cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Oculus Rift awful jerky movement with NVIDIA RTX 2070 Max-Q

Mistryl
Explorer
I'm relatively new to VR, and after checking the recommended specs for Oculus Rift (original one, not Rift S) I purchased a HP Omen with an NVIDIA RTX 2070 Max-Q graphics card. The laptop has an i7-9750 processor, 16GB RAM and SSD, so it should easily meet the requirements of the rift. But when I plugged in the rift for the first time I'm getting tonnes of jerky movement and lag when moving my head or controllers around. The screen on the laptop is also doing the same when using the Rift. All I've done so far is the tutorial and tried to navigate the home room, but it's completely unusable. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated as I'm completely at a loss as to why this would be the case.
12 REPLIES 12

RattyUK
Trustee
The Max-Q is a 'cut-down' version of the GPU - but still should be able to give you a pretty reasonable experience (my laptop is pretty good with a generation earlier).
That said, for the first half minute or so, on the laptop, it seems to be doing 'catch-up' and stutters before settling down and behaving.
Stupid question - do you have an alternative USB port available to try (a powered USB Hub would be nice too) just in case it is a simple data bottleneck.
I'll wish you luck - laptops are very much hit-and-miss in VR, even those sold as VR Ready.
PC info: AMD Ryzen 9 5900X - Sapphire 7900XTX - 32GB DDR4 4000 - 3 NVMe + 3SATA SSD - Quest 2 & 3

Mistryl
Explorer
Thanks for the tips #RattyUK, I'll certainly give them a go. I noticed that the GPU pretty much goes straight up to 100% usage once I launch VR, is this normal or is it a sign that the GPU can't handle the load?

Mistryl
Explorer