Rift 1.40 Release Rolling Out Now — Oculus
New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

Rift 1.40 Release Rolling Out Now

OculusSupportOculusSupport Posts: 336 Oculus Staff
edited August 19 in Oculus Rift S and Rift
Dash
  • We've added a new button to the Dash belt to select and view individual Virtual Desktop panels.
  • We've improved stability and performance of Virtual Desktop. Please make sure your version of Windows 10 is up to date to take advantage of these improvements.
Guardian
We’ve made performance improvements and feature updates to improve your experience while interacting with Guardian. These updates include:
  • Ability to clear your Guardian boundary history from your Guardian settings menu.
  • Opportunity to confirm your Guardian boundaries are accurate when you first put on your headset.
  • Removed the need to indicate what direction is forward when setting up Guardian.
Store
  • Updated the design and improved performance and load times for the Oculus Store.
Home
  • You can now collect all of your Oculus Home rewards at once with the new Collect All button. (Note: this feature is rolling out slowly to everyone within 1.40. Thanks for your patience!)
Fixes
  • Fixed an issue where Touch controllers could lose tracking during fast movements with Rift.
  • Removed warning that USB drivers needed to be updated when drivers were already up to date. 
---

As always, if you encounter any issues with this software release, please be sure to report them using the Help Center > Provide Feedback option within the Oculus desktop software. If you have any feature requests or suggestions to make the Oculus software even better, please head over to our UserVoice page to share your feedback. Thanks for your continued help!
«1

Comments

  • bamakeith20bamakeith20 Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    Where is the download link!?!?!?
  • RichooalRichooal Posts: 1,115
    Wintermute
    edited August 19
    Where is the download link!?!?!?

    You don't get one. This update will be pushed out to all headsets progressively. (With a nested level of progressively for the "Collect All" feature)
    i5 6600k - GTX1060 - 8GB RAM - 0 PROBLEMS
  • RichooalRichooal Posts: 1,115
    Wintermute
    Dash
    • We've added a new button to the Dash belt to select and view individual Virtual Desktop panels.
    • We've improved stability and performance of Virtual Desktop. Please make sure your version of Windows 10 is up to date to take advantage of these improvements.

    This wasn't in the Release Notes for the PTC 1.40
    Does that mean this is a different version to the one which was in the PTC?
    i5 6600k - GTX1060 - 8GB RAM - 0 PROBLEMS
  • Digikid1Digikid1 Posts: 2,028 Valuable Player
    Where is the download link!?!?!?
    Hilarious. 
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,601 Valuable Player
    Richooal said:
    Dash
    • We've added a new button to the Dash belt to select and view individual Virtual Desktop panels.
    • We've improved stability and performance of Virtual Desktop. Please make sure your version of Windows 10 is up to date to take advantage of these improvements.

    This wasn't in the Release Notes for the PTC 1.40
    Does that mean this is a different version to the one which was in the PTC?
    It certainly could be.
    However hard to say, they may have just left the above out in the PTC release notes.


    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case|
  • danielpeixedanielpeixe Posts: 9
    NerveGear
    Dash
    • We've added a new button to the Dash belt to select and view individual Virtual Desktop panels.
    • We've improved stability and performance of Virtual Desktop. Please make sure your version of Windows 10 is up to date to take advantage of these improvements.
    I was excited for this feature, but at the moment is still buggy. It causes a crash that turns off the oculus service altogether , exiting any apps that you may have open . I do have the latest windows 10 and updated my graphics drivers to latest. 
    My setup: Intel i7 4790k , RTX2070 8G RAM Nvidia driver: 436.02

    Thanks!!
  • DaftnDirectDaftnDirect Posts: 5,052 Volunteer Moderator
    edited August 21

     Just noticed my USB status lights are all green again.

    Does this mean a possible end to the issue (of multiple threads about USB update warnings I mean?)  ;)

    Intel 5820K OC@4Ghz, Titan X (Maxwell), 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4, ASRock X99 Taichi, Samsung 500Gb 960 Evo M.2, Corsair H100i v2 Cooler, Inateck KTU3FR-4P USB 3 card, Windows 10 Pro v1903 (18362.356)
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 902
    3Jane
    Even better - I can now use my Asmedia USB 3.1G2 ports!  As they provide much more power (Thanks Asus) than the G1 ports I'm hoping to see the end of swapping USB ports when the Rift S decides it isn't happy anymore :)
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, MSI MPG X570 Edge, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, KFA2 RTX 2080 Super, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Antec Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15.1 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.

    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD)
  • NzRadcoreNzRadcore Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    edited August 21
    Fix the grab button release delay, or at least admit it
  • DennanXDennanX Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    NzRadcore said:
    Fix the grab button release delay, or at least admit it
    They are aware of the problem. Have you created a support ticket regarding it? 
  • dburnedburne Posts: 2,601 Valuable Player

     Just noticed my USB status lights are all green again.

