Virtual Design Student looking for some experienced direction — Oculus
Welcome to the Oculus Developer Forums!

Your participation on the forum is subject to the Oculus Code of Conduct.

In general, please be respectful and kind. If you violate the Oculus Code of Conduct, your access to the developer forums may be revoked at the discretion of Oculus staff.

Virtual Design Student looking for some experienced direction

caleb_halcaleb_hal Posts: 1
NerveGear
First off, I am very new to the developing field so I apologize for my lack of knowledge. I'm currently double majoring in Virtual Technology Design and Architecture at the University of Idaho. I'm hoping to eventually create immersive, 3D architectural renderings for architectural/construction companies. In my current program we are working with a number of different programs to get our feet wet (Mainly Adobe applications for now). In later semesters/years they say we can expect to work in autodesk, specifically 3ds max, as well as Unity, z brush etc. The program is primarily filled with students looking to do game development and it seems the program will head more in that direction. So my question is this, if I already know that I want to be a virtual architect that works mainly with 3D building renderings, textures, blueprints, etc, and I feel like I have a solid foundation in all of the programs we are working with now, what programs should I start experimenting with? and what technology would you recommend for somebody ready to take the leap into the world of VR development? I'm currently working on a macbook so I'm not able to do anything with 3ds max at the moment. Wacom tablets certainly look impressive but is that something you would recommend for your workflow? Anything and everything is greatly appreciated and welcome! Thank you for reading. 
Tagged:

Comments

• SergioGardellaSergioGardella Posts: 16 Oculus Start Member
    Hi,