cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rainbow Hands

Richooal
Consultant
I put my Rift on today and was surprised to see that I had new hands.
My memory isn't really good these days, but I don't recall ordering new hands. These new ones look like cheap shiny plastic, and are rainbow coloured. The worst part though is, when you look at the part where your arm normally joins the hand, they have mirrors in there.

I'm not a developer, but I'm guessing we're wasting a bit of GPU grunt on reflections that we won't ever use.

Could I respectfully ask, how do I get rid of my LGBTTQQIAAP hands which allow me to reflect on life? I just want "virtually real" hands thank you.
i5 6600k - GTX1060 - 8GB RAM - Rift CV1 + 3 Sensors - 1 minor problem
Dear Oculus, If it ain't broke, don't fix it, please.
8 REPLIES 8

TomCgcmfc
MVP
MVP
No Rainbow hands with mirrored ends in Oculus Home for me, just the nice standard whitish ones.  Maybe you have edited your avatar recently?  Maybe this has an effect on hand colour?  Don't know since I've never tried editing mine.
i9 13900K water cooled, RTX4090, Z790 MB w/wifi6e, 32Gb 6400 ram, 2x2TB SSD, 1000W PSU, Win 11, QPro, Q3, w/Link and Air Link, Vive Pro1 with Etsy lens mod and Index Controllers

Digikid1
Consultant
It's not just hands.  I've seen this while visiting other homes as well.....anything from rainbow clothes to avatars.  This is a bug and apparently has been around since 1.35.

Richooal
Consultant

Digikid1 said:

It's not just hands.  I've seen this while visiting other homes as well.....anything from rainbow clothes to avatars.  This is a bug and apparently has been around since 1.35.

Well I'm on 1.35 but, as I type, the update is downloading.

Edit: Just checked, still on 1.35, the whacko rainbow hands have been replaced with normal hands. So it looks like it is just a bug.