    Does this mean a possible end to the issue (of multiple threads about USB update warnings I mean?)  ;)

    It certainly seems so.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 2080Ti FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case|
  • mastixasmastixas Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vbken521WeQ 
    It gets really annoying when using a gunstock or just steady hands. Looking forward to be fixed.
  • SkateZillaSkateZilla Posts: 169
    Art3mis
    for the last month, I've had an issue:
    i use my HMD sans tracker sometimes (ie just motion, no position tracking (makes it easier for me in games where you are sitting and I dont need position moving).

    Anyway, lately for the last month, since like 1.39, The message comes up "A Pending Hardware Issue is Preventing..."

    Before I used to just Use my Xbox One controller and Click OK, then launch my Simulator and be on my merry way no problems.

    Since 1.39, the App does not allow me to click "OK" to close the message, like it doesnt recognize my Xbox Controller at all, even though I have no problems with it anywhere else, the cursor used to come up w/ the xbox one controller doesnt even come up no more.

    Is there anyway to actually click the OK button or force the cursor to come up?

    Some of my apps, if I launch Oculus Facing 180° the opposite direction, then rotate 180 degrees back and launch the app I can continue to use, but the message box will stay on the screen behind me.
  • RichooalRichooal Posts: 1,115
    Wintermute
    I'm happy to report that (as far as I can tell) this update has not negatively impacted my CV1.

    Congratulations to the person at Oculus that realised the uselessness of the "extra room" previously used for the store. I've never understood the purpose of that room.
    Removing it was a long awaited gift. Thank you to that person. You deserve a raise.


    i5 6600k - GTX1060 - 8GB RAM - 0 PROBLEMS
  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 1,269
    Wintermute
    edited August 21
    Ya, just got the 1.40 auto-update today an all's well with my cv-1 w/2x sensors!  Thanks Oculus.

    Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti (from my old AGA), 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd.  Asus  ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, Asus VG248QE 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors.

  • HailHogeHailHoge Posts: 17
    NerveGear
    displayport not working since 1.38.
    It was no good this version too.
    i sent log again, please use it.
  • InacitoInacito Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    Dash
    • We've added a new button to the Dash belt to select and view individual Virtual Desktop panels.
    • We've improved stability and performance of Virtual Desktop. Please make sure your version of Windows 10 is up to date to take advantage of these improvements.
    I was excited for this feature, but at the moment is still buggy. It causes a crash that turns off the oculus service altogether , exiting any apps that you may have open . I do have the latest windows 10 and updated my graphics drivers to latest. 
    My setup: Intel i7 4790k , RTX2070 8G RAM Nvidia driver: 436.02

    Thanks!!
    Dash
    • We've added a new button to the Dash belt to select and view individual Virtual Desktop panels.
    • We've improved stability and performance of Virtual Desktop. Please make sure your version of Windows 10 is up to date to take advantage of these improvements.
    I was excited for this feature, but at the moment is still buggy. It causes a crash that turns off the oculus service altogether , exiting any apps that you may have open . I do have the latest windows 10 and updated my graphics drivers to latest. 
    My setup: Intel i7 4790k , RTX2070 8G RAM Nvidia driver: 436.02

    Thanks!!

    Something very similar is happening to me.
    When I first boot the system the headset seems to be working until it is going to be used, when suddenly a message appears telling me to connect it, sometines the HDMI cable and others the USB port.

    Two days ago it was working fine, please fix it.

    i7-6700, 32Gb RAM, GTX 1080, W10 1903 and nVIDIA drivers 436.02 updated
  • CcarderRCcarderR Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    edited August 22
    Guardian
    • Removed the need to indicate what direction is forward when setting up Guardian.
    I'm really dissaponted with last 1.40 release.

    For people with square or large play area this may be no issue, but for small non-square areas that's bad, really bad.

    My play area have 2x1.5m, and my facing direction MUST be set to the long side with a bed, otherwise i can't even straight my hands left and right because they reach out of play area. Unfortunately now my facing direction is set to a window, every single time when I open any game i must reset facing direction to be able to play, it does not even remember last setting, that's very frustrating...

    And that's still not the biggest problem, playing Steam games right now is practically impossible... SteamVR will import and use default guardian settings and will not update it when I reset direction. I'm now forced to play while facing window or a door, because Guardian will always set short side of play area as forward. As a workaround I'm using OpenComposite for most Steam games, but not all games are compatible with it. 

    There is another minor problem when setting play area in guardian, it does not correctly recognizes room shape, the grid does not match furniture, now it's not helpful at all, now it's useless.

    I heave bought Rift S recently, it was really good experience, but now after the 1.40 Release my experience got significantly worse. Removal of this essential feature is plain stupid... i know, you want to simplify setup, but really please... just make it OPTIONAL. Even If not while boundary setup, please at least add an option in configuration to set facing direction globally, for every game. 

