cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Installing and setting up a usb joystick.

Eddiekaplanis
Explorer
Hi all...I'm new to VR and need help with how to properly install and set up a joystick for flight sims.  I purchased the Rift S soley for combat flight sims, and have no need for any controllers other than my joystick, and of course, I'll be sitting only.  Can a member here guide me through the proper steps?  How to make sure my joystick is recognized?  What do I click on to activate joystick?  I have IL 2 from Steam and the new IL 2 Battle of Stalingrad etc.  Please help if you can...thanks all...take care...
8 REPLIES 8

Techy111
MVP
MVP
Hi mate and welcome  🙂 for starters what joystick do you have ? Is it a combined throttle and stick ?
A PC with lots of gadgets inside and a thing to see in 3D that you put on your head.

kojack
MVP
MVP
The first thing to note is that VR doesn't affect this. The Rift software doesn't understand proper joysticks, it's purely up to the sim to do it. So any guide on joysticks will be valid.
This also means you can't go without the Rift controllers altogether, they are the only way to interact with the Rift software itself while in VR. But while in the sim you should be fine not using them.

Next, it really depends on which simulator. Some have very detailed joystick setups supporting multiple devices at once. You'll need to do this for each sim, there's no simple shared setup. The sim may have build in defaults for popular joysticks.
I don't know about IL 2, but DCS and X-Plane have VERY detailed setups. 🙂
Author: Oculus Monitor,  Auto Oculus Touch,  Forum Dark Mode, Phantom Touch Remover,  X-Plane Fixer
Hardware: Threadripper 1950x, MSI Gaming Trio 2080TI, Asrock X399 Taich
Headsets: Wrap 1200VR, DK1, DK2, CV1, Rift-S, GearVR, Go, Quest, Quest 2, Reverb G2

Eddiekaplanis
Explorer