cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

3.1 ports: graphics card or motherboard

dan_landis_77
Honored Guest
I am new to VR and will be using it in my x-plane 11.41 set up.  MY system is OS: Win 10(54 bit). Motherboard:  ASUS Tuf 2390M-Pro. Graphics card:ASUSGefource RTZ 2070. . CPU I9 I am presently running three monitors off of the DP ports on the Graphics card.  The question is: when set up the Rift S, whichUSB port should I use: there is a 3.1 (Gen2 on both th e motherboard and a USB 3.0(?) on the Graphics card.  I''d like to know before I start plugging things in.  Any help you VR experts could give me would be appreciated.  .  :
17 REPLIES 17

dan_landis_77
Honored Guest
I'm sorry to seem a bit dim here, but I started this thread asking should I connect the usb line to the usb port on the graphics card or to the usb port on the motherboad?  On the motherboard I have both 3.1 and 3.0, while on the card it is not clear.  

kojack
MVP
MVP

then what does the dp connection do?

The DisplayPort connection is for the video from the PC to the headset. Everything else (both to and from the headset) is over the USB.

I'm sorry to seem a bit dim here, but I started this thread asking should I connect the usb line to the usb port on the graphics card or to the usb port on the motherboad?  On the motherboard I have both 3.1 and 3.0, while on the card it is not clear.  

The usb port on Nvidia graphics cards is effectively just a standard usb port. It does have an extra mode made especially for VR, but no consumer VR headset (such as Rift) supports that mode and it's been discontinued.
I don't know what the state of usb-a to usb-c adapters is (which you'd need to plug a Rift into the graphics card port). I just tried connecting my Rift-S with an adapter and my PC instantly died and wouldn't turn back on until I had fully cut power to it. So, umm, I'm not trying that again. 🙂