our issue.  Do you get the following error in your log too?


    11/28/17 01:39:25 [S]: GLFW Error [65542]: WGL: The driver does not appear to support OpenGL
    11/28/17 01:39:25 [S]: FAIL_RELEASE Unable to create window at src\app.cpp:653
  • MattHickmanMattHickman Posts: 359 Oculus Staff
    edited November 2017
    What video card are you running and what's the driver version? Maybe just attach your dxdiag and we can poke around?
  • SypherxSypherx Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    edited November 2017
    What video card are you running and what's the driver version? Maybe just attach your dxdiag and we can poke around?

    I have a GTX 1080ti Driver version 388.31  On a Windows 10 Pro 64 OS.  I've attached my dxdiag.  
  • MattHickmanMattHickman Posts: 359 Oculus Staff
    edited November 2017
    Are you trying to run this using re-vive? Not seeing anything strange in your setup asside from the vive camera showing up and it looks like one of your Oculus drivers is unsigned. 
  • SypherxSypherx Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    What video card are you running and what's the driver version? Maybe just attach your dxdiag and we can poke around?

    I have a GTX 1080ti Driver version 388.31 (latest version)  On a Windows 10 Pro 64 OS.  I've attached my dxdiag.  
  • SypherxSypherx Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    What video card are you running and what's the driver version? Maybe just attach your dxdiag and we can poke around?

    I have a GTX 1080ti Driver version 388.31 (latest version)  On a Windows 10 Pro 64 OS.  I've attached my dxdiag.  
  • SypherxSypherx Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    edited November 2017
    Are you trying to run this using re-vive? Not seeing anything strange in your setup asside from the vive camera showing up and it looks like one of your Oculus drivers is unsigned. 

    No i'm not.  I do have a Vive headset connected to my PC too but I use my Rift when I use my Oculus apps.  I don't use Revive. Also, how do I get the driver signed if it is necessary.  I have many oculus apps and they all work except Medium
  • MattHickmanMattHickman Posts: 359 Oculus Staff
    Medium is one of only a few apps that uses OpenGL so frequently weird hardware or driver issues can manifest in Medium and not other Rift apps. I would try unplugging the vive (that it shouldn't cause any issues I know of but we've seen some weird ones) and try uninstalling the Oculus app and reinstalling. We're still digging around but nothing obvious so far. If you reproduce the crash can you note what time and timezone you crash at? It will help us pull the online crash report.
  • SypherxSypherx Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    Medium is one of only a few apps that uses OpenGL so frequently weird hardware or driver issues can manifest in Medium and not other Rift apps. I would try unplugging the vive (that it shouldn't cause any issues I know of but we've seen some weird ones) and try uninstalling the Oculus app and reinstalling. We're still digging around but nothing obvious so far. If you reproduce the crash can you note what time and timezone you crash at? It will help us pull the online crash report.

    Ok I unplugged the Vive and reinstalled all of oculus and it still doesn't run.  Here are the logs from the Oculus log report
  • SwarmriderSwarmrider Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Hi, got the same issue here - Quill works fine, same all of my Steam apps.
    Medium crashes upon start. It worked fine before the last update.
    Brand new Asus VR ready laptop, 16GB RAM, 1060GTX, no overlocking, no other apps than Steam and Oculus. Got this laptop as my demo machine.
  • jessicazetajessicazeta Posts: 194 Oculus Staff
    @Swarmrider ;Since it's a new computer, it may be possible that you need to make a Medium folder in My Documents (this could be a problem with computers with multiple users and Administrators).

    In addition, you may also need to update to the latest graphic card drivers. Try to stop the Oculus Runtime service, uninstall and reinstall my GFX drivers, and then start the service once more. Let me know if that works for you.

  • codegradcodegrad Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    Played Medium when I first got it for quite a while.  Loved it.  Come back 2 weeks later (and 4 days after an update) and now I get this on every start.  I've rebooted.  I've reinstalled Medium.  I'm not reinstalling the Ocululs app because I assume that means I'd have to re-download every app (too many!).  But I saw someone did that and it didn't work for them anyway.

    I noticed most of these posts are from 2017... until June 29th when two more popped up.  Did the latest update break something?  No issues on any other apps.  Seems like a release bug.
  • jessicazetajessicazeta Posts: 194 Oculus Staff

    You may want to try one of the following:

    • Please make sure you’ve updated to the latest graphic card drivers (NVIDIA 398.36, AMD 18.6.1 at this writing). If you think you have updated, try to stop the Oculus Runtime service, uninstall and reinstall your GFX drivers, and then start the service once more.

    • Please delete your entire Preferences folder in My Documents/ Medium and restart Medium.

    • It may be possible that you need to make a Medium folder in My Documents (this could be a problem with computers with multiple users and Administrators).


    If none of these work, can you list your PC configuration (GTX, OS) as well as headset (Vive, Oculus, or anything else)?


  • codegradcodegrad Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    edited July 2018
    GTX 1080 (latest driver), Windows10, Oculus Rift
    Uninstalled Medium and reinstalled.  Installed latest updates.  Tried to run with and without a Medium folder in Documents.  Still getting the error after every attempt.  Only thing I didn't try was unintall and reinstall my GFX drivers.  I'll wait to see if other are reporting this issue before I start jacking with that.  Thanks
  • SwarmriderSwarmrider Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Thanks! Drivers made it! 
Sign In or Register to comment.