My ipd is 60ish'mm. Can i still get the Rift S? — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

My ipd is 60ish'mm. Can i still get the Rift S?

F147XFIIF147XFII Posts: 1
NerveGear
edited July 14 in Oculus Rift S and Rift
(Im new to this so, sorry)  My ipd is around 59.5-60.5mm. And im worried if i can get the Rift S, Without getting crosseyed or sick. Will i? Since im choosing vr headset soon, But i want to get Oculus, Because i can run it on my crappy pc. Thanks for any support in advance. (Edit: Please note, The info i gathered within a few minutes (i should of looked more) is saying that the smallest ipd of the rift s is around 61mm. and i have no idea if it is true...Thanks...)

Answers

• daboss3105daboss3105 Posts: 7
    NerveGear
    what do you mean by ipd
  • ShocksOculusShocksOculus Posts: 422
    Trinity
    Ya
    i7-7700k, GTX 1080Ti (11G) || MSI B150m (1 USB controller) + Inateck 4-port USB to PCIe (2nd USB controller)
    Oculus Rift S
    Oculus GO
    Oculus RIFT - 3 sensor Room-scale
  • sraurasraura Posts: 589
    Trinity
    edited July 21
    Would not buy without testing it 1st.
  • RosgilliesRosgillies Posts: 146
    Art3mis
    My IPD (interpupillary distance) is 60mm. Set at that in Rift S is Sharp and clear, no motion issues.
  • DaftnDirectDaftnDirect Posts: 5,029 Volunteer Moderator

The software adjustment range is 58mm to 72mm so that's the distance that the software separates the left and right images to prevent your eyes converging unnaturally... meaning you won't be crossing your eyes, so to speak.

But eye strain can still be caused by the images being out of focus, and that will depend on whether you're looking at the area within the lens' sweet spots... and the sweet spots are in a fixed position and perfect for an IPD of 63.5mm (I think).