Welcome to the Oculus Developer Forums!

Your participation on the forum is subject to the Oculus Code of Conduct.

In general, please be respectful and kind. If you violate the Oculus Code of Conduct, your access to the developer forums may be revoked at the discretion of Oculus staff.

Cannot upload build with ovr-platform-util

smaltzsmaltz Posts: 4
NerveGear
Hello,

I'm hoping someone can assist me.  I am developing for Oculus Go and have a build over 200MB, so I need to use the Command Line Utility.  The problem is that when I run the "ovr-platform-util upload-mobile-build" command I get the following error, printed repeated:

A server error occurred. The request will be retried.

When I open the log file I see this:

2019-02-14T19:27:55.137Z [DEBUG] A server error occurred. The request will be retried.
2019-02-14T19:27:55.140Z [ERROR] Server log: {"app_id":"com.xx.xx","log_level":"ERROR","event_name":"API_ERROR","stack_trace":"at [eval]:18:1658\nat a ([eval]:16:506)\nat [eval]:16:652\nat [eval]:16:450\nat Object._log ([eval]:18:1997)\nat [eval]:18:751\nat a ([eval]:16:506)\nat [eval]:16:652","extra":"{\"response\":{\"error\":{\"message\":\"Service temporarily unavailable\",\"type\":\"OCApiException\",\"is_transient\":true,\"code\":2,\"fbtrace_id\":\"BgtgztfZWbU\"}},\"options\":{\"method\":\"GET\",\"url\":\"https://graph.oculus.com/app_binary_upload_config\",\"qs\":{\"app_id\":\"com.xx.xx\",\"compatibility_version\":2,\"fields\":\"\\n        latest_binary_id,\\n        latest_binary_rdiff_signature_uri,\\n        latest_obb_id,\\n        latest_obb_rdiff_signature_uri,\\n        asset_file_ids_map,\\n        asset_file_rdiff_signatures_map\\n      \"},\"formData\":{},\"json\":true,\"disableRetries\":false},\"os\":\"{\\\"platform\\\":\\\"win32\\\",\\\"arch\\\":\\\"ia32\\\",\\\"type\\\":\\\"Windows_NT\\\"}\",\"cli_version\":\"1.35.0.000001\",\"compatibility_version\":2,\"app_id\":\"com.xx.xx\",\"platform\":\"ANDROID\",\"session_id\":\"com.xx.xx_2019-02-14T19:27:53.996Z\"}"}

I am using Windows 10.  I have already tried adding an exceptions to Windows Firewall and disabling it completely.

Thank you for you help.

Answers

  • JacksonGordonJacksonGordon Posts: 138
    Art3mis
    It looks like an API validation problem, try updating your API version, and maybe specifically the graph tool/component.  Just a guess that's a pretty hairy error message.  Might just be missing the field that tells it what API version you are using, which would just be a string in the right place on command line.
  • smaltzsmaltz Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    I just downloaded the tool, so it is the latest version. I don't know what you mean by "update your API version".  There is no parameter to specify API version for the command.  The command I am using is the following (replacing strings with x for security).

    ovr-platform-util upload-mobile-build --app_id com.xx.xx --app_secret xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx --apk xx.apk -c alpha -n "Initial alpha test"
  • AlanOTooleAlanOToole Posts: 126 Oculus Start Member
    Hey @smaltz

    Couple questions to see if I can help. Did this work before or is this the first time trying? Also, is the app secret correct? I could see typos in there throwing some API errors.

    Thanks!
    -Alan
    Twitter: @Alan_OToole
  • smaltzsmaltz Posts: 4
    NerveGear
    I found the solution.  I was using the bundle id instead of the app id found in the Oculus dashboad.  Replaced that and it is working fine now. Thanks all for the help.
  • AlanOTooleAlanOToole Posts: 126 Oculus Start Member
    smaltz said:
    I found the solution.  I was using the bundle id instead of the app id found in the Oculus dashboad.  Replaced that and it is working fine now. Thanks all for the help.
    Great to hear it's fixed!
    Twitter: @Alan_OToole
  • MITECVRMITECVR Posts: 1
    NerveGear
    edited February 25
    Hello, my app is also above 200mb, however my Error is stating the following, 

    "ERROR: Launch file d:\UNITY PROJECTS\MITEC GearVR V2\MITEC GearVR V2\Builds\MITECVRGO2018OculusStore.apk can not be launched on Windows platform".

    Any solutions for this?

    I solved it, I was using it the wrong commands, instead of upload mobile build, I used upload rift build, silly me
Sign In or Register to comment.