Virtual Reality for scientific outreach — Oculus
Welcome to the Oculus Developer Forums!

Your participation on the forum is subject to the Oculus Code of Conduct.

In general, please be respectful and kind. If you violate the Oculus Code of Conduct, your access to the developer forums may be revoked at the discretion of Oculus staff.

Virtual Reality for scientific outreach

Hello, 

I am a physics PhD student from King's College London and I would to do scientific outreach using Virtual Reality. I am new user to VR and I hoped you might be able to give us some initial information to get started. 

Hardware: 

Our target is to simulate astrophysical events from our simulations.  We hope to get simulate movies (> 15 models/sec) of models comparable to https://skfb.ly/Z8DH (~383.2k faces, ~194.5k vertices). The main question for us is whether we should invest in a Oculus rift or just use a simpler setup with a mobile phone. We hope to use money designated for outreach, so we have to argue why we should spend such a significant amount of money for a Oculus + Compatible PC instead of a mobile phone with a simpler Gear VR.

Software: 

We are using coding daily for doing science, but we have never used it to work with VR. We have a set of .obj files, which we extracted from our data. What kind of software would be best to create a VR - movie from these files which we could use for outreach -events ? 

About us :