New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

USB 3.0 Extension Cables Not working

Mr_GoodKatMr_GoodKat Posts: 34
Brain Burst
Hey all!
I'm trying to set up my rift and touch sensors on the opposite side of the room from my computer. I purchased 3 15ft USB 3.0 extensions in order to get that done. I hooked up the sensors first, and both were detected as USB 3.0, but the as soon as I plugged in the headset, everything went crazy. All of the USB ports started connecting and disconnecting. My guess is this is a power issue. I have a 750W power supply so I'm not sure why it would have a problem. Is 15ft just too long? Most of the stuff I've read has people testing this with 10 ft extensions.

Thanks

Comments

  • J-ArcherJ-Archer Posts: 28
    Brain Burst
    Could well be a little too long, I use a 3M extension and it seems to work fine, just an Amazon basics one.
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 4,067 Valuable Player
    i thought my amazon basics one was fine too... however i am beginning to think my usb 3 cables are the source of most of my issues.  looking in the settings they seem to swtich between connecting at usb 2 and usb 3 (when at usb 2 they seem to work better). 

    (side note is there a way to force usb2 even if in a usb 3 port with usb 3 cable? better that than swapping to and fro imo.)
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • XlordBXlordB Posts: 289
    Nexus 6
    what ive noticed with my usb 3.0 cables dropping to usb 2 in settings is if there is movement at the connection very strange indeed
  • Lemming1970Lemming1970 Posts: 681
    Neo
    Did you buy ACTIVE usb cables?
    Modded Coolermaster RC-1000 Cosmos/1000W Corsair HX Series
    i7 6700k o/c to 4.7ghz Corsair H100i water cooler.
    Zotac 1080Ti
    16 gb DDR4 o/c to 3000mhz
    Predator XB271HU 27" 2560x1440 IPS G-Sync 165Hz
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 4,067 Valuable Player
    Did you buy ACTIVE usb cables?
    no, i had raid a number of posts suggesting 3m and under it should not be needed.

    i have this
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00NH12O5I/

    and 2 of these - + another these as 2m for the HMD
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00TCMGM5E

    would this be better?

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00P0ES0YE?psc=1



    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • BloodletBloodlet Posts: 735
    3Jane
    I tried several 3m cables with no luck. Only 2m worked. then I bought a 5m one of these:

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/CableCreation-Active-Extension-Extender-Female/dp/B0179MXKU8

    Worked like a dream.
    I now have a three sensor set up with two of the sensors and the rift using active usb extension cables and have had no issues.


  • nosys70nosys70 Posts: 466
    Art3mis
    edited January 2017
    it is not the cable length that is problem
    is the section of the cable is not planned to transport high current on long distance.
    so your 5V will drop to unnacceptable level at the other end.
    you just need to put a powered usb hub at the end of the cable and probably all will go fine.
    some extention cable offer a possibility to plug a 5V power supply in it, because basicall all active usb extender are in fact a 1 port usb hub.
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 4,067 Valuable Player
    edited January 2017
    Bloodlet said:
    I tried several 3m cables with no luck. Only 2m worked. then I bought a 5m one of these:

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/CableCreation-Active-Extension-Extender-Female/dp/B0179MXKU8

    Worked like a dream.
    I now have a three sensor set up with two of the sensors and the rift using active usb extension cables and have had no issues.


    Bit pricy but extensions at 5m would be fab if they work...... Am tempted whish i could try 1st tho.

    Edit, sod it i paid this much for my rift, that is another 43 quid to amazon (got battery chaerger whilst i am at it)

    It seems to be working ok now but that is with 2 sensors on usb 2 even tho in usb 3 ports and oculus home takes a few attempts to successfuly start and get usb disconection and reconnection errors every time i boot my pc somewhere  summat not happy
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • Lemming1970Lemming1970 Posts: 681
    Neo
    Did you buy ACTIVE usb cables?
    no, i had raid a number of posts suggesting 3m and under it should not be needed.

    i have this
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00NH12O5I/

    and 2 of these - + another these as 2m for the HMD
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00TCMGM5E

    would this be better?

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00P0ES0YE?psc=1




    I've got these..
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5m-USB-3-0-Active-Reacter-Cable-Male-to-Female-Lead-Extension-Boost-5-Metre-Lead-/301496070321?hash=item463290f0b1:g:QVMAAMXQsoNRiiZt


    working without issue.
    Modded Coolermaster RC-1000 Cosmos/1000W Corsair HX Series
    i7 6700k o/c to 4.7ghz Corsair H100i water cooler.
    Zotac 1080Ti
    16 gb DDR4 o/c to 3000mhz
    Predator XB271HU 27" 2560x1440 IPS G-Sync 165Hz
  • BloodletBloodlet Posts: 735
    3Jane
    edited January 2017
    @bigmike20vt If you order a third sensor it actually comes with a 5m active extension cable.
    They wouldn't supply one if it didn't work ;)
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 4,067 Valuable Player
    edited January 2017
    Hi

