New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Can’t Reach Oculus Runtime after 1.38 Update

2

Comments

  • WhiteZeroWhiteZero Posts: 12
    NerveGear
    edited June 18
    Update on my ticket from last night:
    Thank you very much for the log files. We're going to have to look into them further.

    Due to the launch of the Rift S and Quest, we are experiencing a higher ticket volume than normal. We will do our best to get back to you within 3-4 business days, with more information or an update.



  • V12-StevenXV12-StevenX Posts: 25
    Brain Burst
    WhiteZero said:
    Update on my ticket from last night:
    Thank you very much for the log files. We're going to have to look into them further.

    Due to the launch of the Rift S and Quest, we are experiencing a higher ticket volume than normal. We will do our best to get back to you within 3-4 business days, with more information or an update.




    Keep us informed. We hope for an update that is finally working for everyone.
  • SaltyleleleSaltylelele Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    For me it is broken as well. It looks like the same issue you describe here.

  • Dr.Hippo404Dr.Hippo404 Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    I seem to be having the same issue described in this post. Have already submitted a ticket.
  • GlobespyGlobespy Posts: 92
    Hiro Protagonist
    pcfarrar said:
    pcfarrar said:
    Was able to downgrade to 1.37.1 and I'm back up and running again. 1.38 is definitely bugged there was no way I could get the Oculus VR runtime service to start. I did wonder if replacing the 1.38 "OVRServiceLauncher.exe" with the 1.37.1 version would work but to be honest I don't want the hassle of reinstalling again.
    So it's correct only to overwrite the 1.38 OVRServiceLauncher.exe.exe with the OVRServiceLauncher.exe 1.37?. Don't you need to launch oculus client right by hand subsequently, right? in this mode should work normally?. I also have this problem from 1.38 ... but I hope Oculus staff patch soon and answer on the forum about this problem.
    That’s correct once you’ve overwritten the 1.38 OVRServiceLauncher.exe reboot and it will be fully working. Just put the headset on and it will fire up automatically.
    Do you have to replace this file everytime you want to use the Rift?
    If so, this will be a pain.
    I wonder if the file could be set to 'read only' to block being overwritten, or if this will even work?

    It's crazy that Oculus can release crap like this and take days to reply, especially after their massive screw up last year with expired certificates.

    Thank you pcfarrar for the workaround
  • GlobespyGlobespy Posts: 92
    Hiro Protagonist
    pcfarrar said:
    pcfarrar said:
    Was able to downgrade to 1.37.1 and I'm back up and running again. 1.38 is definitely bugged there was no way I could get the Oculus VR runtime service to start. I did wonder if replacing the 1.38 "OVRServiceLauncher.exe" with the 1.37.1 version would work but to be honest I don't want the hassle of reinstalling again.
    So it's correct only to overwrite the 1.38 OVRServiceLauncher.exe.exe with the OVRServiceLauncher.exe 1.37?. Don't you need to launch oculus client right by hand subsequently, right? in this mode should work normally?. I also have this problem from 1.38 ... but I hope Oculus staff patch soon and answer on the forum about this problem.
    That’s correct once you’ve overwritten the 1.38 OVRServiceLauncher.exe reboot and it will be fully working. Just put the headset on and it will fire up automatically.
    I just tried this and at least now the Oculus Home launches, but I can't launch any VR titles because there's the "New Drivers are required for Oculus - update now" banner in Oculus Home.
    So, even with a fix, Oculus still block it!

    They really need to have a 'defer update/rollback' option to make things easier for their customers and themselves when they release trash that breaks the product.
    But that would be too smart.
  • GlobespyGlobespy Posts: 92
    Hiro Protagonist
    My Rift S functioned fine until last night where the 1.38 Update was downloaded.
    Today, i only get "Can’t Reach Oculus Runtime" message with the suggestion to restart my PC or try repairing the installation. 
    So i went and tried the repairing process. After it was done, the headset worked again.
    The next day, the Oculus software automatically started the 1.38 update.
    After this update the same message mentioned above showed up again.

    I suspect this update broke the RuntimeVR service which can not start anymore.
    I hope i can get some help.

    WhiteZero said:
    Update on my ticket from last night:
    Thank you very much for the log files. We're going to have to look into them further.

    Due to the launch of the Rift S and Quest, we are experiencing a higher ticket volume than normal. We will do our best to get back to you within 3-4 business days, with more information or an update.



    I have found a fix.
    It seems to be related to the C++ Redistributable packages that causes the loop.
    I replaced the OVRLauncher as discussed in this thread, but despite being able to open Oculus Home, there was an error in the Headset and in the Oculus Home app on the desktop there was the prompt to update drivers.
    Updating these had (until now) resulted in a process being 'stuck' and hence the problems we are having.

