Matt Conte - Developer Relations Engineering Lead — Oculus
Welcome to the Oculus Developer Forums!

Your participation on the forum is subject to the Oculus Code of Conduct.

In general, please be respectful and kind. If you violate the Oculus Code of Conduct, your access to the developer forums may be revoked at the discretion of Oculus staff.

Matt Conte - Developer Relations Engineering Lead

mcontemconte Posts: 29 Oculus Staff
edited May 17 in AMA

Hey, I’m Matt Conte, and I run our Developer Relations Engineering team at Oculus HQ in California. My team works closely with VR developers on a variety of aspects from performance analysis to VR design guidance. I came from the games industry, where I started writing GameBoy Color games in Z80 assembly. Most recently, I worked as an architect and principal engineer on Activision's cross-platform engine technology, helping ship games on iOS all the way up through PS4.

I like classic video games, I’ve written several console emulators, and I own Centipede and Q*bert arcade machines. @!#?@!

Ask me anything!

Twitter: @mattconte

Reminder: There may be a slight delay from when you send your comment to when you see it in the thread. Don't worry! We've received your question.

Questions

• ryan99ryan99 Posts: 26
    Brain Burst
    Hi Matt,

Thanks for taking the time to do this AMA, I'm sure a lot of people are anxiously awaiting the delivery of their Quests and it will be great to have some questions answered regarding the new system.

Two questions:

1 - What sort of access will Unity have to the Insight tracking system? Will the guardian bounds be available as a path? Will any other real time data be available from the cameras? (point cloud)