cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How many Oculus headset can I connect to a single powerfull PC simultaniuosly?

robvaz5857
Honored Guest
Hey guys, I'm an educational software developer and I want to know how many Oculus Googles can be connected and used at the ssame time to a single powerfull PC? I want to build a laboratory and I want to know if can use a server with terminals and connect multiples Oculus headset at the same time with differents desktops(users)? I will buy a couple hundreds if it works to a single PC.
26 REPLIES 26

cybereality
Grand Champion
No, I don't believe virtual machines will work as they don't typically have direct access to the GPU (at least not without some complex configurations) so VR won't function. And, even assuming it would work (I don't think it would), VR is usually very intensive graphically and it's already a struggle to hit 90fps with one app running dedicated on a PC, so running two or more 3D apps (plus the VM overhead) on one machine does not seem feasible.
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X | MSI X370 Titanium | G.Skill 16GB DDR4 3200 | EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 | Corsair Hydro H110i Gigabyte RX Vega 64 x2 | Samsung 960 Evo M.2 500GB | Seagate FireCuda SSHD 2TB | Phanteks ENTHOO EVOLV

drdreddful
Explorer

Hey guys, I'm an educational software developer and I want to know how many Oculus Googles can be connected and used at the ssame time to a single powerfull PC? I want to build a laboratory and I want to know if can use a server with terminals and connect multiples Oculus headset at the same time with differents desktops(users)? I will buy a couple hundreds if it works to a single PC.

Might be able to use it with a VM machine, but simultaneously on one PC might not play well with the resources, good luck be curious to see if you get it working  

Tiberius1272
Explorer
I wonder if Ibik Astor would work with multiple GPUs in one PC with multi headsets.  Might need an add in USB 3.0 card too.

https://www.ibik.ru/