    I would still suggest replacing the OVRLauncher as described by 'pcfarrar' and then rebooting your PC.
    Don't open Oculus Home or put on your headset before you do the following:

    Download the latest C++ Redistributable packages (2015-2019) from Microsoft - even if you have a 64-bit OS (like most do these days), you will still need both the x64 and x86 packages.
    Here's links to the packages:
    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/help/2977003/the-latest-supported-visual-c-downloads

    You will want to download the first 2:
    x86: vc_redist.x86.exe
    x64: vc_redist.x64.exe

    Install the x86 followed by the x64.
    Then launch oculus home without putting on the headset.
    You will see the red banner saying you need to update drivers - let it do it's thing.
    Once finished you will be on "Oculus App Version 1.38.0.256587 (1.38.0.256587)" and everything should work just fine.
    I just did this and everything works.

    Hope this helps.
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,262
    Wintermute
    edited June 18
    Thanks.
    A note on REDIST & Oculus...there are common Games that use C++2013 which the Updater always needs to check for after any update even though it is already installed, it still does the checks.
    Yes 2015, 2017 & 2019 all use the same files but they each remove the previous version in doing so but Oculus uses 2015 (or did). So it has in the past and perhaps still does gets stuck in a loop!
    Even now Oculus does not install C++2019
    One thing that causes Loops is probably Windows Folder Permissions which is common if you do use any OS Folder for either APP or Games so don't! If you do and even make a new folder elsewhere you should "Share" it with "Everybody" (basic dropdown menu) in Properties just in case you do need another User Account for future fixes too.
  • GlobespyGlobespy Posts: 92
    Hiro Protagonist
    MAC_MAN86 said:
    Thanks.
    A note on REDIST & Oculus...there are common Games that use C++2013 which the Updater always needs to check for after any update even though it is already installed, it still does the checks.
    Yes 2015, 2017 & 2019 all use the same files but they each remove the previous version in doing so but Oculus uses 2015 (or did). So it has in the past and perhaps still does gets stuck in a loop!
    Even now Oculus does not install C++2019
    One thing that causes Loops is probably Windows Folder Permissions which is common if you do use any OS Folder for either APP or Games so don't! If you do and even make a new folder elsewhere you should "Share" it with "Everybody" (basic dropdown menu) in Properties just in case you do need another User Account for future fixes too.
    The redistributable files I used didn't change a thing with C++ 2013 or earlier.
    Only 2015, 2017 and 2019.

    Plus these files did not go through any uninstallation of existing files, instead updated them.
    Regardless, it's a full fix at least for me and I'm running the latest build of 1.38

    Hope it helps others.
  • V12-StevenXV12-StevenX Posts: 25
    Brain Burst
    pcfarrar said:
    I got 1.38 fully working, all you need to do is get a copy of the old 1.37 "OVRServiceLauncher.exe" and copy it over the new 1.38 version. Once that's done the service will start and everything works fine. Using the older version of OVRServiceLauncher doesn't seem to cause any problems.
    Pcfarrar can You share a 1.37 version of OVRServiceLauncher.exe? .. Now oculus downloadable installer is at 1.38 version.. and i think is a problem because the OVR that the installer create is a 1.38 version... that is bugged ...and is impossible to replace with an older 1.37 (i don’t have a backup of the file unfortunately).

    many thanks in advance.
  • pcfarrarpcfarrar Posts: 21
    Brain Burst
  • aaronrryanaaronrryan Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    pcfarrar said:
    dropped that in and rebooted and it's working for me now.  Thanks!
  • DryairDryair Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    pcfarrar said:
    Mezqa said:
    lineCT said:
    Run OVRServer_x64.exe in the \Program Files\Oculus\Support\oculus-runtime folder, & put Oculus on the head.
    I´m doing, but nothing happen. 
    I can´t execute either OVRServiceLauncher.exe
    I wait for the support answer.
    I’ve posted the 1.37 OVRServicelauncher.exe on the oculus subreddit. You can download it, replace the 1.38 version and you’ll be fully working again.
    Thank you so very much! Everything works fine with your 1.37 file. :)
  • TurbonerokfTurbonerokf Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    Scrivi il tuo commento
    Hi, who of you stopped the update halfway and got stuck with the orange LED on? How did you solve it? Thank you
  • MezqaMezqa Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    pcfarrar said:
    I can´t replace the file. 
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,262
    Wintermute
    edited June 18
    Rename it then copy over the other. You don't even have to stop the old one to rename it. Then either Reboot OR use OTT to Restart it. e.g.
    OVRServiceLauncherOLD137.exe

    Personally I didn't need that trick but tried it out regardless for my Blackscreen but failed to fix.
  • V12-StevenXV12-StevenX Posts: 25
    Brain Burst
    edited June 18
    pcfarrar said:
    Many thanks!
    Can you remember to us the correct path where is located OVRService Launcher.. so we're pretty sure to overwrite correctly? 
  • pcfarrarpcfarrar Posts: 21
    Brain Burst
    pcfarrar said:
    Many thanks!
    Can you remember to us the correct path where is located OVRService Launcher.. so we're pretty sure to overwrite correctly? 

