cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where should I start?

negiman4
Honored Guest
Hey everyone, my name is Josh, 20 years old. I've just recently received my Oculus Rift Dev Kit 2 and lately i've been pondering something. You see, I'm not exactly new to game development. I have dabbled in this realm here and there over the years and learned a very small amount of Ruby and Python, but not enough to really grasp the true fundamentals of game development.
I'm an aspiring soon-to-be indie developer and since I went and bought a DEVELOPER KIT, I figured I might as well use this opportunity to my advantage and see if I could make something with it. I've scoured the net for tutorials and guides and found lots of information that would be helpful to someone who already knew the basics, but nothing that matched my skill level. So I decided to start over from scratch and re-learn everything.
My question to you guys is: where did you start? Or what suggestions do you have for someone with little to no experience handling code? Remember, my goal is to eventually make a prototype for the Oculus Rift. I really appreciate any help that you may have to offer. I have an overactive imagination and want to express my ideas to everyone!

Thanks in advance,
-Josh
8 REPLIES 8

cybereality
Grand Champion
I'd probably start by downloading Unity Free and messing around. Unity does support Oculus, but it may be easier to start developing on a monitor until you get the hang of it. Unreal Engine 4 is also good (not free, but affordable at $19/month). Both are good choices.

Unity may be slightly easier to pickup if you have any coding experience before (it can use a form of Javascript). Unity has a few of books you can buy, and the community is fairly active.