New to the forums? Click here to read the "How To" Guide.

Developer? Click here to go to the Developer Forums.

v14 PTC PC Software Release Notes

245

Comments

  • ShiiShii Posts: 31
    Brain Burst
    Same issue, Oculus Link not working. Quest is on v13 and PC software is on v14 PTC. Using official Oculus Link cable. Getting message on PC that Quest software update is required. Rebooted both PC and Quest - no luck. Render resolution set to default 0 in Debug tool.
    Intel Core i7-7700K, Asus ROG Strix Z270E Gaming, 32Gb RAM, MSI RTX 2080 8Gb Gaming X Trio
  • RichooalRichooal Posts: 1,967 Valuable Player
    Another "mystery update" 14.0.0.66.710 or 14.0.0.59.710, depending on where you read it from.

    This update/fix/hotfix still seems to run fine on my CV1.

    The version number in the Oculus App, Settings, General is 14.0.0.66.710
    The version number displayed in Oculus "Home" is 14.0.0.59.710

    They searched the world for the best people when building the Oculus company. Have they all left since Facebook took over?

    Please Oculus.........

    1. Stop trying to fix stuff that isn't broken.
    2. Increase the time between these releases. ( General release not PTC )
    3. Employ at least one person to provide decent release notes on EVERY update.
    4. Explain why I have 2 different versions.
     
    i5 6600k - GTX1060 - 8GB RAM - Rift CV1 + 3 Senors - 0 PROBLEMS 1 minor problem
    Dear Oculus, "If it ain't broke, don't fix it", please.

  • TurinTurambarTurinTurambar Posts: 11
    Brain Burst
    "... The v13 software update is rolling out to Quest currently, which will enable you to utilize Link on both PC software version v13 and this v14 PTC."

    Not, not it doesn't. Like other, it kicks me out to Quest home after just 1 second of black screen
  • ShiiShii Posts: 31
    Brain Burst
    edited February 6
    Looks like issue with Link related to audio. This it what I seeing in logs when Link fails to start.

    06/02 14:55:15.353 {INFO}    [xrstreaming] OculusVadRemoteHeadphonesServerPipe::workThread: enter
    06/02 14:55:15.353 {INFO}    [xrstreaming] RemoteMic: remoteMicThreadLoop() Enter
    06/02 14:55:15.353 {INFO}    [xrstreaming] OculusVadRemoteHeadphonesServerPipe::workThread: pipe created
    06/02 14:55:15.353 {INFO}    [xrstreaming] RemoteMic: start()
    06/02 14:55:15.353 {INFO}    [xrstreaming] OculusVadRemoteMicServerPipe::connectThread: enter
    06/02 14:55:15.359 {!ERROR!} [xrstreaming] VolumeControl::findDevice() Headphones device not found
    06/02 14:55:15.359 {!ERROR!} [Kernel:Error] OVR Error:
      Code: -6100 -- ovrError_XRStreamingGeneralIssue
      Description: VolumeControl::findDevice() Headphones device not found
      OVRTime: 5217.226699
      Time: 2020-02-06 14:55:15 [359:244:200]

    06/02 14:55:15.359 {!ERROR!} [xrstreaming] VolumeControl::initialize() can't find virtual audio headphones!
    06/02 14:55:15.359 {!ERROR!} [Kernel:Error] OVR Error:
      Code: -6100 -- ovrError_XRStreamingGeneralIssue
      Description: VolumeControl::initialize() can't find virtual audio headphones!
      OVRTime: 5217.226740
      Time: 2020-02-06 14:55:15 [359:285:500]

    06/02 14:55:15.359 {!ERROR!} [RemoteHeadset] Failed to create volume control. Result=-1002.
    06/02 14:55:15.359 {!ERROR!} [Kernel:Error] OVR Error:
      Code: -6101 -- ovrError_XRStreamingPluginIssue
      Description: Failed to create volume control. Result=1290786488.
      OVRTime: 5217.226762
      Time: 2020-02-06 14:55:15 [359:307:700]

    06/02 14:55:15.359 {DEBUG}   [xrstreaming] transitioning XrspSession state to Disconnected
    06/02 14:55:15.359 {DEBUG}   [xrstreaming] trying to send transactional message BYE
    06/02 14:55:15.359 {DEBUG}   [xrstreaming] sent transactional message BYE
    06/02 14:55:15.361 {DEBUG}   [xrstreaming] streaming session ending.




