New To The Forum? Click Here To Read The How To Guide. -- Developers Click Here.

MATCHMAKING Sessions Timeout/Fail to Connect.

brandon6ensebrandon6ense Posts: 10
NerveGear
Hey Unreal Oculus Community,

Our matchmaking sessions started breaking recently, it seems to have happened from under us as we have many old builds that used to work that no longer. They all fail in the same way...

Here is the gist of it:
1. Create a session and set the host as a listen server. (Either open the level with the parameter listen or reload the level with listen)
** We are using a browse pool, with no options. As simple as can be.
2. On the Client join the session with the same pool name.
3. Session is joined successfully (on success branch gets hit) but fails to complete as it times out, the session will end itself.
4. The host never sees the player, never even gets a sniff that they tried to connect.

We have tried this with multiple machines, one on the same LAN, one not.

We have a sample project ready to send to you via DropBox as well.

This is in 4.18.3 using the Oculus GitHub version of the source to create a Distribution build that we have been using for many months. This problem recently showed up with NO code or content changes.

Thx,Brandon


Tagged:

Comments

  • brandon6ensebrandon6ense Posts: 10
    NerveGear
    Relevant Logs...

    Please note this comes after the OnSuccess branch of the Join Session Node
    and of course after successfully finding the session.

    [2018.11.07-23.34.15:708][670]LogNet: Warning: UNetConnection::Tick: Connection TIMED OUT. Closing connection. Elapsed: 60.00, Real: 60.00, Good: 60.00, DriverTime: 60.00, Threshold: 60.00, [UNetConnection] RemoteAddr:  [My User Number].oculus, Name: OculusNetConnection_0, Driver: PendingNetDriver OculusNetDriver_0, IsServer: NO, PC: NULL, Owner: NULL

    [2018.11.07-23.34.15:708][670]LogNet: Warning: Network Failure: PendingNetDriver[ConnectionTimeout]: UNetConnection::Tick: Connection TIMED OUT. Closing connection. Elapsed: 60.00, Real: 60.00, Good: 60.00, DriverTime: 60.00, Threshold: 60.00, [UNetConnection] RemoteAddr: [My User Number].oculus, Name: OculusNetConnection_0, Driver: PendingNetDriver OculusNetDriver_0, IsServer: NO, PC: NULL, Owner: NULL[2018.11.07-23.34.15:708][670]LogNet: NetworkFailure: ConnectionTimeout, Error: 'UNetConnection::Tick: Connection TIMED OUT. Closing connection. Elapsed: 60.00, Real: 60.00, Good: 60.00, DriverTime: 60.00, Threshold: 60.00, [UNetConnection] RemoteAddr: [My User Number].oculus, Name: OculusNetConnection_0, Driver: PendingNetDriver OculusNetDriver_0, IsServer: NO, PC: NULL, Owner: NULL'
    [2018.11.07-23.34.15:708][670]LogNet: UNetConnection::Close: [UNetConnection] RemoteAddr:  [My User Number].oculus, Name: OculusNetConnection_0, Driver: PendingNetDriver OculusNetDriver_0, IsServer: NO, PC: NULL, Owner: NULL, Channels: 2, Time: 2018.11.07-23.34.15
    [2018.11.07-23.34.15:708][670]LogNet: UChannel::Close: Sending CloseBunch. ChIndex == 0. Name: [UChannel] ChIndex: 0, Closing: 0 [UNetConnection] RemoteAddr:  [My User Number].oculus, Name: OculusNetConnection_0, Driver: PendingNetDriver OculusNetDriver_0, IsServer: NO, PC: NULL, Owner: NULL
    [2018.11.07-23.34.15:708][670]LogNet: DestroyNamedNetDriver OculusNetDriver_0 [PendingNetDriver]

  • brandon6ensebrandon6ense Posts: 10
    NerveGear
    Fails similarily after upgrading the test project to 4.20.3 using Oculus GitHub version of UE4.
  • imperativityimperativity Posts: 3,465 Oculus Staff
    @brandon6ense

    We have four reports of this issue now. I am escalating this internally for priority assistance. I will update you as soon as I have further information to share.
    Please tag me @imperativity in your forum post/response if you need immediate assistance or want additional support or context on an issue you are having with our software or integrations.

    Having an issue with our platform, services, or integrations?

    Try using our new bug tool to report this and receive emailed updates as we proceed to address it internally.
  • imperativityimperativity Posts: 3,465 Oculus Staff
    @brandon6ense

    We are trying to track this behavior down on our end currently.

    Can you provide me the following extra information (?):

    1) Does this occur every time or when it first connects?

    2) Do future connects fail until the host close the game and reopens it?


    Please tag me @imperativity in your forum post/response if you need immediate assistance or want additional support or context on an issue you are having with our software or integrations.

    Having an issue with our platform, services, or integrations?

