cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Coding for College Science Applications?

Somhairle72
Honored Guest

Hello All!

My name is Sam Jacobson and I am professor of biology and earth science/geology at Hillsborough Community College in Tampa Florida. I have been struggling with a computer programming issue as a few years ago I had a random chance to test an Oculus Rift system at a local computer store. I have always been into technology and fondly remember using an Apple computer when I was a child back on the 1980s, thus being able to use a system like Oculus felt not only breathtaking but like home. As I was taking my turn on the Rift it struck me how amazing it would be to take the 3D/VR world and interactively bring it to my students. As a professor, I would never take students on a field trip to a volcano or shark diving or hiking on Mars. Yet if I could bring those activities in an interactive way to my students then perhaps it might be possible to take something like theoretical and applied science and enliven it for my pupils. My heart raced as I thought of taking students into an active volcano to see a magma chamber or, perhaps, the inside of cell to see RNA being transcribed from DNA, or to the Pacific Northwest of North America to dive a kelp forest and see not only its beauty but also that of a Great White and why we should love them. I could even see a practical use of the VR for training college and university students such as in genetics, medicine, and in the physical sciences.