    Intel Core i7-7700K, Asus ROG Strix Z270E Gaming, 32Gb RAM, MSI RTX 2080 8Gb Gaming X Trio
  • snake_plisken_casnake_plisken_ca Posts: 5
    NerveGear

    Tried the latest 14 PTC on rift S
    Seems to have fixed my performances and stuttering issues on most games, including Unreal engine on demanding scenes.

    Sorry but I agree with previous comments...
    There should be more communication regarding whats fixed and what is beeing worked on... Specially after weeks of performance issues, waiting for a fix.

    The rift S is an excellent Headset, please keep supporting it.

    Thx for the fix.
  • adam.poole.313adam.poole.313 Posts: 175
    Art3mis
    Got another update after installing PTC version 14. Not sure what it was but now my Rift S is finally working like it did prior to version 12 breaking everything. I have zero problems, assuming the next update doesn't break something.

    Now please SLOW DOWN the releases. I'd be happy if they never released another update again.
    Oculus Rift S, CV1
    Intel i7-8700K
    ASUS ROG Maximus X Hero
    16GB DDR4 x 2
    4 TB SDD, 2 TB SSD, 1 TB SSD
    Windows 10 Home
  • RattyUKRattyUK Posts: 1,191
    Wintermute
    Something must have been done right in this release as my laptop is working with the Rift S once more, the last few updates had it not recognising the DP...  Had a nice play on Elite Dangerous for a while this morning, excellent!
    PC info: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X, MSI MPG X570 Edge, 16GB Tforce Pro Dark DDR4 3200, KFA2 RTX 2080 Super, Samsung 870 Pro M.2, 2x 240GB SSD, 3TB WD Green HDD & 4 TB Seagate Barracuda HDD, Antec Modular 750w PSU, custom watercooling loop. (Win 10 Pro & Opensuse Leap 15.1 Linux) 32" AOC 4K Monitor.
    Rift S
    Laptop: Aorus X5 V6-CF1 (I7-6820HK, GTX 1070, 2* 256GB M.2 NVME, 1TB 7200 HDD)
  • AesthetikerAesthetiker Posts: 18
    Brain Burst
    no matter what i do my Rift CV1 looses from time to time the tracking and starts to repositioning me... Im only play ACC at the moment.. This runs on Unreal Engine which is quiete a problem too :(
    im on 14.0.0.66.170
  • FreiherrSeymoreFreiherrSeymore Posts: 31
    Brain Burst
    "... The v13 software update is rolling out to Quest currently, which will enable you to utilize Link on both PC software version v13 and this v14 PTC."

    Not, not it doesn't. Like other, it kicks me out to Quest home after just 1 second of black screen
    Same here, just lost 4 hours while trying to fix their work. It seems impossible to get a v13 on pc and link is broken now
  • tscherno-billtscherno-bill Posts: 14
    NerveGear
    "... The v13 software update is rolling out to Quest currently, which will enable you to utilize Link on both PC software version v13 and this v14 PTC."

    Not, not it doesn't. Like other, it kicks me out to Quest home after just 1 second of black screen
    Same here, just lost 4 hours while trying to fix their work. It seems impossible to get a v13 on pc and link is broken now
    Same Here.

  • KobangoKobango Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    TurinTurambar said:
    "... The v13 software update is rolling out to Quest currently, which will enable you to utilize Link on both PC software version v13 and this v14 PTC."

    Not, not it doesn't. Like other, it kicks me out to Quest home after just 1 second of black screen

    Same here :(


  • maxstepmaxstep Posts: 6
    Brain Burst
    Dear Oculus, the very latest PTC v14 - three grey dots, reinstalled several times, tried different usb3.0, dp ports etc. Only full rollback to v12 works. Prev PTC releases worked. Cannot go to v13 from ptc v14 as it fails. Only setup-repair v12 works. Rift S.
  • maxstepmaxstep Posts: 6
    Brain Burst
    Dear Oculus, to add to the previous V14 three grey dots brick issue, after setup-repairing to v12, v13 public is not being offered as an update regardless of what I try. Not possible to downgrade to v13 after v14 PTC as it just fails and keeps trying to reinstall.
  • gamersbubugamersbubu Posts: 35
    Brain Burst
    Did oculus seriously just mess up again? 
  • Mizzu52Mizzu52 Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    Yeah. Thanks for this great Patch. Now I can't get the Quest working with Link anymore. No matter what i try, tried all Workarounds and after 4 hours I'm done with this sh** now.
    I hate the Quest from the very first day. I regret so much that I didn't buy the Rift S, and now i can't get it sold anymore.