    @Bloodlet ; thanks for your reply

    That is usb 2 tho, which i believe has a longer range both as passive and active than usb 3......  from memory (so really may be wrong) i think passive usb 3 reccomendation is only..... 3m, where as usb 2 is 5m

    and given the cable which comes with the sensors is already... is it 2.5m??? then it is no surprise some using passive usb3 cables are hitting the limits.

    i do not know what the length limit of active - but not externally powered usb 2 / 3 cable length is, but i assume there must be some point where you just have to supply external power - hopefully not an issue for the lengths we are talking here.
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • BloodletBloodlet Posts: 735
    3Jane
    edited January 2017
    @bigmike20vt
    I just checked and you are right the 5m active cable you get with the third sensor is only usb 2.
    However I'm using 5m active usb3 for second sensor.
    The first sensor is close enough to the pc not to need extending.

    For the rift I'm using a 3m non active usb3 but between this and the rift cable I added the short extension you got with the rift. I'm pretty sure this is also an active cable. Whatever it is it works without any issues. The 3m cable on it's own doesn't work.

    The hdmi cable to the rift has a 3m extension with repeater joining them.

    With this setup I have never had any usb disconnects and very rare tracking loss. Any loss I believe has been down to sensor positioning not cable issues or latency.

    All three sensors are placed approximately eight feet away from each other.

     
     
  • SockoSocko Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01GIO5R2C/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o03_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    These ones mostly work but I can say on my z170 usb with 6 periferals in a hub, and the headset, and 2 cameras and roughly every other boot I would have to unplug and replug the headset from the extension to get it to come up right. Once it was right it stayed right till the next time I booted the computer. I have 5 of the hde extension cables and the one plugged into the headset initially failed within 36 hours, but the other 4 seem fine for the last month.

    I now have 4 cameras, 3 with those cables and one on a 10' cables matter passive usb 3.0 extension, and they work fine on a pcie 4x usb 3.0 card with 4 controllers 1 for each port managing all the cameras. https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00XPUHO10/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1  My periferals and headset are on the z170 usb 3.0 and everything runs fine at usb 3.0. 

    I am using a 30' redmere cl2 cable from monoprice for hdmi with a monoprice keystone and never had any issue with it.
  • Russell100Russell100 Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    Does anyone have any detail info about the cable that Oculus is shipping with the sensor or links to this info?
  • OraclelxZlOraclelxZl Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    edited January 2017
    @socko I have the same mother board. I bought the inateck usb 3 PCI-E card and I've still had trouble with the power connection issue and had to restart my computer every so often as well.

    My problem was fixed after I purchased a USB 3- Hub with a power adaptor. So it must've been some power issue.
    https://www.amazon.ca/gp/product/B00E6GX4BG/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
    This solved all my USB 3 connection issues and I have everything plugged into USB 3 with a bunch of active extensions and whatnot
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 4,067 Valuable Player
    edited January 2017
    Does anyone have any detail info about the cable that Oculus is shipping with the sensor or links to this info?
    its usb2 not usb3 i can tell you that much.... and its 5m in length.
    its active but not externally powered
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • dreimer1986dreimer1986 Posts: 171
    Art3mis
    ACTIVE USB3 cables are the way to go. I use 5 m ones from amazon.de Shop CSL Computers and all is well. (Except the problem that plugged in PSUs of the cables make my PC not start from full shutdown :P)
  • bigmike20vtbigmike20vt Posts: 4,067 Valuable Player
    (Except the problem that plugged in PSUs of the cables make my PC not start from full shutdown :P)
    do you get this issue to?  when using onboard usb i too have this problem when my X55 hotas is plugged in.  i have fixed this now i have a pcie card as i plug my x55 into that, and that only powers on after windows has loaded in.
    Fiat Coupe, gone. 350Z gone. Dirty nappies, no sleep & practical transport incoming. Thank goodness for VR :)
  • Mr_GoodKatMr_GoodKat Posts: 34
    Brain Burst
    edited March 2017
    So 15 feet was just too long. Ended up getting a powered hub to put at the at the end and plug the rift directly in to that. HDMI cable was too long as well. Everything is working now with the extended setup, but I can help but feel there is a performance loss. I'm thinking if I would have started with 10ft usb cables everything would be fine. Wish there was a a way to benchmark sensor and touch controller performance :(
  • FadeeawayFadeeaway Posts: 40
    Brain Burst
    Got 5m "active" extensions for both my sensors (diagonal 360 setup in the ceiling, 3.5m x 2.5m area).

    Also got inateck card, but when using it for more than 2 sensors I it fails on power. So currently running both sensors on the card, and the hmd on the MB usb3. Which works great though.

    How do you guys with an external powered usb3 hub connect it? 1 USB cable to the computer and then all equipment to the hub?
  • alan.li.7902alan.li.7902 Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    I have also tried Newnex USB 3.0 active extension cable for up to 50 ft. https://www.newnex.com/usb-3-active-cable-a-to-a-female.php
Sign In or Register to comment.