cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Export setting for larger scenes and multiple layer batch export

meler101
Explorer
Hi, I am a developer who really loves using this application for conception spaces for both art direction and level design.

This tool from my current perspective, is chiefly focused solely on single asset creation such as a prop or character. Environment conception however, is an incredible use case (even if it is just a sketch). The kickback in my current pipeline is how slow the export process takes for large scale scenes I create. I have learned that breaking a scene up into layers is the best avenue to keep the export/decimation fast and as accurate as possible. The drawback here is having to over-wright my FBX or OBJ each time I export a layer, as there is no current way to have multiple exports and only one file can be written. This means I have to remove the headset each time in order to drag the file out of the export folder and rename it. Exporting a single file can be very heavy, what I would love as an addition is the option to export each layer as an individual file, with Medium moving through my layer stack one at a time, auto turning off all other layers as it goes. Similar to a batch script in other programs such as Photoshop. 

If anyone knows how do do this already I would love to know how, or if others have a similar but better pipe, I would appreciate your input.

Furthermore, I would gladly share samples of my work, or provide further elaboration.

Thanks,

-Marcus
4 REPLIES 4

Anonymous
Not applicable

meler101 said:

Hi, I am a developer who really loves using this application for conception spaces for both art direction and level design.