    Each Update everything is completely broken. So horribly disappointing.
  • dburnedburne Posts: 4,320 Valuable Player
    Just grabbed the Version 13 update on my Quest, I have PTC version 14 on PC.
    Link is not working on Quest, says on Oculus Home app on PC that a Quest software update is recommended for Link Beta, but I am already updated to Version 13 on Quest, no updates show available.

    Oculus Link is broken for me as well.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 3090 FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • dburnedburne Posts: 4,320 Valuable Player
    Suggest Oculus consider changing this in the version 14 release notes, unless someone has actually gotten it to work that I missed.

    Important note: This PTC software is not compatible with the Oculus Link feature on Oculus Quest if your Quest is still on software version v12 or lower. The v13 software update is rolling out to Quest currently, which will enable you to utilize Link on both PC software version v13 and this v14 PTC. We continue to work on improving this experience in future releases. Thanks for your patience!
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 3090 FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • nalex66nalex66 Posts: 6,269 Volunteer Moderator
    edited February 7
    dburne said:
    Suggest Oculus consider changing this in the version 14 release notes, unless someone has actually gotten it to work that I missed.

    Important note: This PTC software is not compatible with the Oculus Link feature on Oculus Quest if your Quest is still on software version v12 or lower. The v13 software update is rolling out to Quest currently, which will enable you to utilize Link on both PC software version v13 and this v14 PTC. We continue to work on improving this experience in future releases. Thanks for your patience!
    It’s not universally broken, although you might think that from reading the forums. It worked for me on the first try, as I reported in the Quest thread, as well as for a few others that have commented. 

    If you’ve set a high Encode Resolution Width in the debug tool, try scaling it back—some people are reporting that it doesn’t work at the RTX-level recommended setting. 
    i7 5820K @ 4.25GHz | EVGA GTX 1080 SC | Gigabyte GA-X99-UD4 | Corsair DDR4 3000 32GB | Corsair HX 750W
    SSDs: Intel 660p M.2 2TB, Samsung 860 Evo 1TB, 850 Evo 1TB, 840 Evo 1TB | Startech 4 controller PCIe USB 3.0
  • dburnedburne Posts: 4,320 Valuable Player
    nalex66 said:
    dburne said:
    Suggest Oculus consider changing this in the version 14 release notes, unless someone has actually gotten it to work that I missed.

    Important note: This PTC software is not compatible with the Oculus Link feature on Oculus Quest if your Quest is still on software version v12 or lower. The v13 software update is rolling out to Quest currently, which will enable you to utilize Link on both PC software version v13 and this v14 PTC. We continue to work on improving this experience in future releases. Thanks for your patience!
    It’s not universally broken, although you might think that from reading the forums. It worked for me on the first try, as I reported in the Quest thread, as well as for a few others that have commented. 

    If you’ve set a high Encode Resolution Width in the debug tool, try scaling it back—some people are reporting that it doesn’t work at the RTX-level recommended setting. 
    No I have not set an Encode Resolution, so mine should be at default.
    Don

    EVGA Z390 Dark MB | I9 9900k| EVGA 3090 FTW3 Ultra |32 GB G Skill 3200 cl14 ram | Warthog Throttle | VKB Gunfighter Pro/MCG Pro grip | Crosswind Pedals | EVGA DG 87 Case| Rift S | Quest |
  • snake_plisken_casnake_plisken_ca Posts: 5
    NerveGear

    On rift S, I have to redo my Gardian setup at each new session.
    is it just me?
  • bitziebitzie Posts: 62
    Hiro Protagonist

    On rift S, I have to redo my Gardian setup at each new session.
    is it just me?

    Seems to be a running issue for numerous people when using the PTC builds.
  • RosgilliesRosgillies Posts: 170
    Art3mis

    On rift S, I have to redo my Gardian setup at each new session.
    is it just me?
    Nope, same here. Every other loadup I have to reset Guardian.
  • daws72daws72 Posts: 30
    Brain Burst
    Same here, on every pc rebbot... 
  • SoulhikeSoulhike Posts: 3
    NerveGear
    Oculus whats going on? Update rollout is not good.
  • morphee7morphee7 Posts: 146
    Art3mis
    well i dropped out of the PTC because i couldnt get the mirror to work properly and it put me back to v12 that basicly brought back all the stutters and low performance issues, so i came back after this recent update and the mirror is still dodgy and the virtual desktop is all i can say is shocking whatever you have done to that
  • guenter.huber22guenter.huber22 Posts: 12
    NerveGear
    Quick addition from other thread: If you are on Quest V13.0.0.298... and PC V14 PTC and get thrown out of Link mode immediately: www.reddit.com/r/OculusQuest/comments/f0ni0m/oculus_link_fix_for_those_of_you_who_has_kicked/
  • ClassicGODClassicGOD Posts: 87
    Hiro Protagonist
    edited February 8
    Shii said:
    Looks like issue with Link related to audio. This it what I seeing in logs when Link fails to start.