    You need to put it in "C:\Program Files\Oculus\Support\oculus-runtime"

  • V12-StevenXV12-StevenX Posts: 25
    Brain Burst
    edited June 19
    pcfarrar said:
    pcfarrar said:
    Many thanks!
    Can you remember to us the correct path where is located OVRService Launcher.. so we're pretty sure to overwrite correctly? 

    You need to put it in "C:\Program Files\Oculus\Support\oculus-runtime"

    Thanks!!!!!! ... I Hope all works properly until official fix... and maybe i hope official support write soon... the problem is great and affect many users....
  • Jason218302Jason218302 Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited June 19
    pcfarrar said:
    pcfarrar said:
    Many thanks!
    Can you remember to us the correct path where is located OVRService Launcher.. so we're pretty sure to overwrite correctly? 

    You need to put it in "C:\Program Files\Oculus\Support\oculus-runtime"

    Thanks!!!!!! ... I Hope all works properly until official fix... and maybe i hope official support write soon... the problem is great and affect many users....
    That worked!! Oculus Library still not running properly but that seemed to work! Use this if you are having the failed to connect issue. But use at your own Risk! Thank you for the fix. Works for the oculus store and steam vr if anyone's wondering.
  • MezqaMezqa Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    pcfarrar said:
    pcfarrar said:
    Many thanks!
    Can you remember to us the correct path where is located OVRService Launcher.. so we're pretty sure to overwrite correctly? 

    You need to put it in "C:\Program Files\Oculus\Support\oculus-runtime"

    Thanks!!!!!! ... I Hope all works properly until official fix... and maybe i hope official support write soon... the problem is great and affect many users....
    That worked!! Oculus Library still not running properly but that seemed to work! Use this if you are having the failed to connect issue. But use at your own Risk! Thank you for the fix. Works for the oculus store and steam vr if anyone's wondering.

    In my particular case, when I paste the file, it sends me an error message and forwards me to the installation page. At that moment, it detects an error and the application does not get installed. I had to re-delete all the appdata files and reinstall to send the diagnostic log to Oculus support.
  • DST219DST219 Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    I fixed the problem by changing the user name in Windows, because it includes a non-English letter (stéphane by stephane for me).

    Windows key + R
    type "netplwiz" and OK
    Click on the account to change then properties
    and you change the name.
    restart the pc
  • HologramParsonsHologramParsons Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Serious, Fix it! same problem here.
  • GearwynGearwyn Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    Mezqa said:
    pcfarrar said:
    pcfarrar said:
    Many thanks!
    Can you remember to us the correct path where is located OVRService Launcher.. so we're pretty sure to overwrite correctly? 

    You need to put it in "C:\Program Files\Oculus\Support\oculus-runtime"

    Thanks!!!!!! ... I Hope all works properly until official fix... and maybe i hope official support write soon... the problem is great and affect many users....
    That worked!! Oculus Library still not running properly but that seemed to work! Use this if you are having the failed to connect issue. But use at your own Risk! Thank you for the fix. Works for the oculus store and steam vr if anyone's wondering.

    In my particular case, when I paste the file, it sends me an error message and forwards me to the installation page. At that moment, it detects an error and the application does not get installed. I had to re-delete all the appdata files and reinstall to send the diagnostic log to Oculus support.


    ME--- You have to delete the service launcher and replace with the one above and it should work. Or just cut and paste the original into another folder if your afraid of deleting.


  • RetzinskyRetzinsky Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    My support ticket just got updated. They say they're aware the problem is affecting multiple users and that they're working on a fix.
  • V12-StevenXV12-StevenX Posts: 25
    Brain Burst
    Retzinsky said:
    My support ticket just got updated. They say they're aware the problem is affecting multiple users and that they're working on a fix.
    Good!
  • davemcreedavemcree Posts: 13
    NerveGear
    edited June 20
    Retzinsky said:
    My support ticket just got updated. They say they're aware the problem is affecting multiple users and that they're working on a fix.
    Given that this was a patch day0 explosion, i wouldn't be holding our breath. let alone formally communicating in this on their own forums to the community that athey're aware and working on it.. 

    Laughable. 
  • Dr.Hippo404Dr.Hippo404 Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    edited June 20
    Still having this issue with my Rift S as well. Installing oculus software just getting stuck at 99% complete
  • LILxJACKALLILxJACKAL Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comments/c24aq2/fix_for_the_137_138_install_freezing/

    Here you go guys ! this worked for me . I've been losing my mind since last Thursday , repairing did nothing . Always stuck at 99% did every possible work around but this actually worked. If this works share this with everyone who's stuck on 99%.
  • MezqaMezqa Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    DST219 said:
    I fixed the problem by changing the user name in Windows, because it includes a non-English letter (stéphane by stephane for me).

    Windows key + R
    type "netplwiz" and OK
    Click on the account to change then properties
    and you change the name.
    restart the pc

    Fantastic!! This solved the problem. Thank you very much DST219!!
Sign In or Register to comment.