cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie questions....be gentle.

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hi

I'm a newbie to the VR world and have only used my new Oculus Go a couple of times. I have some questions and I apologise in advance if they are dumb and you roll your eyes.....my aim is to use the Go to watch movies and videos that I have stored on my Windows 7 PC. The media is also duplicated to a WD NAS drive. Everything is on the same home wi-fi network and the signal is strong.

I read some good things about Skybox player so I've installed that as a first step. I'm having a few issues with it and have posted those questions to them. In short, some of my media plays OK but with no sound, I'm not sure what type/resolution of movies to download for the sharpest viewing experience as some of the test clips I've used have been fuzzy - that sort of thing.

So, Q1 - bearing in mind that I want to watch media sitting on my PC, not clutter the headset with files - what do people out there recommend as the best player for this type of configuration?

Q2: A bit more general - can anyone recommend any apps that have a real 'wow' factor about them? I'm not really into the gaming side of things yet but I'm open to suggestions.

Finally, for now, Q3 - just watching a movie, what kind of battery life are people getting from their Go headsets? Trying to watch a 2-hour+ movie on a unit with a battery life less than that seems a bit daft. Any tips on prolonging battery life to make it movie-length-friendly?

Thanks in advance

6 REPLIES 6

TomCgcmfc
MVP
MVP
Q1; you don't need to clutter your Go's internal storage if you manage things correctly.  Just download the apps you need and uninstall ones you do not need.