cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Rift keeps crashing, PC too under powered?

OcuclopsOni
Honored Guest
I'm very new to PC gaming, so please bear with me. I have Ryzen 7 2600x with an RTX 2070, 16GB ram. So far, my Rift S seems to not like it. I think.
I get maybe 20 minutes of gameplay, then a low prolonged beep, static, then all black. An orange light flickers in the headset, slow at first but then gets faster. After, I always get a message to update firmware. Then, everything seems ok, but after a few minutes gaming it repeats the whole process. 

I absolutely love the Rift, and this is my first introduction to VR. But after purchasing it two days ago and having to constantly deal with this, I'm getting very frustrated. Any advice or suggestions on how to fix this would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.
8 REPLIES 8

TheOfficialPD
Explorer
I don't know if this will help you much but I can defiantly tell you how my first experience was when I tried setting up my Rift S. 

I first unopened the box. Connected it. Then tried to attempt to run it without the Oculus software. After that, I tried to painfully find the software driver for this device while downloading SteamVR. Then I would run the Oculus Rift S Software to apply updated firmware updates to the device which took about an hour or so. When that was done I believe it would ask for you to restart your computer. Then you would be done from there. Boot up your PC and bam, you're all set. If you use Steam, there were recently minor changes but mainly keep those software up to date to avoid those issues.

Your rig should be able to handle it. I wouldn't see why it will not. Unless it's the CPU compatibility requiring Intel instead of AMD, but I doubt that. 

My setup is Intel-i7 6700K, Geforce GTX 970, 32GB Corsair Ram, 1TB HDD.

OcuclopsOni
Honored Guest