cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Running a VR PE class at my High School. Need advice on handling!

tyeron
Explorer
I'm a comp sci teacher at an Austin high school. I'm working with the University of Texas doing research on the effect of VR for fitness as well as the soft skill such as collaboration and critical thinking that are built during physical education classes.

In the area that I'll be using my 8 riftNtouch (and some other hmds) I'll need to setup and break down the headsets, cameras and controllers every day for the class. I"m working on proper handling and care of everything so the students can take care of some of the work.  I'm already getting VR covers for a more hygienic and make all of the components easy to clean.

Currently my plan includes how to wind the HMD cord properly and place it in the box with the connections secured away from the lenses. Same treatment for the cables on on the cameras . We're using the original riftNtouch box to store things.  Then how to wipe everything down after each use. I mean, it is a PE class so we are expecting some sweat.

We're using the cafeteria so we have a good bit of space but that also means I can't put any mounts up for cameras. 

So, if anyone has any good ideas how I can avoid issues and keep my riftNtouch in good shape, I'm all ears. 
9 REPLIES 9

Morgrum
Expert Trustee

Folks have been using mic stands as portable standa for their sensors.

I stand corrected they were using selfie sticks for cheap and reliable stands.

https://forums.oculusvr.com/community/discussion/53624/think-i-may-have-stumbled-on-an-easy-way-to-m...

WAAAGH!

Morgrum
Expert Trustee
If you do not mind spending the cash this is the carrying case I bought.
I can attest to its durability because it has gone through military airlift multiple times.