    Edit:
    Moving Store from "Home" to Dashboard was a good change. I have certain program set to kill "Home" whenever it launches to keep me always in empty compositor when not in game, but in exchange I had no Store access, now is just perfect. :]
  • DaftnDirectDaftnDirect Posts: 5,052 Volunteer Moderator
    edited August 22

    @CcarderR I just checked the Guardian setup and the direction of front facing seems to just depend on where the headset is pointing when the 'Guardian Setup' window first appears.

    As far as my little test seemed to show, you can keep pressing the Oculus button on the right touch, once that window is displayed, to centre that menu in what you want the front facing direction to be, then when you continue, that'll be it. Steam seemed to orient itself to that direction. Tried it a couple times and it worked for me.

    So for me at least the option seems to be still there, it's just not included as a separate step.

    Intel 5820K OC@4Ghz, Titan X (Maxwell), 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4, ASRock X99 Taichi, Samsung 500Gb 960 Evo M.2, Corsair H100i v2 Cooler, Inateck KTU3FR-4P USB 3 card, Windows 10 Pro v1903 (18362.356)
  • CcarderRCcarderR Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    edited August 22
    @DaftnDirect Thanks! It works, you're lifesaver!
    Seems like I was mistaken about Guardian choosing short side of play area, SteamVR is doing just that and when Guardian always set that direction for me I thought it behaves the same. Anyway, I still think that option to set direction should be back. Manipulating "Guardian Setup" window is not valid method, and most people would never guess that, also after couple releases that workaround may not work anymore. I hope they will think about what I said in previous post.

    Thanks again. :]

    Edit: Seems like my previous post disappeared, I wonder why... 
  • DaftnDirectDaftnDirect Posts: 5,052 Volunteer Moderator
    Maybe if the just add text to that particular setup window to say something like 'Reposition this window using Oculus button to change forward direction'.
    Intel 5820K OC@4Ghz, Titan X (Maxwell), 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4, ASRock X99 Taichi, Samsung 500Gb 960 Evo M.2, Corsair H100i v2 Cooler, Inateck KTU3FR-4P USB 3 card, Windows 10 Pro v1903 (18362.356)
  • NijNij Posts: 310
    Nexus 6
    edited August 22
    Was there a touch or headset firmware update in this release, my update started to install after oculus closed and then it just seem to go off and oculus just launched again, was expecting maybe a firmware update for touch, hence the release notes, so wondered if my install didn't complete correctly,

    app version is 1.40 and touch firmware is 1.12.1 (I did change the touch batteries during install as they were dead, so wondered if I caused it to not complete the install fully)

    I was a believer!! I was a Kickstarter backer!! Now I shall reap the rewards!!! :D :D :D
  • jcbtochejcbtoche Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    Hello,
    I've an download issue with this release since yesterday...  Download stop at 51% everytime I launch Oculus.
    Any idea?
    Thx!

  • Soulless512Soulless512 Posts: 93
    Hiro Protagonist
    i only see this update if i opt into the PTC, otherwise i am still on 1.39.1 and it wont update to 1.40
  • Soulless512Soulless512 Posts: 93
    Hiro Protagonist
    For the love of god fire your Q&A team. Cause y'all suck at finding bugs. A problem that I had completely fixed has not reared it's ugly little head again. I have lost complete utter tracking of my controllers and I cannot get the headset to track where my hands actually are period. This is freaking ridiculous, you would think you guys would know how to fix your screw ups but damn $399 and still has issues, jesus. I think if i had the $1000 to spend, i would get the damn index to be honest.
  • jcbtochejcbtoche Posts: 6
    NerveGear
    EDIT: Finally after 40 minutes stuck at 51%, update finished successfully. Weird...
    jcbtoche said:
    Hello,
    I've an download issue with this release since yesterday...  Download stop at 51% everytime I launch Oculus.
  • jabjab Posts: 199
    Art3mis
    I guess the 52nd percent was really big... :)
  • RichooalRichooal Posts: 1,115
    Wintermute
    i only see this update if i opt into the PTC, otherwise i am still on 1.39.1 and it wont update to 1.40

    The update rolls out progressively (region by region, I think) so you will get it when you get it, not when you want it. That's why they say "rolling out now" instead of "available now".
    i5 6600k - GTX1060 - 8GB RAM - 0 PROBLEMS
  • TomCgcmfcTomCgcmfc Posts: 1,269
    Wintermute
    Ya, once it's fully rolled out, a Reinstall and/or Repair should result in the latest final release (1.40 in this case).

    Custom built gaming desktop; i9 9900k (water cooled) oc to 5ghz, gtx 1080 ti (from my old AGA), 32 gb 3000hz ram, 1 tb ssd, 4 tb hdd.  Asus  ROG Maximus xi hero wifi mb, StarTech 4 port/4 controller sata powered usb3.0 pcie card, Asus VG248QE 1080p 144hz gaming monitor, Oculus Rift cv1 w/2x sensors.

  • JeyJey80JeyJey80 Posts: 5
    NerveGear
    Right I got the update yesterday (Czech Republic), but personaly I dont like new guardian without center mark and arrow facing forward. It was only one click more :)
Sign In or Register to comment.