Welcome to the Oculus Developer Forums!

Your participation on the forum is subject to the Oculus Code of Conduct.

In general, please be respectful and kind. If you violate the Oculus Code of Conduct, your access to the developer forums may be revoked at the discretion of Oculus staff.

[Oculus Go] Disable forced recenter after putting headset back on.

joeyvrowljoeyvrowl Posts: 3
NerveGear
edited May 2018 in Mobile Development

Hi all,

TL;DR Has anyone found a way to disable the forced recenter after putting the headset back on, or are there any plans to add such a feature?

I am a developer of a VR company that runs a lot of events, often with dozens or even hundreds of devices at once. Using the GearVR, users can pick up the headset and are immediately put back into any app that was running. However, the Oculus Go forces you to use the controller to recenter first, or use a volume button when in developer mode. This is a big problem for us, because most of our applications do not require user input so we would rather not have the controller there. Having hundreds of people who have never put on a VR headset press a small button right next to the power button that turns of the screen will surely result in chaos. The ability to turn this off in the settings (either device-wide or in our app) would solidify our use of the Oculus Go for pretty much every event going forward, but without it we are a bit hesitant.

Comments

• ooBLANKAooooBLANKAoo Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    I'll add a +1 to this feature as well.  
    Also handy at events it the feature on daydream that disables the home button - you just add the program to the list.
    That way they can try as they may but can't exit the app they are supposed to be in.  (maybe a triple click to exit back to home)
  • oLEq00oLEq00 Posts: 10
    NerveGear
    Hi, bump to this post.