New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Installing Oculus App on Drive OTHER THAN C: Drive

2

Comments

  • TheRidiculousOneTheRidiculousOne Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Hey So I'm Having this Issue as well and I cant seem to figure out why I believe I am typing it out correctly into my command prompt
    C:\WINDOWS\system32>C:\Users\cedmo\Downloads\OculusSetup.exe/drive=D
    But then I proceed to get Directory Name is invalid any chance I could get some assistance with the issue?
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,262
    Wintermute
    edited June 2019
    You need to raise command Prompt by typing CMD...change Directory to the Setup File which must be the Drive you want to install to. "cd" means change directory.
    Open CMD Prompt in "Run"
    Go to directory of your Setup file e.g. "E:/"
    "cd Downloads"
    (whatever the directory is called you have it in)
    "OculusSetup.exe /drive=E"


  • ShaneFarmerShaneFarmer Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    In case anyone is still having trouble with this. Here is what i have done and it installed perfectly on another drive.
    Check the location of your downloads folder. Sometimes people map it to another drive.
    Once you know the location of your downloads folder.

    Open up the 'Run' box, and paste in 'C:\Users\Shane\Downloads\OculusSetup.exe /drive=D
    Then install the software.

    I tried nearly everything on this thread and after trial and error, this is what worked for me.



  • baryybaryy Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    None of the above worked for me and I understand Dos well. To install on my D drive I had to open Powershell as Administrator and type .\OculusSetup /drive=D  [ Another hurdle you have to overcome just to install a program and Oculus and the likes wonder why the uptake is slow on this technology. Hint: Make it easier to do basic things like install the software. With SSD's a lot of people are stuck for space on their system drive, it is crazy to assume everyone is fine plonking 21gigs of Oculus software on the system drive.
  • MAC_MAN86MAC_MAN86 Posts: 2,262
    Wintermute
    edited June 2019
    @baryy did you have the Setup file on Drive D and in the same folder you wish to install Oculus into? That's how it has worked. i.e.D:\Oculus (download SETUP into this Oculus Folder and then perform above commands from this directory)
  • Zachary-756Zachary-756 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    what does everyone me by username????

  • RichooalRichooal Posts: 1,717 Valuable Player
    what does everyone me by username????


    They mean your windows username. So in this example ...........

    'C:\Users\Shane\Downloads\OculusSetup.exe /drive=D

    "Shane" is that person's windows username.
    i5 6600k - GTX1060 - 8GB RAM - Rift CV1 + 3 Senors - 0 PROBLEMS 1 minor problem
    Dear Oculus, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it", please.

  • Rarz0rRarz0r Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    So none of the above worked for me.  I got an error that said it had to have minimum GB (which it did) and had to be NTFS (which it was).  I did all the admin cmd tricks above nothing worked.  I ended up going into diskmgmt.msc and seeing the difference between my disks.  One was Basic, one was Dynamic.  I didn't need the info on my Dynamic drive so I deleted the volume.  Once you do that you can right click the Disk at the bottom and "convert from dynamic to basic".  Once you have done that you can recreate a partition it will be Basic.  Then copy the cmd stuff from above and it works.  

    I imagine there are other similar ways maybe just adding another basic partition etc but the main thing is it has problems with Dynamic partitions. 
  • sabyyysabyyy Posts: 33
    Brain Burst
    You will need at least 120GB free
    Are you serious? And you guys place this on the C: drive by default and people have to use CMD to change the install path?

    This software is crazy annoying!!

    I have a dedicated SSD for OS. 60 GB but that's plenty for OS. Oculus Home is on C: drive too as back in the days when I installed there was no way to install on another drive.

    I looked up this thread in google trying to find out how to install to another drive because now it does this:

    - Downloads an update of 11 items - on C: drive leaving 7 GB free space on my disk
    - Then doesn't install them just ignores them
    - Then tells me I don't have free space to download and shows 0/11 items have been downloaded

    Can you post a picture of the guy who designed the software? I would like to see.