    Try using our new bug tool to report this and receive emailed updates as we proceed to address it internally.
  • Mohammed_hashimMohammed_hashim Posts: 22 Oculus Start Member
    Hi brandon6ense
    Did you able to fix the issue or still? i'm having same issue, spent 2 days with experimenting and can't tell if Oculus server is down or the plugin have a bug or the problem is from my side.
  • Mohammed_hashimMohammed_hashim Posts: 22 Oculus Start Member
    Hi @brandon6ense
    just made a comment not sure where did it go, anyway did you able to fix the issue or still? 
  • ginopelosoginopeloso Posts: 40
    Brain Burst
    As far as I know it's their problem... Also me I'm experimenting the very same problem since last week (with 4.19.2 and r.40.1)
  • brandon6ensebrandon6ense Posts: 10
    NerveGear
    Hi @brandon6ense
    just made a comment not sure where did it go, anyway did you able to fix the issue or still? 
    It is still an issue. I am sure many games in the store are now broken as well. We are all waiting on a fix.
  • Mohammed_hashimMohammed_hashim Posts: 22 Oculus Start Member
    Hi @brandon6ense
    just made a comment not sure where did it go, anyway did you able to fix the issue or still? 
    It is still an issue. I am sure many games in the store are now broken as well. We are all waiting on a fix.
    Yes seems it is, i just got a replay to my ticket from Ouclus team and they said they are working on it. Hope they fix it soon.
  • imperativityimperativity Posts: 3,465 Oculus Staff
    We are actively working on addressing this internally right now. I'll post an update to this thread once a fix has been pushed to address this.
    Please tag me @imperativity in your forum post/response if you need immediate assistance or want additional support or context on an issue you are having with our software or integrations.

    Having an issue with our platform, services, or integrations?

    Try using our new bug tool to report this and receive emailed updates as we proceed to address it internally.
  • imperativityimperativity Posts: 3,465 Oculus Staff
    @Mohammed_hashim

    @brandon6ense

    @ginopeloso


    Can you guys let me know what version of Oculus runtime you are using?
    Please tag me @imperativity in your forum post/response if you need immediate assistance or want additional support or context on an issue you are having with our software or integrations.

    Having an issue with our platform, services, or integrations?

    Try using our new bug tool to report this and receive emailed updates as we proceed to address it internally.
  • Mohammed_hashimMohammed_hashim Posts: 22 Oculus Start Member
    @Mohammed_hashim

    @brandon6ense

    @ginopeloso


    Can you guys let me know what version of Oculus runtime you are using?
    Hi, I used epic launcher UE4 latest 4.21 based on the official release note it say (Oculus Runtime: 1.28  )
    Btw I tested on UE4 4.20 and 4.16 which i 'm sure both have different Runtime version.
    As for Oculus software package installed on my win10 its the latest one 1.32 since autoupdate is enabled but i don't know how to check the runtime version of it,  i'm sure you guys can find that out based on the Software version i mentioned.
  • imperativityimperativity Posts: 3,465 Oculus Staff
    @Mohammed_hashim

    It is possible to have a different oculus runtime version as new versions are rolled out gradually. This is why I am asking you to check. Thanks for the additional details.
    Please tag me @imperativity in your forum post/response if you need immediate assistance or want additional support or context on an issue you are having with our software or integrations.

    Having an issue with our platform, services, or integrations?

    Try using our new bug tool to report this and receive emailed updates as we proceed to address it internally.
  • Mohammed_hashimMohammed_hashim Posts: 22 Oculus Start Member
    @Mohammed_hashim

    It is possible to have a different oculus runtime version as new versions are rolled out gradually. This is why I am asking you to check. Thanks for the additional details.
    Are you referring to the runtime thats installed with the Oculus software? if so how could you tell me how can i check it?

    Thanks
  • Mohammed_hashimMohammed_hashim Posts: 22 Oculus Start Member
    This is what i get when i right click on the icon and see the detail, not sure if its what you are looking for, if not let me know and i will get you the right info.
    https://i.imgur.com/77mmkgo.png

    BR
  • imperativityimperativity Posts: 3,465 Oculus Staff
    @Mohammed_hashim

    Right here:
    As for Oculus software package installed on my win10 its the latest one 1.32 since autoupdate is enabled
    Yes, the runtime is the oculus software/home itself. You'd find the version in the settings menu. 1.32 is the version you are on and we are now pushing a fix to address this issue.




    Please tag me @imperativity in your forum post/response if you need immediate assistance or want additional support or context on an issue you are having with our software or integrations.

    Having an issue with our platform, services, or integrations?

    Try using our new bug tool to report this and receive emailed updates as we proceed to address it internally.
  • Mohammed_hashimMohammed_hashim Posts: 22 Oculus Start Member
    edited 1:21PM
    @Mohammed_hashim

    Right here:
    As for Oculus software package installed on my win10 its the latest one 1.32 since autoupdate is enabled
    Yes, the runtime is the oculus software/home itself. You'd find the version in the settings menu. 1.32 is the version you are on and we are now pushing a fix to address this issue.




    I see, glad you guys found the issue. let me know if you need any test/help/info later.
  • imperativityimperativity Posts: 3,465 Oculus Staff
    @Mohammed_hashim

    The issue has been resolved. Can you check and confirm that matchmaking is now functional at this time? Thanks!
    Please tag me @imperativity in your forum post/response if you need immediate assistance or want additional support or context on an issue you are having with our software or integrations.

    Having an issue with our platform, services, or integrations?

    Try using our new bug tool to report this and receive emailed updates as we proceed to address it internally.
  • Mohammed_hashimMohammed_hashim Posts: 22 Oculus Start Member
    @Mohammed_hashim

    The issue has been resolved. Can you check and confirm that matchmaking is now functional at this time? Thanks!
    Should i get an update on Oculus software? as i didn't get one till now even after restarting the software, and just made a test and still i have same problem.


Sign In or Register to comment.