    06/02 14:55:15.353 {INFO}    [xrstreaming] OculusVadRemoteHeadphonesServerPipe::workThread: enter
    06/02 14:55:15.353 {INFO}    [xrstreaming] RemoteMic: remoteMicThreadLoop() Enter
    06/02 14:55:15.353 {INFO}    [xrstreaming] OculusVadRemoteHeadphonesServerPipe::workThread: pipe created
    06/02 14:55:15.353 {INFO}    [xrstreaming] RemoteMic: start()
    06/02 14:55:15.353 {INFO}    [xrstreaming] OculusVadRemoteMicServerPipe::connectThread: enter
    06/02 14:55:15.359 {!ERROR!} [xrstreaming] VolumeControl::findDevice() Headphones device not found
    06/02 14:55:15.359 {!ERROR!} [Kernel:Error] OVR Error:
      Code: -6100 -- ovrError_XRStreamingGeneralIssue
      Description: VolumeControl::findDevice() Headphones device not found
      OVRTime: 5217.226699
      Time: 2020-02-06 14:55:15 [359:244:200]

    06/02 14:55:15.359 {!ERROR!} [xrstreaming] VolumeControl::initialize() can't find virtual audio headphones!
    06/02 14:55:15.359 {!ERROR!} [Kernel:Error] OVR Error:
      Code: -6100 -- ovrError_XRStreamingGeneralIssue
      Description: VolumeControl::initialize() can't find virtual audio headphones!
      OVRTime: 5217.226740
      Time: 2020-02-06 14:55:15 [359:285:500]

    06/02 14:55:15.359 {!ERROR!} [RemoteHeadset] Failed to create volume control. Result=-1002.
    06/02 14:55:15.359 {!ERROR!} [Kernel:Error] OVR Error:
      Code: -6101 -- ovrError_XRStreamingPluginIssue
      Description: Failed to create volume control. Result=1290786488.
      OVRTime: 5217.226762
      Time: 2020-02-06 14:55:15 [359:307:700]

    06/02 14:55:15.359 {DEBUG}   [xrstreaming] transitioning XrspSession state to Disconnected
    06/02 14:55:15.359 {DEBUG}   [xrstreaming] trying to send transactional message BYE
    06/02 14:55:15.359 {DEBUG}   [xrstreaming] sent transactional message BYE
    06/02 14:55:15.361 {DEBUG}   [xrstreaming] streaming session ending.




    Someone on reddit posted that you have to rename Oculus Virtual Audio Device to "Headphones" and it will fix the issue. Silliest bug ever.

    [EDIT]
    Didn't notice @guenter.huber22 posted a link. Follow it for the fix :)
    The advent of computers and the subsequent accumulation of incalculable data has given rise to a new system of memory and thought, parallel to your own. Humanity has underestimated the consequences of computerization.
  • morphee7morphee7 Posts: 146
    Art3mis
    Quick addition from other thread: If you are on Quest V13.0.0.298... and PC V14 PTC and get thrown out of Link mode immediately: www.reddit.com/r/OculusQuest/comments/f0ni0m/oculus_link_fix_for_those_of_you_who_has_kicked/
    ive only just stoped laughing at this since you posted it, it really does begger belief, how? just.... how?

  • Taiser35Taiser35 Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    OK, my link seems to be working now, something must have happened overnight... BUT when I try and play War Thunder or DCS, anything of that nature, I get these insane freeze ups, like the link can't handle the data, freezes about every 10 seconds for a good 2 seconds or more.  Happens at all settings and wasn't an issue before, frame rate was acceptable and it never froze so WTF is going on... :(
  • barabba9174barabba9174 Posts: 2
    NerveGear
    edited February 8
    I’m a little frustrated.
    During the previous days the software v12 and PTC14 didn’t work on Quest v13.
    This morning I’ve seen on this forum that there was an update, so I repaired my v12 with the latest default.
    Fine, finally I had the v13, but it didn’t work and the software suggested an update... so it became v12 again!
    Now I’m installing from scratch, but it’s 6.47GB every time. 
    What is exactly the best procedure to install everything properly?

    UPDATE: I've reinstalled, the v13 works fine, but after few minutes I received a notification about a required update to do. SNOOZE IT! If it started it returns to the v12.

    I'm reinstalling for the 4th time in a row. :-(
Sign In or Register to comment.