    Now I will remove the software (if the above mentioned guy was able to implement a way to remove it completely) and try one of the many different ideas in this thread to install on a different drive.
  • pdhannemanpdhanneman Posts: 32
    Brain Burst
    sabyyy said:
    You will need at least 120GB free
    Are you serious? And you guys place this on the C: drive by default and people have to use CMD to change the install path?

    This software is crazy annoying!!

    I have a dedicated SSD for OS. 60 GB but that's plenty for OS. Oculus Home is on C: drive too as back in the days when I installed there was no way to install on another drive.

    I looked up this thread in google trying to find out how to install to another drive because now it does this:

    - Downloads an update of 11 items - on C: drive leaving 7 GB free space on my disk
    - Then doesn't install them just ignores them
    - Then tells me I don't have free space to download and shows 0/11 items have been downloaded

    Can you post a picture of the guy who designed the software? I would like to see.

    Now I will remove the software (if the above mentioned guy was able to implement a way to remove it completely) and try one of the many different ideas in this thread to install on a different drive.
    I know.  I recently moved my Rift to another drive and it completely baffles me Oculus doesn't give you a choice of where to install.  There has to be a real reason because it seems pretty much like a basic installation requirement.  I just reinstalled last night in fact and found the process so incredibly frustrating.
    i7-8700K 3.7GHz Processor | Deepcool CAPTAIN 360EX WHITE RGB Liquid Cooler | ROG MAXIMUS X FORMULA Motherboard | G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB  DDR4-3200 Memory | FireCuda 2TB 7200RPM Hybrid HD | Barracuda 3TB 7200RPM HD | Barracuda 4TB 7200RPM HD | WD Black PCIe 256GB M.2-2280 SSD | GeForce GTX 1080 Ti 11GB Video Card | Thermaltake - The Tower 900 Snow Edition Full Tower Case | EVGA SuperNOVA G2 1000W Power Supply | Two Divorces | One Bad Ass Credit Card Bill
  • sabyyysabyyy Posts: 33
    Brain Burst
    sabyyy said:
    You will need at least 120GB free
    Are you serious? And you guys place this on the C: drive by default and people have to use CMD to change the install path?

    This software is crazy annoying!!

    I have a dedicated SSD for OS. 60 GB but that's plenty for OS. Oculus Home is on C: drive too as back in the days when I installed there was no way to install on another drive.

    I looked up this thread in google trying to find out how to install to another drive because now it does this:

    - Downloads an update of 11 items - on C: drive leaving 7 GB free space on my disk
    - Then doesn't install them just ignores them
    - Then tells me I don't have free space to download and shows 0/11 items have been downloaded

    Can you post a picture of the guy who designed the software? I would like to see.

    Now I will remove the software (if the above mentioned guy was able to implement a way to remove it completely) and try one of the many different ideas in this thread to install on a different drive.
    I know.  I recently moved my Rift to another drive and it completely baffles me Oculus doesn't give you a choice of where to install.  There has to be a real reason because it seems pretty much like a basic installation requirement.  I just reinstalled last night in fact and found the process so incredibly frustrating.
    Yeah it's frustrating. I did the first step yesterday. Tried the repair option to see what would happen. Of course it failed. Now Oculus Home is not listed as a program on my PC but is still under program files taking up more than 10 GB. Pretty big for a non-existing program, considering my whole Program Files folder is 14 GB (including Oculus remnants. And who knows what other Oculus stuff are there in othe forlders.

    My 2nd step will be to manually hunt down oculus related files and folders on my C: drive and delete them. Very sophisticated uninstall method, thank you devs.

    I have a feeling I am moving towards an OS reinstall.

    The good news is I am not too addicted to VR so I can take my steps with long breaks in between to keep my frustration level in green/yellow zone.

