cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Oculus Go: can the resolution be changed?

jimroyce
Explorer
I am new to VR and purchased the Go. So far, enjoying it.  The resolution is rather fuzzy.  Is there a setting for focus to make the images and text sharper?  Or is there a resolution setting? 
6 REPLIES 6

cybereality
Grand Champion
No, the resolution is fixed. It shouldn't be blurry though, at least not in terms of VR headsets. Keep in mind that the lenses magnify the screen, so it won't be as clear as what you expect of a high-end monitor or smart phone.
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV

Stephen_2105
Explorer
So,you'll get some of what you are speaking about if your eyes don't have the "average space between them" (which is how they determine how far apart they should place the lenses).  I get some blurriness as well but its because of that - my eyes are further apart than the average. (You'll see it referred to as IPD)https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pupillary_distance

However, if you are an average size person with an average size head with an average set of eyes, this may not be your issue. 🙂

Pixelfox
Expert Protege
I find that text is sharp and clean in the middle of the screen but it picks up large amounts of chromatic aberration as you get towards the edges. It can be affected by how tightly you have it strapped to your head (don't go too tight).

I was delighted to find that I don't need glasses to get a sharp picture (Could never achieve focus on a $15 Google Cardboard without trying to cram my reading glasses in there, but the Go is sharp without them).  

jimroyce
Explorer