Matt Conte - Developer Relations Engineering Lead

Anonymous
Not applicable

Hey, I’m Matt Conte, and I
run our Developer Relations Engineering team at Oculus HQ in California. My
team works closely with VR developers on a variety of aspects from performance
analysis to VR design guidance. I came from the games industry, where I started
writing GameBoy Color games in Z80 assembly. Most recently, I worked as an
architect and principal engineer on Activision's cross-platform engine technology,
helping ship games on iOS all the way up through PS4.

I like classic video games,
I’ve written several console emulators, and I own Centipede and Q*bert arcade
machines. @!#?@!

Ask me anything!

Twitter: @mattconte

Reminder: There may be a slight delay from when you send your comment to when you see it in the thread. Don't worry! We've received your question.

52 REPLIES 52

ryan99
Explorer
Hi Matt,

Thanks for taking the time to do this AMA, I'm sure a lot of people are anxiously awaiting the delivery of their Quests and it will be great to have some questions answered regarding the new system.

Two questions:

1 - What sort of access will Unity have to the Insight tracking system? Will the guardian bounds be available as a path? Will any other real time data be available from the cameras? (point cloud)

2 - With the tighter restrictions being placed on content for the Quest (concept approval process)  smaller developers are more likely to turn to sideloading distribution for their apps.  If developers distribute content via sideloading now,  will it affect the probability of future publishing on the Oculus store?

Thanks Matt! Can't wait to receive my Quest.

slashwoo5ever
Honored Guest
If you could combine two existing games together to make a new game, what would they be and why?

pekayatt
Expert Protege