      
  • Dog_For_PresidentDog_For_President Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    I tried every one of these and nothing worked

  • Not_ThomasNot_Thomas Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    edited August 2019
    After multiple attempts at getting this installed on my D drive I've finally got it working on my end. 
    First, I made a new file on my D drive just named OculusI then did the cd\ command and
    ran the command : 
    "\Users\[username]\Downloads\OculusSetup.exe/drive=D" in the command prompt 
    After running the command the install window came up. I went through and it locked on to my
    Oculus file on the D drive. 

    Hope this helps and Howdy from August 2019 to anyone in the future!
  • JeffroKillJeffroKill Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    After multiple attempts at getting this installed on my D drive I've finally got it working on my end. 
    First, I made a new file on my D drive just named OculusI then did the cd\ command and
    ran the command : 
    "\Users\[username]\Downloads\OculusSetup.exe/drive=D" in the command prompt 
    After running the command the install window came up. I went through and it locked on to my
    Oculus file on the D drive. 

    Hope this helps and Howdy from August 2019 to anyone in the future!
    Ye! You rock! This way was the only way that worked for me!
  • ninja44101ninja44101 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    followed this video worked perfectly https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Vx9lKIFi9o
  • CatrionCatrion Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Ok, so this forum thread is super messy. What you need to do is first download the Oculus setup, then you need to make sure the setup is in downloads (do not run it btw.) Then you need to type CMD in your windows search bar and then right-click the top one called "Command Prompt" Then click "Run as administrator" then press CTRL C to copy this: C:\Users\Your username here\Downloads\OculusSetup /drive=D and then CTRL V to paste it in the Command prompt window, Then press the ENTER button on your keyboard. If the Oculus app window shows up you are in the green if not you missed a step. PS: If you don't know your Username on windows, look up on how to find out.
  • NateTheGamerNateTheGamer Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Hey there, looking through all this got me to this command line. This works 100% as I can personally account for trying all other possibilities listed above. These are your instructions for a 100% guarantee work:
    1. open Command Prompt on your PC as an administrator
    2. type in cd/
    3. type in this command: C:\Users\[your username]\Downloads\OculusSetup.exe /drive=[drive]

    This worked for me and i hope it works for you! :)
  • jason.c.doolanjason.c.doolan Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Condorius said:
    For anyone using searching this thread in 2018, I used a combination of the two methods described above. Be aware downloads is not the path for most people who have users setup on their PC. It is C:\Users\[username]\Downloads\OculusSetup.exe/drive=F.

    So search for cmd prompt, right click and run as administrator. 
    Type cd\ to get to the root directory C:
    Then type in:
    C:\Users\[your_username_remove the brackets]\Downloads\OculusSetup.exe/drive=[your_driveletter_remove the brackets].

    Also, this is frigging ridiculous to have to do this. I feel like I time warped back to 1993 as a pimply faced teenager using dos to get my PC games to work lmao.
    WOW this finally was the one that worked! thankyou so much! Also agree it's stupid, wasted so much time trying to figure it out..

  • YoloGladiatorYoloGladiator Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Im doing what the forums are as instructed such as using the command prompt and typing in what im supposed to type for oculus rift s but all it pulls up is the software and still shows the same location (C:\Program Files\Oculus\) if somebody can please help me and walk me through this i would greatly appreciate it. (Im trying to move it to my second "drive=D" on one of my files but no luck. 
  • MrZippy1337MrZippy1337 Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    For anyone who may come across this and have issues even after trying everything described above, here's what I did.
    1. Opened the command prompt as an admin.
    2. Typed C:\>cd\Users\[USERNAME]\Downloads (this navigates you directly to your downloads folder)
    3. Typed C:\Users\[USERNAME]\Downloads>oculussetup.exe /drive=[DRIVE LETTER]
    I don't know if it will help anyone but directing myself to the downloads folder before I ran it helped me.
  • YoloGladiatorYoloGladiator Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Im doing what the forums are as instructed such as using the command prompt and typing in what im supposed to type for oculus rift s but all it pulls up is the software and still shows the same location (C:\Program Files\Oculus\) if somebody can please help me and walk me through this i would greatly appreciate it. (Im trying to move it to my second "drive=D" on one of my files but no luck. 
    Nvm i fixed it

