cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Old Dude Controller Gap

rickinman
Explorer
Hi.  I'm 61 and I just bought a Rift S.  I'll be down due to medical reasons for a few months and thought VR might help me with going stir-crazy.
My son tells me I may not enjoy it because of the "age gap" with the use of the controllers.  He says that his generation (and later ones) were raised using video game controllers, and both the concepts and the muscle memory has developed over the years to become natural, but that the use of controllers is so foreign to my age bracket that learning to use it will be daunting (last game I played was Wolfenstein on my PC in the 90's using a keyboard)..
Is this true?  Is there a way to work on just learning the controllers quickly?  
BTW, I am a tech geek.  I edit video for a living, build editing computer stations, am addicted to smart-everything, etc.  So I'm not completely tech stupid, however I don't know how well those skills will transfer over to using VR.
Thoughts??
9 REPLIES 9

nalex66
MVP
MVP
I wouldn't worry about it. I'm not crazy about using game pads, but Touch controllers are awesome to play with. The biggest challenge for someone who isn't used to game pads is trying to aim with a thumbstick when playing shooters. This isn't an issue in VR, because you aim by moving your hand like you would in real life.

DK2, CV1, Go, Quest, Quest 2, Quest 3.

Try my game: Cyclops Island Demo

gene_cullup
Explorer
I am a little younger than you. Just run the tutorials "first steps". My problem is I sometimes hit the A button while trying to press the B button because they are so close together.

I'm just a little younger than you @rickinman and this is the last console/gamepads I ever used for gaming, I'm not joking!!!
hg8fnfrguk7g.jpg