cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why no summer sale for Quest ?

FeroxD
Protege
Hello, I saw that Oculus add the new summer sale for Rift and GO. But why they don't add some sails for Quest?
https://www.oculus.com/blog/cool-off-with-the-oculus-summer-sale/?locale=en_US
Also, not a lot of creators support Rift and Quest,  and you should need to buy one app two times but why??
61 REPLIES 61

Anonymous
Not applicable
Personally I'm disappointed that there is no Summer Sale for the Quest. Even for the developers, from my experience you sell so many more copies when you are on sale that it typically is when you make the most money. And developers set their own discounts and opt into sales. Nobody is forced to go on sale. If you are Beat Saber and raking it in, then maybe you don't want to participate. But if you are a smaller title that is struggling to get attention it's an opportunity.

Zenbane
MVP
MVP

FeroxD said:

I'm a developer and you can create a project (Unity/Unreal) and package your reproject for different platforms PC, Mobile, consoles and etc. And now phones are powerful.

It doesn't work the same way for VR. You haven't done it before, you're just guessing. I'm a developer too, and I know the difference between porting and building to platforms. You don't seem to know that difference. You seem to rely in Checkbox Options in a menu. That doesn't make you a developer.

Here's a more informational quote:
Long story short: You can't port.
You have to redo pretty much all the assets.
The big reason is "draw calls". It's about +1000 on PC, and about 150 on Quest.
https://www.reddit.com/r/oculus/comments/bhpeim/hey_devs_is_porting_from_rift_to_quest_difficult/

FeroxD
Protege

Zenbane said:

FeroxD said:

I'm a developer and you can create a project (Unity/Unreal) and package your reproject for different platforms PC, Mobile, consoles and etc. And now phones are powerful.