  • virtarivirtari Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Ok so my problem was /drive:G (wrong), and it worked when i switched to /drive=G
  • mister.otmister.ot Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    golftyler said:
    Whenever you type in "[Drive]\Download\OculusSetup.exe /drive[=Whateverdriveyou'reusing] MAKE SURE you have a space betweeen the "OculusSetup.exe" and the "/drive" or it will not recognize the command. That's been my issue for a bit. Hope I've helped! 
    GUYS THIS IS SO IMPORTANT, MY WHOLE ISSUE WAS SOLVED WITH THIS ! SINCE I AM A COMPLETE NOOB. THANK YOU SO MUCH :D
  • AxisPCNIAxisPCNI Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    Ok looks like I have a different issue, mine is complaining that I can't install it at the location even though it is a local drive:

    Run -> F:\OculusSetup.exe /drive=F 

    Gives me the following (In swedish and roughly translated):
    The selected drive cannot be chosen. It does not fulfill the requirements: Oculus needs 19.1 GB on a internal NTFS-device. Choose another or visit support.

    Now the weird thing is that it is internal and it is most definitely a NTFS formatted HDD. It is running in RAID so I'm guessing that its spooking the installation. 

    This seems certainly odd as I have installed countless of software on that HDD, it has everything from Blender to an Adobe suit; no complaints so far.
    I cannot accept a "just install it on C" as that is simply not an option. This kind of installation behaviour is just a UX red flag and not just a single one but alot of them. How and why would you restrict a user to change the installation directory? 

    Need help from staff!
  • Remedy_RexRemedy_Rex Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    The oculus setup Is on my D drive, but The actual Download goes to The C drive. How Do you change that?

  • DigbyCaesarDigbyCaesar Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    SOLVED! So this thread is the top result when googling how to install the Oculus app on a non-C drive. I thought I should add my solution here for future googlers.

    Using the Run app as instructed by Oculus didn't work for me, so I opened a cmd prompt with Administer privileges and simply entered:
    C:\Downloads\OculusSetup.exe /drive=F

    With "C:\Downloads\OculusSetup.exe" being the full path to the installer and "F" being the drive of choice for installing the software.



    Thank you!
  • thefattythefatty Posts: 0
    NerveGear
    Hi All, just wanted to add my 5p to this which may help someone. You can simplify the process by (1) creating a shortcut to the installer, (2) right click the shortcut and go to properties, then add to the target path that is already there the /drive=x argument. Then just use the shorcut as a normal app.

    As an example, to install to drive Z, i would add ' /drive=z' to the end of the target path, i.e  C:\Downloads\OculusSetup.exe /drive=z 

    hope this helps someone.
  • thefattythefatty Posts: 0
    NerveGear
    Hi All, just wanted to add my 5p to this which may help someone. You can simplify the process by (1) creating a shortcut to the installer, (2) right click the shortcut and go to properties, then add to the target path that is already there the /drive=x argument. Then just use the shorcut as a normal app.

    As an example, to install to drive Z, i would add ' /drive=z' to the end of the target path, i.e  C:\Downloads\OculusSetup.exe /drive=z 

    hope this helps someone.
  • CMGMKACMGMKA Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Hi all. I just tried installing Oculus app on D following the method recommended here and by Oculus. It did install 5.15GB worth of files on the desired location but there is no Oculus app to be found. So now I have no app and a bunch of files that I cannot cleanly uninstall from my drive because the program does not show in the Programs and Features part of the control panel. What a shame. Anybody with the same issue that maybe was able to solve it?
  • blobfjshblobfjsh Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    edited July 19
    My first problem with this was that using equals (=)  "/drive = D" didn't work, so I ran "C: \Users\ry3nd\Downloads\OculusSetup.exe /drive:D" in the command prompt, it worked by launching Oculus Setup but my second problem was that it still has the default Download location on my C drive. I don't know why it is not working.
Sign In or Register to comment.