cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the motivation for a dev to make an experience for the Quest?

Failrunner
Heroic Explorer
I can't imagine spending days and months making an experience for this device with little to no clue what is expected of the experience and possibly be shut down with no explanation. At least someone like Apple will tell you what you need to do to be on their walled garden store. I'm no developer but I can't imagine being motivated to put the work in to even get something ready to submit to Oculus! ?
33 REPLIES 33

An app crashing on a user isn't necessarily an indication of poor quality. If it crashed on lots of users though, that would be an indication.

I sometimes fall into the trap of thinking a bad experience for me is therefore a bad experience, period. But then I remember the world is bigger than me.

Anonymous
Not applicable
@DaftnDirect - Other users were experiencing the same problem as myself as well as microphone issues on quest and other headsets. But if Facebook have this strict guidelines for devs how did bigscreen managed to pass the process. Its full of bugs and I'd have thought Facebook would refused the app until it was fixed. It's not acceptable to release an app that crashes all the time.

CrashFu
Consultant
BigScreen has also been one of the most popular apps since the dawn of modern VR, and the developers patch and update it on a very frequent basis;   So even if there are some launch issues with the Quest port, Oculus is going to trust them to sort it out.
It's hard being the voice of reason when you're surrounded by unreasonable people.

Failrunner
Heroic Explorer

Zenbane said:

Which would require tons of work to get shut down.

Getting shut down is a good life lesson. Those who will end up truly successful will head back to the drawing board, and use their failures to their advantage as they... try again.